We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Beagle Pub

₹₹ - ₹₹₹, British,
Hadleigh Road | Sproughton, Ipswich IP8 3AR, England
+44 1473 730607
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent19%
  • Very good28%
  • Average21%
  • Poor18%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
“pies” (5 reviews)
“salmon” (5 reviews)
“premier inn” (26 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Hadleigh Road | Sproughton, Ipswich IP8 3AR, England
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (452)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 452 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

We had eaten here last year as a large family group and really enjoyed it, so much so that we made arrangements to take friends there for a pre Christmas Lunch. The service was poor (probably understaffed) and the food was poor, cold eggs, the...More

2  Thank tomsnan2017
General Manager A, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Tomsnan2017, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. I'm sorry to hear that the service was slow for you on this occasion, we are extremely busy with xmas bookings. I will investigate with the kitchen on the...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Family get together group, thoroughly enjoyed our evening here. Service from Emma was fantastic, catered for our every need with a smile and some humour.. Food was fine and pricing fair. Recommended.

1  Thank paulsnutter
General Manager A, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you so much for your recent visit and scoring us so high. Our front of house staff are highly trained to deliver good service. Also thank you for recommending us Kay Shift Supervisor

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked online - nice greeting, staff were pleasant place itself was really nice Food we ordered has run out - order a second choice which was presented lovely Yorkshire was missing too but not great to eat to be honest desert on the other hand...More

1  Thank T1GNG
General Manager A, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello, thank you; we appreciate your feedback! I'm so please you were happy with the staff and the environment we all try to create here. I do send to you my apologies regarding one of your choices being sold out and the slight issue with...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I visited for Sunday lunch. When it came the Yorkshire pudding was as flat (and tasty ) as a beer mat. The meat was disgustingly inedible. The receptionist came to ask how it was and by that time my wife had put...More

1  Thank Orwell Executiv... S
General Manager A, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Orwell Executiv... S, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. I was disappointed to read your review with us and that the fact that you chose to leave without paying for anything you consumed. Our duty manager...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just enjoyed an amazing lunch at the Beagle. This was our first visit and it will not be our last. We were warmly welcomed, the atmosphere was relaxing and the menu surprisingly extensive for a weekday pub lunch. Our starters were well presented and tasty,...More

1  Thank Terry H
General Manager A, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Terry H, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Beagle! Thank you again for the great review! hope to see you again soon. Stephen Racher assistant manager

Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

Well..... we thought that going for a pub lunch at around 1:30 would result in quick and efficient service - wrong. Although friendly, the service was very poor. Food was a strange combination of over cooked but served cold. We were also left waiting for...More

1  Thank Lee3232
General Manager A, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

We regret to hear that you had this experience with us. We would like the opportunity to address your concerns. Please reach out to us directly at 441473730607 when you have a chance. Thank you, and we look forward to hearing from you. Stephen Racher...More

Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

Went there with my wife. Local ale was fab. Food was average plus although little dry salmon. It was next door to Premier inn we stayed. Welcoming atmoshphere. Traditionally English food. Lots of choice for wine.

1  Thank sandip R
General Manager A, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Sandip R, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Beagle! Thank you so much for the positive review! We hope to see you soon! Regards Clare

Reviewed 20 October 2017

Arrived with a friend just gone 5pm , quite quiet, waitress promptly showed us a suitable table and took drinks order. Went for 3 cours set meal which is fantastic value. Had the mushrooms in cheese and garlic sauce, beautiful although didn't taste much garlic...More

1  Thank gillygolly57
General Manager A, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Thank you; we appreciate your feedback!. Hope to see you again soon Stephen Racher assistant manager.

A TripAdvisor Member
London, United Kingdom
1716
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Came the other day with my daughter , we had to park right at top of the car park which is quite a walk down to restaurant as I have a bad ankle, would be lovely if you made more disabled parking at the bottom...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
General Manager A, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Hi, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Beagle! Stephen Racher Assistant manager

Reviewed 30 September 2017

Dropped in midweek with no booking and was seated immediately despite being very busy. Good choice of pub food at reasonable prices. Service was fast, staff very pleasant and meals, a burger and hunters chicken very enjoyable. It's not fancy but good pub food and...More

1  Thank ginger47212
General Manager A, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Ginger47212, we are very happy we could provide you with a positive experience! Glad to read that you found our prices reasonable and that the service was fast and the team were pleasant. Your recommendation means so much to us and we're so happy to...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Sproughton Wild Man
216 reviews
1.35 km away
India Gate
24 reviews
1.04 km away
Ipswich Codfellas
7 reviews
1.05 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Shed
8 reviews
1.36 km away
Riverhills
197 reviews
2.56 km away
New Wolsey Theatre
679 reviews
3.43 km away
Portman Road Stadium
97 reviews
3.14 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
JulesP82
We used to go here just over a year ago but loved away. First meal since we moved back to Ipswich and it's gone so down hill which is such a shame. Service was incredibly slow and uncaring. When our mains came out mine was missing. After waiting a while I asked and was told she would look into it however she didn't come back. I went to find someone who again went to find out. Original lady then came back to ask me what I ordered. God knows what she was doing all that time. My main eventually came. I ordered the cous cous. It was about a tablespoon of cous cous with a full plate of iceberg lettuce and what tasted like half a pint of vinegar on it and two chunks of coconut. I couldn't eat it. Husband and toddlers meals came out ok though nothing to shout about. Ordered drinks which we had to chase up twenty minutes later. I was asked how the meal was and advised of the above. She said oh sorry about that and disappeared for the bill. My main was taken off the bill however no real apologies for what was meant to be a special evening. Not going back
14 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from David C | Property representative |
I am sorry you were not happy with the service and from what you described it was not acceptable. I was pleased to hear that they took the meal of the bill and apologised to you and sorry that you felt that this apology was... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Hadleigh Road | Sproughton, Ipswich IP8 3AR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Ipswich
  • Phone Number: +44 1473 730607
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing