We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Beagle Pub

) #111 of 364 Restaurants in Ipswich ₹₹ - ₹₹₹ , British,
Hadleigh Road | Sproughton, Ipswich IP8 3AR, England
+44 1473 730607
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent18%
  • Very good29%
  • Average21%
  • Poor18%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
“pies” (5 reviews)
“premier inn” (24 reviews)
“nice pub” (10 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Hadleigh Road | Sproughton, Ipswich IP8 3AR, England
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
Reviews (424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Have eaten here before and had items from the specials menu last time. Stunning. Standard menu this time. Salt n pepper calamari starter. Every so slightly overcooked but still nice. Lamb shank main meal with bubble and squeak plus veg. Very nice

Thank Glen B
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

A great evening with nice food. We even got offered fudge with coffee for after meal time. The couple in the next table even offered their fudge desserts too. Friendly location just outside ipswich.An ideal spot for anyone, Solo, couples or group gatherings. 😆

Thank Jim M
General Manager A, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Jim M, We appreciate your positive review about your recent experience with us! Thank you for the great star rating and we look forward to welcoming you soon to The Beagle. Many Thanks David Chandler General Manager

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Staying next door in the premier inn. This place gets really busy so can b hard to get a table but they will try and fit you in. If you can book a table then I would advise this. This place is well worth a...More

Thank Suemummy
General Manager A, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Sue, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Beagle! Thank you so much for the great star rating and we look forward to welcoming you again soon to The Beagle. You can book tables on our website for the future to make...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

A nice welcome, excellent dinner, attentive and efficient service. Good food with generous portions. The waitress who served my wife and I could not have been more helpful.

Thank 835geoffw
General Manager A, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi 835geoffw, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Beagle. We're happy we could meet your expectations! Such a lovely review and thank you for the 5 stars. Look forward to seeing you again. Thanks Clare

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited the beagle in Ipswich and was very impressed with everything. Would highly recommend the beagle to anyone.

Thank julie h
General Manager A, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Julie H, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Beagle. We're happy we could meet your expectations! I'm glad you enjoyed the food and service. Thanks Clare

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely building and attractive interior. Staff very helpful and friendly. Food was good on both courses and the staff were attentive. Thoroughly recommend.

Thank Jill M
General Manager A, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Jill M, thank you; we appreciate your feedback! It was lovely to read and will be shared with all the team on duty. Look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Heather Chandler Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went to the Beagle for a meal with friends and noticed the restaurant as very busy. However, we were greeted immediately and taken to our table in a quiet corner. The staff were very helpful and accommodating all evening. The food was very tasty...More

Thank Tina R
General Manager A, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Tina R, thank you; we appreciate your feedback! I'm glad you enjoyed the service and the food and look forward to seeing you again. Thanks clare

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Enjoyable evening meal , part of the vintage Inn group. Service and value to be recommended. Adjacent to Premier Inn. Not much else in the immediate vicinity.More

Thank Robert H
David C, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Robert H, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Beagle. We're happy we could meet your expectations! I'm glad you enjoyed the service and yes very handy being next door to the premiere inn. Look forward to...More

Reviewed 21 May 2017

We were at The Beagle as we had been busy all day and needed a quick meal to get out again in the evening. The waitress told us that a couple of the choices might take around 30 minutes as they were cooked from fresh...More

Thank slowerandslower
General Manager A, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi Slowerandslower, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Beagle. We're happy we could meet your expectations! Look forward to seeing you again. Regards Clare

Reviewed 13 May 2017 via mobile

Went for a nice family get together, however as soon as we walked service was incredibly poor. Cutlery wasn't clean; waitress was leaning over our food; our table was forgotten regularly (took 40 mins to get a glass of wine and then another 40 to...More

Thank charl147
General Manager A, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Charl147, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us. Here at The Beagle, we are always looking for ways to improve; we appreciate your input. If you would be willing, we would like to have you contact us on 01473730607 to discuss...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Belstead Arms
20 reviews
1.59 km away
The Riverside Bar Restaurant
39 reviews
1.57 km away
The Beagle
297 reviews
.02 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Shed
7 reviews
1.29 km away
Riverhills
176 reviews
2.55 km away
New Wolsey Theatre
642 reviews
3.54 km away
Red Rose Chain Theatre
50 reviews
2.88 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
JulesP82
We used to go here just over a year ago but loved away. First meal since we moved back to Ipswich and it's gone so down hill which is such a shame. Service was incredibly slow and uncaring. When our mains came out mine was missing. After waiting a while I asked and was told she would look into it however she didn't come back. I went to find someone who again went to find out. Original lady then came back to ask me what I ordered. God knows what she was doing all that time. My main eventually came. I ordered the cous cous. It was about a tablespoon of cous cous with a full plate of iceberg lettuce and what tasted like half a pint of vinegar on it and two chunks of coconut. I couldn't eat it. Husband and toddlers meals came out ok though nothing to shout about. Ordered drinks which we had to chase up twenty minutes later. I was asked how the meal was and advised of the above. She said oh sorry about that and disappeared for the bill. My main was taken off the bill however no real apologies for what was meant to be a special evening. Not going back
14 September 2016|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from David C | Property representative |
I am sorry you were not happy with the service and from what you described it was not acceptable. I was pleased to hear that they took the meal of the bill and apologised to you and sorry that you felt that this apology was... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Hadleigh Road | Sproughton, Ipswich IP8 3AR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Ipswich
  • Phone Number: +44 1473 730607
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing