We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Beagle Pub

) #94 of 360 Restaurants in Ipswich ₹₹ - ₹₹₹ , British,
Hadleigh Road | Sproughton, Ipswich IP8 3AR, England
+44 1473 730607
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent18%
  • Very good30%
  • Average21%
  • Poor17%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
“pies” (5 reviews)
“premier inn” (25 reviews)
“nice pub” (10 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Hadleigh Road | Sproughton, Ipswich IP8 3AR, England
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
Reviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We went to the Beagle for a bottle of wine and a good chat. The pub's outside space is ideal for such an event. Good wine list at a very reasonable price.

Thank george w
General Manager A, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi George W, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Beagle. We're happy we could meet your expectations! Thank you so much again for your feedback! We hope you have a great day! Regards Clare

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I've eaten here a couple of times with my wife and have always had a very nice experience. The menu has a good selection on general although lacking on the vegetarian/vegan options - only three veggie options (margarita pizza, veggie burger or a mushroom tart)...More

Thank Claudia L
General Manager A, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Claudia L, Thank you for a lovely feedback and that you and your wife enjoyed your visit here at The Beagle. Hopefully to see you again in the future! Kris Albao

Reviewed 1 week ago

Went their with our daughter and partner, had lovely food, plenty of choice ,lovely surroundings, we will. Be returning.

Thank jaysschool
General Manager A, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Beagle! S Racher

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The food overall was good - although my sisters fillet steak was about 3" thick so that had to go back - but the service was so slow we didn't eat our meals at the same time! They really are understaffed !! I apparently had...More

Thank Desmum
General Manager A, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hello, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us. Please reach out to us at your earliest convenience so we may further assist you in working towards a resolution. The Beagle 441473730607

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a very nice lunch although the service was slow. The menu was good and plenty of choices. They have a specials menu and a deal for 2 or 3 courses at lunchtime.More

Thank Elizabeth W
General Manager A, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Elizabeth W, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Beagle! I am sorry that the service was slow but this was not a normal lunch time and we were caught unaware and this did mean unfortunately that we were unable to serve...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went for dessert only,but decided to order couple of portions of chips, good job they were a little something to nibble as extreamly small portions, husband ordered a selection of 5 different desserts,which were goid sizes for sample portions, send I had date and appke...More

Thank Teresa D
General Manager A, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Teresa D, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Beagle! Sorry you felt that the portions sizes of the chips were not big enough but glad to hear the you both enjoyed our puddings. Apologies you had to wait a while for...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely place to have a quiet Sunday lunch, good food of a high standard with very reasonable prices.More

Thank Emma A
General Manager A, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Emma A, we are so happy to read such a great review about The Beagle! We were delighted that you were pleased with our Sunday lunch and felt that the food was good and of a high standard at reasonable prices. We sincerely thank you...More

Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

What a place!!!! This inn was right next door to our hotel. Decided to try it instead of having take away. So glad we did. Was very quiet inside. Service was spot on for us. Once at our table we had our drinks order taken....More

Thank Vicky C
General Manager A, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Vicky C, thank you for your kind words and this wonderful review! We're glad to hear we delivered such a great experience. If there's anything further we can do for you, we are happy to help and we look forward to your next visit. Kind...More

Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

After a disappointing meal at the Crown in Ardleigh, we decided to use the voucher we were given by the Crown for a meal at the Beagle. In order to restore our faith in vintage inns this had to be better. After a 20 minute...More

Thank smouty1968
General Manager A, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave us your honest feedback. I am sorry that you had to wait 20 minutes to get a drink but was delighted that service returned to normal standards after that. Really pleased that you enjoyed the food...More

Reviewed 9 July 2017

Good atmosphere, great staff and reasonably priced food. Visited on late Saturday afternoon when very busy but everything was perfect for a famity meal with two children.

Thank John P
General Manager A, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

John, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Beagle! We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your family visit and we look forward to seeing you all again soon. Kind regards Heather Chandler Manager

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Belstead Arms
23 reviews
1.59 km away
The Beagle
310 reviews
.02 km away
The Riverside Bar Restaurant
39 reviews
1.57 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Shed
7 reviews
1.29 km away
Riverhills
184 reviews
2.55 km away
New Wolsey Theatre
655 reviews
3.54 km away
Portman Road Stadium
92 reviews
3.31 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
JulesP82
We used to go here just over a year ago but loved away. First meal since we moved back to Ipswich and it's gone so down hill which is such a shame. Service was incredibly slow and uncaring. When our mains came out mine was missing. After waiting a while I asked and was told she would look into it however she didn't come back. I went to find someone who again went to find out. Original lady then came back to ask me what I ordered. God knows what she was doing all that time. My main eventually came. I ordered the cous cous. It was about a tablespoon of cous cous with a full plate of iceberg lettuce and what tasted like half a pint of vinegar on it and two chunks of coconut. I couldn't eat it. Husband and toddlers meals came out ok though nothing to shout about. Ordered drinks which we had to chase up twenty minutes later. I was asked how the meal was and advised of the above. She said oh sorry about that and disappeared for the bill. My main was taken off the bill however no real apologies for what was meant to be a special evening. Not going back
14 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from David C | Property representative |
I am sorry you were not happy with the service and from what you described it was not acceptable. I was pleased to hear that they took the meal of the bill and apologised to you and sorry that you felt that this apology was... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Hadleigh Road | Sproughton, Ipswich IP8 3AR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Ipswich
  • Phone Number: +44 1473 730607
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing