We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holmes Place - CLOSED

15 South Parade, Llandudno LL30 2LN, Wales
+44 1492 874235
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent16%
  • Very good28%
  • Average17%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible25%
Travellers talk about
“chips peas” (4 reviews)
“pies” (3 reviews)
Restaurant Hours Closed
CUISINES
Cafe
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
15 South Parade, Llandudno LL30 2LN, Wales
All Details
Reviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2018 via mobile

WOW! I cant believe this place is still open. The food is disgusting and the woman serving is horrible, shes got serious attitude problems. This ruined our stay, really wished we never went into this place, ill be very suprised if it stays open in...More

Thank Tom P
Traci Taz R, Former supervisor at Holmes Place, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Quite sure you are reviewing the wrong place as Holmes Place cafe closed down on January 30th

Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

The food here is disgusting. The so called fish and chips had frozen chips and the fish had no taste at all. The staff couldn't care less about the service to the customers. It looked like I had upset the waitress just by putting an...More

Thank tokyo4si
Traci Taz R, other at Holmes Place, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

We closed down today. That's why service was bad. We were all losing our jobs so no-one cared anymore.

Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

We were walking along the beach and saw a place advertised as "fish and chips" went in and honestly never been so shocked to be served oven chips at the seaside! Served on a plate with metal cutlery. More of a cafe and should be...More

Thank HollieClegg
Traci Taz R, Surpervisor at Holmes Place, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

The main sign outside says tearooms (which is mostly covered by the large for sale sign) Holmes Place restaurant. We do sell fish and chips but we do not advertise as a chippy but a cafe, hence the cafe lay out and cafe style setting...More

Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

Been here quite afew times as like the breakfasts, but the staff treat u as though your an inconvenience, when we came today she walked away before we had even finished ordering. Your made to feel bad for disturbing their conversations. Would not recommend

Thank Debbie L
Reviewed 31 October 2017

The restaurant itself is OK, clean and comfortable and the staff were freindly enough. The menu and prices are OK, but we were surprised to read on the menu that they use frozen chips in a fish & chip shop! Fish was good and home...More

Thank Dazzoh11
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

Went for lunch at this cafe. Not a very appealing place to be honest, but decided to give it a go. There were 5 adults and 3 children. A lot of our party had fish and chips and I had sausage and chips. It was...More

Thank Rachel M
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

Grumpy staff, frozen chips, overpriced drinks, lumpy gravy and a rock solid pie. Dont bother wasting your time in this gordon ramsays kitchen nightmares style restaurant

Thank Matt L
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

Lovely cafe, food amazing freshly made. Inside and outside seating. Will definately visit again. Most staff friendly, would of given five stars except for the lady with the tattoos lacking with interpersonal skills.

Thank BearBoy8
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

We had the breakfast special that was advertised on the board outside, only served until 11.30am, whereas breakfasts on the main menu were served all day. It was £5.50 for 2 slices of bacon, a sausage, an egg, a hash brown, half a tomato, half...More

1  Thank Sheilz W
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

Nipped into llandudno on way home and saw this place advertising fish and chips... nice big portion of food but it felt grubby, my spoon was dirty and the staff were openly and loudly talking and moaning about customers and barely talked to us more...More

5  Thank Stacey M
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 58 hotels in Llandudno
Wilton Hotel
372 reviews
.02 km away
Milverton House
555 reviews
.03 km away
Baytree Hotel
284 reviews
.07 km away
Lawton & Lauriston Court Hotel
2,588 reviews
.10 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Looking Glass Ice Cream Parlour
666 reviews
.05 km away
The LC Drink & Dine
209 reviews
.08 km away
Johnny Dough's Wood-Fired Pizza
697 reviews
.07 km away
Orient Express Cafe & Restaurant
669 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby Attractions
Promenade
3,341 reviews
.11 km away
Llandudno Pier
4,023 reviews
.14 km away
Bonkerz Fun Centre
158 reviews
.21 km away
Llandudno Town Hall
79 reviews
.21 km away
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 15 South Parade, Llandudno LL30 2LN, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  North Wales  >  Conwy County  >  Llandudno
  • Phone Number: +44 1492 874235
Description
The cafe is located right near the beach and Llandudno pier. We have an ice cream kiosk outside and offer a take out menu (which can be subject to waiting times during busy periods). Our most popular dish is fish and chips, a seaside classic! The staff are a close knit bunch with many of us returning year after year! We are a friendly bunch and there is a real family atmosphere amongst the staff. A few of the staff are even actually related! We have a fantastic health rating of 5 stars and many of our senior staff have a collection of health and safety certificates which can be seen on the wall downstairs. We have plenty of space with 16 tables inside, 3 outside and even space downstairs! There are two kitchens, the fish and chips are cooked separately downstairs. They are that popular we need an extra kitchen to cook them in! The main downfall is that the bathrooms are downstairs but we always offer assistance navigating the stairs or directions to the nearest ground floor bathroom!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;