We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Cafe, British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (320)
Filter reviews
317 results
Traveller rating
258
30
12
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
258
30
12
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cakes salad gildredge park children play family friendly cafe rushed off their feet relaxed atmosphere gemma
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Walking through Gildredge park we decided to stop for a bit to eat at this cafe. First impressions as you walk inside is that it’s very well done , lovely layout, gorgeous layout of food , including cakes ect, staff very welcoming and friendly. We...ordered the bacon sandwich and it was delicious. If you want to stop for a bite to eat somewhere with beautiful surroundings then this is the place , will definitely go backMore

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very enjoyable tea and cake - good service too. Lots of wonderful cakes- so much choice - vegan, gluten free and much more. Lovely coffee and you can takeaway too. Seating outside and inside . Will be back!

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have been a regular visitor to the Tennis Cafe for several years, it has an excellent location and serves amazing food. However I have been left very disappointed by my last four visits. On three out of my last four visits I have not...received the food I ordered and paid for. On the occasion I received my food my wife didn’t get hers. On the last two occasions I was told by staff that I hadn’t ordered what I was saying I was missing and had to produce my receipt to evidence this. I received little in the way of apology for the food and no apology for accusing me of lying about requesting items I hadn’t paid for. On my last visit after queuing to bring this to staff attention I was responded with tuts and huffs. I was then asked to rejoin the queue so the refund could be processed. I chose to just leave. On all of my visits I have remained polite and considerate to how busy the cafe was. I feel to keep attending after this happened 4 times means that I have given the cafe the benefit of the doubt. I did feed this back to the cafe via email and was promptly called by a guy who said he had now taken over from his parents running the establishment and they were now taking a back seat. This, he felt, was the explanation behind the poor service I received. This man was extremely polite and apologetic. However sort to find ways to encourage me to return to the cafe and my daughter to resume tennis lessons rather than tell me he was addressing the issue with his staff. This says to me that he hadn’t taken my issues seriously and instead just to the placate me into not leaving a negative review. There is a clear difference in the attitude of the staff and speaks volume of the recruitment. The staff clearly feel at ease at not responding politely to staff despite their errors. Therefore unfortunately I shall not be returning.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
LoveAllCafe, Owner at The Tennis Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello. I’m so sorry that you have had a disappointing experience. It saddens us that we let you down. Negative feedback is always difficult but I can assure you that we take it very seriously. Your issue has been addressed extensively with our staff and...More

Reviewed 28 May 2021

The tennis cafe is just the best place to enjoy a pot of tea or a fresh coffee and eat a delicious home made cake or snack. The staff are super friendly and the atmosphere is chilled and welcoming. Totally recommend a visit. Thank you...to all the team there that make it such an amazing venue ❤️❤️❤️More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 12 September 2020 via mobile

Sat outside on a Saturday afternoon with the girls, very nice setting in the park. Great for kids! Had cake & milkshake very yummy!

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 11 September 2020

Came here at the weekend with my family and I’ve got to say we’ve found a new favourite!! The atmosphere was so relaxed and cheerful, our lunch was delicious and fresh, coffees were just as tasty, my wife finished off with a glass of wine...and we ended up taking a few slices of cake home as we couldn’t resist all the beautiful cakes they had to offer! We loved every minute of it and will definitely be returning!More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 8 September 2020 via mobile

I live near Gildredge Park and have often enjoyed excellent coffee at the tennis cafe. Once, my wife & I had a toastie for lunch and it was very disappointing. Soggy. Two weeks ago with our son & his family in tow we thought we...would give breakfast a go. Disaster! No croissants,(sold out), vegan croissants were disgusting and the toasties - again soggy. This Love All Cafe is a lovely venue, but it desperately needs a professional catering manager. Charming though they may be, the young staff need help & guidance from a kitchen pro.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
LoveAllCafe, Owner at The Tennis Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2020

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Cafe. I am sad everything was so bad. Why did you not let us know? Tripadviser is a great platform if you have a bad experience, however, we could have re-made your toasties &...More

Reviewed 4 September 2020

We absolutely love love The Tennis Cafe. So attentive and the food is absolutely gorgeous. So tasty, so much choice for everyone. Tasty coffee and cake and yummy savouries too. Always our favourite place to visit! X

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
LoveAllCafe, Owner at The Tennis Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2020

So very happy you enjoyed your experience, Your review made me so happy during these difficult times. X

Reviewed 31 August 2020

This is my local cafe and it seldom disappoints. Of late it has been very busy and can be full of 'yummy mummys' but it's a great place for them to socialise and I used to bring grandchildren before they started school. . As a...senior I enjoy seeing the young children and mix of ages, too many cafes in Eastbourne are full of us oldies. The tables are well spaced and there are quiet spots under the trees. I enjoy watching the tennis and the vibrancy it brings. The cakes and scones,( big enough to share), may be the best in Eastbourne and always served beautifully. The added touches of fruit slices or cheese are delightful. The cafe has gone out of its way to be Covid compliant, I feel safer here than most places. There is plenty of staff and I like the delivery of drinks and food to the table. Definitely value for money. When it is busy ( surely that's a good thing?) you may have to wait but there is always something to watch, tennis, dog walkers and children. They also have a loyalty card for drinks.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 27 August 2020

Sadly, when we ordered today, we didn’t have the best experience which was likely to be related to how busy the café was because of the Eat Out to Help Out offer. We didn’t mind the long wait but we ordered 4 drinks and 4...meals.2 of the dinks were completely forgotten and all came at different times. The bacon must have been cooked in the morning as it was stiff and cold. The salad must have been put together in great haste as the lettuce was just laid on the plate a little wet and uncut and everything piled on top. The tuna was limited. Even if it was a good price i.e. half price the café will still get the full price (approx. £14 I believe) therefore you would expect the quality to be maintained despite the busy time. The staff were lovely as always and rushed off their feet. We cannot fault the staff but it wasn’t a time to raise a complaint.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
LoveAllCafe, Owner at The Tennis Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2020

Thank you for your review. I agree Eat out to help out was a massive challenge and a crazy idea! Thank you for mentioning our lovely team and just really sorry you had a bad experience.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Congress Aparthotel
446 reviews
1.12 km away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
1,166 reviews
1.14 km away
Premier Inn Eastbourne Town Centre hotel
878 reviews
1.17 km away
OYO The Palm Court Hotel
152 reviews
1.20 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Skylark
210 reviews
.53 km away
Company (all-day restaurant)
116 reviews
.44 km away
Little Elephant Thai Restaurant
133 reviews
.52 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Little Chelsea
16 reviews
.69 km away
The Rude Mechanical Theatre Company
13 reviews
.68 km away
At The Makery
10 reviews
.57 km away
Dynamic Hair and Beauty Salon
22 reviews
.51 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Lucienne H
25 July 2020|
Answer
Response from Carl H |
Yes.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Tennis Cafe

Yes, The Tennis Cafe offers takeaway services.

The Tennis Cafe is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 5