We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holbergstuen

₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Sentrum
European, Scandinavian, Norwegian, Soups
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Torgallmenningen 6, Bergen 5014, Norway
+47 55 55 20 55
Website
Today
11:00 - 23:30
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 14:00 - 23:30
Mon - Sat 11:00 - 23:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 55: English reviews
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2017

Friendly greeting and good service. It was a quiet night as it was mid-week. We both had the lamb as recommended by the waitress and were not disappointed. It was cooked perfectly and very tasty.

Helpful?
Thank Kevin U
Holbergstuen, Manager at Holbergstuen, responded to this review

Hello Kevin. Thanks for your comments regarding your mid-week visit here at Holbergstuen. We are glad that we met your expectations regarding the lamb. Welcome back any time! More 

Babimost, Poland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2017

Went there to have the traditional norwegian "Raspaballer", after ordering I waited for 20 minutes, and when the food arrived there was a piece of salted meat, purree of sweede and 2 small potatoes. When I asked the waiter where the Raspaballer was I was told that there was none, due to some mishap in the kitchen... I didn't even... More 

Helpful?
Thank bjalmest
Holbergstuen, Manager at Holbergstuen, responded to this review

Hey again. I am sorry to hear about your experience here at Holbergstuen when you were going to have the famous "Raspeballer". We were sold out and we are sorry if the waiter didn't communicate that to you when you were ordering. We will be back with more "Raspeballer" this thursday, let us know if you want to give it... More 

Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2017

I was here with my family on a late saturday evening. We needed to book a table as late as 9.30 pm, and it was not a problem. The waitress was giving good service from the start. My grandmother and her sister had a fish soup, my cousin and mother had a steak and I had reindeer. The food was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Erik E
Holbergstuen, Manager at Holbergstuen, responded to this review

Thanks for visiting us, and we are glad that you enjoyed both the food and service. We will gladly welcome you back next time you are in Bergen! See you then. More 

Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016

We had booked dinner here one Friday night. They serve traditional Norwegian cooking and they do it well. Friendly and helpful staff made it a perfect evening. The food was good, the restaurant rustic and the staff excellent. Situated just in the middle of the city centre on Torgallmenningen. We'll be back.

Helpful?
Thank Jarlen2014
Holbergstuen, Manager at Holbergstuen, responded to this review

Thank you very much for such nice words regarding your visit at Holbergstuen. You describe everything we want to be in your review! Welcome back! More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

We met with some friends from our time at the university in the seventies. Back then we also met here. The raindeer steak I had was average. Of course it was nice to meet old friends.

Helpful?
Thank Jon Ingve L
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Visiting Bergen meet up with some old friends at this establishment! The food, service and location is very central in midst of the city. Food was good and so was the service, however rather on the expensive side!

Helpful?
Thank Norway1944
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2016

We had a very nice meal here. Service was great and the people were friendly. I had a chicken dish that was very tasty and nicely presented. My friend had salmon that was very good.

Helpful?
Thank Rosanne D
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2016 via mobile

I visited Holbergstuen with my family last year. One of the oldest restaurants in Bergen, been around since 1927. Not so many guests at the time we visited. We chose one fish- and one meat course. The food was amazing and the staff showed excellent service.

Helpful?
Thank passion4foodwine
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2016

Right in the main square. Had a very reasonable steak with chips, mushrooms, onions and sauce. Pleasant atmosphere and attentive staff.

Helpful?
Thank mdsbohiggins
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2016

We had the best Bergensk fish soup. It's kind of obligatory when you go to Bergen to at least have their fish soup once. Nice "old fashioned" decoration. Good service.

Helpful?
Thank Bodil L

Travellers who viewed Holbergstuen also viewed

Bergen, Hordaland
Bergen, Hordaland
 
Bergen, Hordaland
 
Bergen, Hordaland
 

Been to Holbergstuen? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 14 - US$ 33
Cuisine
European, Scandinavian, Norwegian, Soups
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Reservations, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover
Good for
Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
14:00 - 23:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:30
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:30
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:30
Thursday
11:00 - 23:30
Friday
11:00 - 23:30
Saturday
11:00 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Torgallmenningen 6, Bergen 5014, Norway
  • Location: Europe  >  Norway  >  Western Norway  >  Hordaland  >  Bergen>  > Sentrum
  • Neighbourhood: Sentrum
  • Phone Number: +47 55 55 20 55
Description
In 90 years has local guests frequented Holbegstuen restaurant. Holbergstuen holds Norwegian and western Norwegian food traditions alive in traditional atmosphere.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Holbergstuen staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?