We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tjoruhusid

Nedsti kaupstadur, Isafjordur 400, Iceland
+354 456 4419
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent88%
  • Very good9%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
yesterday
“Gorgeous generous fish buffet in the evening”
5 days ago
“Excellent food, friendly service, but expensive”
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, European, Soups, Scandinavian, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Nedsti kaupstadur, Isafjordur 400, Iceland
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
Reviews (446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 446 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

We ate supper here; we were unable to get unbooked at the 7pm sitting, so returned and 9pm, and were very glad we did! We had the seafood soup, followed by fish buffet plate; refills until you are full! Stunningly tasty fish dishes straight from...More

Thank TravellingHappily
Reviewed 5 days ago

Apparently, there are two sittings for dinner at this place. Some friends and I took dinner at the 7 pm sitting. The first course was an excellent fish soup. After that, various fish dishes, with sides, were offered at a buffet. The variety of the...More

Thank Commodore
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Okay, I read the reviews and everyone was all "best fish ever!" and I thought, "Really? How is it possible that no one has had better fish than this?" But, we made a reservation, especially when we realized that our two kids would eat for...More

1  Thank tundracotraveler
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had dinner here on our last night in the Westfjords, while staying in harbor town of Isafjordur. The service is warm and friendly, the food is FANTASTIC, and the atmosphere is like having dinner in a local church hall, family-style and everyone chats with...More

Thank JoAnne W
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had lunch there on a daytrip to Isafjordur and wow it was good. Had fish soup and then could choose from 4 different fish dishes. Tasted 2 of them and both were super good. The restaurant is in a very old house and a bit...More

Thank Sigridur S
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I had the Halibut - wow. Not sure if it was my diet of crackers and Skyr that made this lunch meal taste like it was handed down from the gods. Incredibly tender pieces of halibut in a delicious butter sauce accompanied by capers, grapes...More

Thank Arno M
Reviewed 1 week ago

Fish and salad buffet for 6,000 ISK (with out drinks). Two turns: 19.30 and 20.30. Kids under 14 free. Coffee and teas included. Excellent quality fish and friendly staff. I will repeat without think it.

Thank miguel742205
Reviewed 1 week ago

If you like seafood, do yourself a favour and make sure you have at least one meal here if you're in the area. The concept is simple. You sit at big tables with other customers, and help yourself to the seafood soup of the day,...More

Thank letspackandgo
Reviewed 1 week ago

This restaurant is interesting in many respects. When you enter for the first time you don't really expect the excellent quality of the food. This is definately one of the best fish restaurants in Iceland - and I have tried quite a few. The fish...More

Thank Jóhanna Á
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Delicious, completely mind-blowing. Would 100% recommend. The freshest fish you will ever eat, cooked with incredible skill. Book in advance.

Thank Helen P
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Husid
237 reviews
.75 km away
Gamla Bakariio
120 reviews
.58 km away
Braedraborg Cafe
49 reviews
.55 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wild Westfjords
92 reviews
.67 km away
Isafjordur Guide
95 reviews
.91 km away
Borea Adventures
97 reviews
.54 km away
Isafjordur Maritime Museum
76 reviews
.04 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Tjoruhusid
FAQ Q When is Tjöruhúsið open for business? A First off: we are mostly closed during wintertime (with a few exceptions). We usually close up shop around late October and then start cooking again around Easter (feel free to follow our Facebook page or drop us a line here if you want to make sure). This is for a variety of reasons, mostly because weather conditions in wintertime can make it hard for us to guarantee fresh fish (also, our house is really old and not insulated, so it gets way cold during wintertime). This means that you can’t expect to dine with us from circa early November - late March. Don’t worry though, there’s plenty of nice food to be had in Ísafjörður. And you can always try dropping us a line to see if we happen to be open for some odd reason. But, when you are open for business, what are your hours of operation? We are generally open every single day for lunch from 12oo -14oo, and then dinner from 19oo - 21oo. Do note that since we need fresh fish, etc., our opening hours can be a little sporadic at the beginning and tail-end of the season (spring - late fall), so make sure to call ahead). Q Do I need to make a reservation? A Probably a good idea. Q How can I make a reservation? A You can email us, drop us a line via our Facebook page or call us. We do recommend calling in if you wish to make a reservation with less than three days advance (especially in high-season - it gets crazy!). NOTE: Tjöruhúsið is a family restaurant, and we don’t have a lot of employees or corporate structure or concierge or anything. Sometimes, we’ll get too busy to answer your messages or even pick up the phone (calling during dinnertime isn’t the best idea, for instance). If we don’t respond, please just try again. We’re bound to come around eventually. Q Can I see your menu? A No. Q But I really want to see your menu! A Again, no. Sorry, it’s just, we don’t really have a menu. We just cook whatever’s fresh out of the ocean on any given day (except the salt cured cod - that needs time to cure). At any given time, you can expect us to serve stuff like halibut, wolffish (AKA North Atlantic catfish), cod, pollock, redfish, spotted catfish, salmon, rainbow trout and plaice, in whatever style our chefs are feeling at that very moment. Sometimes we get crazy unusual fish, like monkfish. That’s always fun. For sides (when we’re doing the buffet thing), you can expect: rice, boiled potatoes, mashed potatoes, potato salad, regular salad, barley salad (with peppers and mushrooms and all kinds of nice spices) and whatever else we come up with. We also serve fish soup every day (usually a langoustine base, infused with tomato, cream, and all sorts of fish) and fish stew. During busy season (say, June through August), we usually offer an a la carte lunch (you get to choose which fish you want to feast on), and a buffet dinner (the buffet is really nice, don’t worry, all fresh cooked, and you get to taste everything you want). Q Do you guys do dessert? A Not really, although one of our salt-cured cod recipes we sometimes make kind of verges on dessert territory (it comes with sherry-soaked raisins and almonds). However, feel free to drink all the coffee and/or tea you like, and also there’s a bowl of chocolates. Q I am allergic or averse to whatever ingredient (dairy? gluten? fish?), but I’d still really like to dine with you guys. Can you accommodate my needs and desires? Probably. We’ll sure try. However, you should definitely get in touch with us beforehand to discuss. We hate to disappoint. Q Hi, I’d like a beer with my custom made gluten-free meal. A Oh, you! Q I came by your restaurant and it was closed but there were people hanging out inside and they were laughing and some of them were eating but no one would let me in and I deserve to eat wherever I want, whenever I want. I am enraged and might write furious things about you on the internet! A Listen: sorry about that. We were closed. We sometimes are. But, you know, when we’re closed, we have this nice place to have our friends over at. It would be a shame not to use it, right? Anyway, that time you were over, we were probably celebrating a birthday or something. It’s not you, it’s us. Honest. We sincerely apologise. From now on, we will never close again, in case you might get hungry. No more birthdays. No more joy. Q Don’t be an a**, that’s a legitimate complaint. A You’re right. Sorry. We were just being flippant. Your royal highness. Q Can I get a job at Tjöruhúsið? A Maybe. If you’re nice and fun to be around and can do things that are useful to us (wash dishes, serve food, etc). Try dropping our Department of Human Resources a line at our email. Q Do you have a Reykjavík location? A Nope. We are not affiliated with any restaurants in Reykjavík or elsewhere. Tjöruhúsið is an Ísafjörður thing. Q Anything to add? A Keep it real, y’all!
29 April 2017|
Answer
Response from Tjoruhusid | Property representative |
Good one, sir!
0
Votes
anthonytR409TV
I would like to make a reservation for a dinner around Apr. Where can I make it?
4 March 2017|
Answer
Response from OpieOP | Reviewed this property |
You need to call them. We called them the day before we went and got a table for two. Make sure you make a reservation as they were absolutely full when we went.
1
Vote
bluestdoggy
Do you have anything on the menu for someone who has a fish allergy ? :(
20 December 2016|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from Sara H | Reviewed this property |
There are some sides such as salad and bread, but even some of the sides also contained fish. Best to avoid if you have an allergy to fish!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 20 - US$ 50
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 14:00
19:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 14:00
19:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:00
19:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:00
19:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 14:00
19:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 14:00
19:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 14:00
19:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Nedsti kaupstadur, Isafjordur 400, Iceland
  • Location: Europe  >  Iceland  >  Westfjords Region  >  Isafjordur
  • Phone Number: +354 456 4419
  • E-mail
Description
Tjoruhusið is a fish restaurant in Isafjorður, Iceland. We only serve whatever's fresh out of the ocean on a given day, so there's no menu to speak of, but during high season we usually offer a buffet of everything good for dinner, while lunch tends to be a la carte.

For dinner, we generally do two separate seatings, at 7pm and 9pm, although we try to be flexible if possible.

Do note that we are for the most part closed during wintertime (from early November 'til Easter, usually), and then that our openings in the early spring months tend to be sporadic. We advise anyone intending to dine with us to call ahead to ensure we are open.

Tjoruhusið does not operate a Reykjavik location.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing