We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Demo

₹₹₹₹
Kampinmalmi
European, Scandinavian, Gluten Free Options
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Uudenmaankatu 9-11, Helsinki 00120, Finland
+358 9 22890840
Website
Today
16:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Tue - Sat 16:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

198 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 165: English reviews
Level Contributor
158 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The Demo restaurant, with its Michelin star, lives up to expectations. The service is superb with personal touch. The food is excellent with lovely mix of flavours and textures. And yes, it is delightfully pretentious. It is not a cheap place, but one goes to Demo not expecting to pay little. A full blown dinner for four, with an excellent... More 

Helpful?
Thank Krzysztof D
767liam, Manager at Demo, responded to this review

Krzysztof D Thank you for visiting us at Demo, we are extremely proud of what we do and it is great to hear such nice feedback from our guests. Please do not be a stranger, because we would love to have you back in the near future. Regards Liam/Demo More 

Mulfingen, Germany
Level Contributor
115 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
RESTAURANT'S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 1 December 2016

Upscale restaurant in the city. Advanced and contemporary interpretations of European cuisine with a local flavor. A visit will take some time. Expect to spend approx. 1.5-2 hours for a four course menu. More 

Helpful?
Thank GlobeTrotter_AIL
About Restaurant's Favourite Review
Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a five course menu. Two portions were very good, two average, and one actually poor. First time in a fine dining restaurant I also considered the portions tiny. Left the place hungry (literally) and disappointed. There are several restaurants in Helsinki serving better food for more affordable price.

Helpful?
Thank Matt_089756
767liam, Manager at Demo, responded to this review

Matt_089756 I am sorry you left hungry. We do offer longer courses than 5, and if you had told us on the night, we could have made some more food for you. The idea is that the menu is a tasting menu, and that you taste many different portions. If you could inform us of what dish you thought was... More 

Helsinki
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

I visited Demo with my friend. I really liked that I didn't know what kind of menu I was going to eat. Almost everything was fantastic, even celery ice cream and I hate celery. Restaurant is simple and beautiful. Space is wonderful when it gets darker outside.

Helpful?
Thank liisa702
767liam, Manager at Demo, responded to this review

Liisa702 Thank you for the review on TripAdvisor. We are extremely happy you enjoyed the evening, and especially the celery ice cream. Our menu is ever changing so please don't be a stranger. Regards Restaurant Demo. More 

Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2017

We ate 5 dish menu and that part was fine. Drinks were not. We are wine enthusiasts but not heavy drinkers and therefore asked if we can get just class of wine with the entree and the main food. Waitress told that there is no suitable open bottles. Our second question was that can we share (5 x) menu wines.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Uuno_turhapuro
767liam, Manager at Demo, responded to this review

Uuno_turhapuro Thank you for your feedback about our service. We are sincerely apologetic that you feel the price of the beverage package was too much. Our prices are presented on our website, and our sommeliers put in a great deal of effort to find some unique wines that match the food and that you cannot purchase in the rest of... More 

Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2017

Food and service were quite nice, place is small and romantic. We had a small table for 2, which is ok. You cannot decide what you eat. You can decide only on how gig is your menu. Wine list was really good, but expencive.

Helpful?
Thank hanttus
767liam, Manager at Demo, responded to this review

Hanttus Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor. We are glad you enjoyed the food, service and romantic atmosphere of our restaurant. We will take into consideration about the pricing of our wines. We hope you visit us again in the future. Regards Restaurant Demo. More 

Level Contributor
78 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2017

This is a long overdue review considering I visited Helsinki late last year, but better late than never! I've actually read up on this restaurant on viamichelin prior to making a reservation. Having never tried Finnish food before, I was not entirely sure what to expect. However, I am pleased to say that I'm glad I made the reservation and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Immortalist
767liam, Manager at Demo, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor, and thank you recommending our restaurant to others. I am guessing by your review headline that you didn't enjoy Helsinki so much! Next time you are in Helsinki, please don't hesitate to revisit us, we would love to have you back. Regards Restaurant Demo More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

Food was perfect and with great matching wines. Well run place as service was friendly and came in good time. Recommend. One of the better places around

Helpful?
Thank Toby L
767liam, Manager at Demo, responded to this review

Toby Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor, we really appreciate your kind words and recommendation. We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Helsinki. Regards Restaurant Demo. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2016 via mobile

Visited on a busy Saturday night and I loved it. The food was exceptional - probably the best Michelin-starred restaurant in Helsinki while also being the most relaxed! The wine list had some really special bottles and the sommelier was very knowledgable. I really want to go back and have everything again...

Helpful?
Thank OAH_1982
Management response:

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are extremely happy you enjoyed your visit. We wish you a Very Merry Christmas, and we look forward to seeing you again in the New Year. Regards Restaurant Demo More 

Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2016

We had a romantic dinner at Demo. We ordered a set of 5 courses (if I remember correctly) and the food was nice. But food and service wasn't as nice as the bill indicated. I would say tht it is over priced and not worth if you are using your own money. Maybe with someone else paying?

Helpful?
Thank Tuplae

Travellers who viewed Demo also viewed

Helsinki, Uusimaa
 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 

Been to Demo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 70 - US$ 115
Cuisine
European, Scandinavian, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Tuesday
16:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
16:00 - 23:00
Thursday
16:00 - 23:00
Friday
16:00 - 23:00
Saturday
16:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Uudenmaankatu 9-11, Helsinki 00120, Finland
  • Location: Europe  >  Finland  >  Uusimaa  >  Helsinki>  > Kampinmalmi
  • Neighbourhood: Kampinmalmi
  • Phone Number: +358 9 22890840
Description
Restaurant Demo's is a Michelin Star that offers a fine dining tasting menu's from 4 - 7 course. Restaurant Demo aims to achieve an ever evolving set menu will reinvigorate your taste buds for Scandinavian cuisine. This pushes and and gives to our chefs an opportunity to really express themselves to there full. Just like our chefs, our sommeliers work hard to perfectly match the wine with each course as well as building one of the best wine cellars in Finland.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Demo staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?