We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mamma Assunta

Gartenstrasse 5, St. Gallen 9000, Switzerland
+41 71 222 22 31
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good28%
  • Average8%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible5%
19 May 2016
“A real Italian restaurant !”
14 Oct 2015
“Cozy atmosphere,good food”
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Italian, Pizza, Mediterranean
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Gartenstrasse 5, St. Gallen 9000, Switzerland
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2016

This is a superb family run Italian Restaurant. Very homely and friendly. Food is authentic, home cooked with fresh ingredients and very reasonable price. Have to say the Carbonara was the best I have ever eaten. Bit of a job to find but worth the...More

Thank Graham F
Reviewed 15 October 2015

This is a small, attractive Italian restaurant. The décor is inviting, the food above average, and the service friendly and efficient. The menu is extensive and varied and the presence of "regulars" makes you feel as if you are almost in a family dining situation

Thank Robert B
Reviewed 28 September 2015

We ordered to large pizza and had some beers each. We also ordered plain tap water. They charged us 7 CHF (!!!) for two glasses. This is beyond any reason. Avoid at all costs! (pun intended)More

Thank Nikolaus K
MammAssunta1985, Manager at Mamma Assunta, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2015

Dear Nikolaus K we read your comment, consider you content and don't agree on everything you just wrote. Let us explain from our point of view. First of all, you enjoyed an evening this week in our restaurant and had eaten each one a pizza....More

Reviewed 23 August 2015

We went there for dinner and were a bit early, so we were the only guests. While the family of the owner had their dinner we enjoyed traditional Italian food. The Antipasti plate was really good and the pasta was delicious! The owner was a...More

Thank Philo_on_the_go
MammAssunta1985, Manager at Mamma Assunta, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2015

Dear Philo_on_the_go Thank you for your kind words and we appreciated that you had a wonderful stay at our restaurant. We will be honored to welcome you again in future and let you try some other specialities. Best regards The Mamma Assunta

Reviewed 8 June 2015 via mobile

My wife and I had a great Italian meal. She had the spinach and ricotta ravioli and I had the baked macaroni and cheese. We ate every bite and it was fantastic. The baked Mac and cheese was the best I ever had! Service was...More

Thank Sean T
MammAssunta1985, Inhaber at Mamma Assunta, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2015

Dear Sean T Thank you so much for your rating. We are very pleased to hear, that you enjoyed your stay in our house and we are looking forward to welcome you again. Thank you Mamma Assunta

Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Ok, i've read other review and seems to be the best pizza in St Gallen but, trust me, they don't know what's pizza but they know what's money 'cause we paid too much even for Switzerland! Real italian pizza is thinner, tomato is absolutely without...More

1  Thank Enrico_Lupo
MammAssunta1985, Inhaber at Mamma Assunta, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Enrico, we truly are surprised about your reaction here, as you and your lovely family that evening told us, that everything sadisfied you. Since 1985 we are working for our clients and looking forward to continue for a long time, and yes, our pizzas...More

Reviewed 6 March 2013

Let me say something in advance: Mamma Assunta's pizza is NOT the typical thin large one you can get in any decent Italian pizza house. I must admit I was a little skeptical when I was served a thick "focaccia" instead. After the first bite...More

Thank vienna_myCapital
MammAssunta1985, Inhaber at Mamma Assunta, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear vienna_myCapital We will deeply thank you for your kind and lovely words about your stay on our house. We love to make everything happen, that our clients are suddisfied, happy and enjoy the time in our cozy atmosphere. Love to welcome you soon at...More

Reviewed 26 January 2013

As Italian living abroad we are quite picky about Italian restaurants. Try Mamma Assunta you won't be disappointed. The quality of food is really "Italian": everything is very fresh and tastes genuine and pizza is real pizza! Giuseppe and Assunta are the perfect host!More

Thank fahrx
MammAssunta1985, Inhaber at Mamma Assunta, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear fahrx We are pleased to read, that you had a good and flavorful time in our house. Thank you for your positive feedback. We appreciate that you had fun with Giuseppe and Assunta as your host. Looking forward to welcome you once again and...More

Reviewed 27 September 2012

I love this place - that's why I'm a "regular" here. It's like coming home, very friendly people, good, fresh food. It's not a tourist place, this is where the locals go.More

Thank MartinSwissTraveler
MammAssunta1985, Inhaber at Mamma Assunta, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear MartinSwissTraveler We like to thank you for your kind and lovely words and the given positive feedback here and in our house. It is a pleasure and our effort to let feel our guest like they coming home. When we make it happen, we...More

Reviewed 5 March 2012

The pizza was way too thick and was hard at the bottom. Not a good pizza, not good service. Left most of the pizza at the table. I think the salad was ok. Left as soon as possible.More

Thank Matthew G
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

Dear customer we wanna thank you for your honest opinion, althought we are really sorry, that you didn't had a good time at our place. For the last 27 years we were driven by to make happy and suddisfy our clients and customer, and work...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Einstein Gourmet
86 reviews
.11 km away
Lansin
82 reviews
.15 km away
Einstein Bar
53 reviews
.09 km away
Bodega Prado
99 reviews
.21 km away
Nearby Attractions
Abbey Library
744 reviews
.25 km away
Convent of St. Gall
314 reviews
.29 km away
Cathedral
130 reviews
.26 km away
Roter Platz
128 reviews
.05 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Mamma Assunta staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 20 - US$ 25
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Waitstaff
Good for
Kids, Local cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Gartenstrasse 5, St. Gallen 9000, Switzerland
  • Location: Europe  >  Switzerland  >  Canton of St. Gallen  >  St. Gallen
  • Phone Number: +41 71 222 22 31
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing