We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

China Garden

₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
avenue De-Bude 15, Geneva 1202, Switzerland
+41 22 733 21 91
Today
12:00 - 14:00
19:00 - 22:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 - 14:00
19:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

66 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 44: English reviews
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
136 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2017

China Garden is situated in a small shopping mall in Petit Saconnex. It is quite a small restaurant facing a pleasant garden. The menu is small but carries the main dishes one finds in any Chinese restaurant. It is very popular at lunch times for staff from the UN and as they also arrange take-aways it's useful for some locals.... More 

Helpful?
Thank 208Geordie
Djursholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

..chinese restaurant in geneva do you not know how real good chinese food should taste. I have employed staff whose Chinese wives cook better Chinese food at home which weeknight anyday. This is just an ordinary dull Chinese restaurant in the suburb anywhere, where the only difference is that this is in Geneva with absurdly high prices for food that... More 

Helpful?
Thank swe-connoisseur
Ashly L, Owner at China Garden, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for your comments and feedback. According to my staff ( if they remembered correctly) you ordered 2 beef dishes that night and ate them without any complaints. Thus , they were not aware of your displeasure with the restaurant . Switzerland is a country with a high standard of living and with it comes high cost... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

We have tried multiple Chinese restaurants in Geneva, and this one is the best by miles!!! The food is fresh and well presented but when the taste kicks in, you couldn't be more satisfied! The owner is always there and helping her staff unlike many owners who bosses around! Don't think twice and go for it!

Helpful?
2 Thank Desireeandrey
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2016

I go frequently to this restaurant and always enjoy it. I always take the plat de jour at lunchtime and it is extremely good value. Each day of the week there is a different starter followed by rice with two different meat or fish dishes..its not a choice you get both of them which is great. Then there is a... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank pollypolooch
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

The lunch buffets offered by China Garden is one of the best in Geneva for its price and quality. On Tuesdays and Thursdays they have prawns on the buffet menu. Simply delicious and amazing, worth a detour.

Helpful?
2 Thank hfng
Level Contributor
76 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

It is not the most obvious place to look for a restaurant, so we were a bit skeptical. But it turned out to be a good experience. The service is quick and friendly, the dishes are delicious. We had a delightful lunch in the end.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lynnushka
Kyotango, Japan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2016

I had dinner there. In general, all dishes tasted too salty, and staffs were not nice. Bad thing was that their credit card machine didn't work properly and they asked us to type PIN code again after we did it once, saying that the first transaction didn't go through. There is no clear explanation nor evidence about what happened at... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank くま2016
Ashly L, Owner at China Garden, responded to this review

Many apologies for your unpleasant dinning experience at our restaurant . We had a very bad week with the new credit card machine due to the weak internet connection. I will look into our service and kitchen and work on improving it. Please accept our sincere apologies . More 

Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2016

We were staying at the Intercontinental hotel who recommended this establishment. Just a little skeptical as China Garden is located inside a little mall - BUT boy we were happily surprised when our "Sweet and Sour Chicken" and "Crispy Beef" arrived...YUM! Best Crispy Beef EVER. Went back another night during our stay. The proprietor, is fantastic - very entertaining and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Raediant36
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2016 via mobile

Made the silly mistake and decided to try this place despite the not so great reviews here in tripadvisor. I don't want to go to delays as many clients before me have but..... What a joke. Very very poorly cooked burned food. Won't be going there ever again.

Helpful?
2 Thank Miaaa11
Ashly L, Owner at China Garden, responded to this review

Hello Miaaa, If your comment were posted to the correct restaurant , - please kindly let us know your food selection that day(lunch or dinner) - the receipt if possible - the number of people in your group I will verify with my staff and provide adequate compensation and apology if that is the case. BUT, We are concerned that... More 

Canton of Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2016

Although a wide variety of choice - had FOOD POISONING on several occasions. Manageress very cold and unfriendly with no idea of what restaurant hospitality means. Even to customers returning often, there is no consideration - not even a proper and correct welcome and service.

Helpful?
1 Thank Consulting8
Ashly L, Owner at China Garden, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madame, Upon viewing your comment today, I went thru our records from 1 May to 1 June with my staff and there were no records of food poisoning that we know of. I am thankful that you are still willing to give us the chance to improve ourself after the first case of food poisoning. Please kindly provide time... More 

Travellers who viewed China Garden also viewed

Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Versoix, Geneva
 

Been to China Garden? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Chinese, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 14:00
19:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 14:00
19:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:00
19:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:00
19:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 14:00
19:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 14:00
19:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 14:00
19:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: avenue De-Bude 15, Geneva 1202, Switzerland
  • Location: Europe  >  Switzerland  >  Canton of Geneva  >  Geneva
  • Phone Number: +41 22 733 21 91

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of China Garden and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from China Garden staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?