We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Antica Carbonera

₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Neighbourhood:
San Marco
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Get directions
Calle Bembo, Venice, Italy
+39 041 522 5479
Website
Today
11:30 - 15:00
18:30 - 23:30
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:30 - 15:00
18:30 - 23:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

501 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 190: English reviews
Orgeval, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Classical venetian restaurant; very good food; helpful, friendly and multi-language staff; only negative remark : historical furniture unfortunately a little bit uncomfortable...

Helpful?
Thank Airlan630
Level Contributor
127 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Perhaps the oldest restaurant in Venice (1894) this is a charming place with warm woods and a naval atmosphere that is warm and welcoming. Serice is professional and attentive. The menu is extensive,The Sarde, Branzino, and "fritto misto" are recommended. Enjoy the polenta that comes with nearly every dish. Venetian, loaded with seafood and risottos though a few meat dishes... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul O
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

12 eur for 2 glasses of very bad vine. Pasta and the main course were fine, but these "dishes of the day" cost considerably more, than any other regular dish, so watch out when the waiters recommend "something special, that is not on the menu". Panna cotta was really so-so. And cover charge of 6 euros had finished the impression.

Helpful?
Thank Annnnna111
Antica C, Proprietario at Antica Carbonera, responded to this review

We're sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit, but we recommend to speak up when you're here. If you weren't satisfied with the wine, please tell so and we could find another kind. We recommend to ask for the prices if you want to know on something not in the menù. More 

Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just off one of main tracks to Rialto bridge down a little Alley towards the Grand Canal you will find this interesting restaurant. We sat in a booth on the ground floor that was a little tight as my guest had to wedge into his seat. The beaches are short and slightly uncomfortable, but there is other seating and there... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul D
Antica C, Proprietario at Antica Carbonera, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your visit. You are always welcome More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2017

This is a rip off joint---looks cool, in a narrow alley, but waiters are russian, food is OK but not special, prices are not equal to quality. 3.5 euro cover per person then they have the nerve to add a 10% surcharge----you really can do better without much effort

Helpful?
Thank James S
Antica C, Proprietario at Antica Carbonera, responded to this review

I don't understand the problem if the waiters are russian, italians, chinese....having a lot of tourists in Venice from certain countries it's quite important for us to be international as well. I'm sorry you weren't satisfied with our food all the way. The cover charge and the surcharge are not to rip off as you say anyone. they are two... More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

Four days in Venice and this is the only restaurant we really enjoyed here. Ask for the Mediterranean pasta, amazing!

Helpful?
Thank Antonio Carlos R
Antica C, Proprietario at Antica Carbonera, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your visit, we hope to see you soon again More 

Geneva
Level Contributor
88 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2017

We took mainly seafood like the grilled cuttlefish, scallops as starter and main plate. I personally wanted to try the local veal liver at venetian style and I really like it, it was perfectly cooked with onions and served with polenta. When choosing the wine I asked the wine from 2014 as in written the menu but at the end... More 

Helpful?
Thank prx187
Antica C, Proprietario at Antica Carbonera, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice words. We will try to keep the wine more up to date, unfortunately sometimes having a various selection with some changing year less often than others, so always ask to be sure. We will try to find some better seating ideas Thank you again More 

New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2017

Enjoyed our dinner at Antica Carbonera. Nice old world ambience---booths and wall paneling were refurbished from a royal yacht. Service was attentive and professional. I had a sliced steak and potato dish over salad and my wife had the spaghetti Vongole which was superb. I disagree with the comments below that say the restaurant is over priced---It's more moderately priced---glasses... More 

Helpful?
Thank edfromnj
Antica C, Proprietario at Antica Carbonera, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your very kind words, and for not taking some comments serious. You understood what Antica Carbonera is about! Thank you again and hope to see you for another visit. More 

Kuessnacht am Rigi, Switzerland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

We had dinner in this restaurant. We didn't have a reservation but they had a table for us. The setting is a bit cramped. The prosciutto was very good, freshly cut. Main dish, fish soup was nice, a bit salty. Crab was good as appetizer main dish lobster with pasta was very good! Good service and friendly staff.

Helpful?
Thank ViaVolta
Antica C, Proprietario at Antica Carbonera, responded to this review

Thank you for your visit and happy that you enjoyed more or less everything. You are welcome again anytime!! More 

Alderley Edge
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

Very pleased with our find. Really great food. Lovely warm ambience. And fabulous service. Small intimate restaurant with individual booths for each diner. So very cosy and romantic. Food was excellent. Carpaccio of beef, tuna caught today! Superb selection of wines. All staff friendly and attentive. Good recommendations on wine choice to accompany each meal. A complimentary dessert wine was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Louloubell77_10

Travellers who viewed Antica Carbonera also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Antica Carbonera? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Italian, Seafood, Mediterranean
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 15:00
18:30 - 23:30
Monday
11:30 - 15:00
18:30 - 23:30
Tuesday
11:30 - 15:00
18:30 - 23:30
Wednesday
11:30 - 15:00
18:30 - 23:30
Thursday
11:30 - 15:00
18:30 - 23:30
Friday
11:30 - 15:00
18:30 - 23:30
Saturday
11:30 - 15:00
18:30 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Calle Bembo, Venice, Italy
  • Location: Europe  >  Italy  >  Veneto  >  Province of Venice  >  City of Venice  >  Venice>  > San Marco
  • Neighbourhood: San Marco
  • Phone Number: +39 041 522 5479

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Antica Carbonera staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Staying in San Marco

Neighbourhood Profile
San Marco
The most famous sestiere (district) in Venice has one of the world's most famous squares, St. Mark's (Piazza San Marco). Anchored on one end by the basilica, clustered around it are restaurants, museums, shops, orchestras playing in the square, pigeons, the grand pink Doge’s Palace (Palazzo Ducale), the soaring campanile bell tower, an astrological clock tower, plus gorgeous cafes and restaurants like Florian and Quadri. Piazza San Marco is beloved by Venetians themselves. They book a table anytime, which offers a buffer from the fray. This grand outdoor drawing room attracts Venetians for a stroll too, especially late in the afternoon when the hoards of daytrippers thin out. It's simply a grand place to meet.
Explore this neighbourhood