We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Restaurante Escondida

₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Calle Pasaje el ancla 1 | Alcala - Guia de Isora, 38686, Tenerife, Spain
+34 922 86 50 80
Website
Today
13:00 - 16:00
19:30 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Thu - Tue 13:00 - 16:00
19:30 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

181 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 64: English reviews
London, UK
Level Contributor
140 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

Set high above a mini harbour, this is an interesting restaurant, with nice views if you sit next to the windows (often wide open) and with eclectic décor & furniture. Our paella came in just over 30mins, not the advertised 45mins. It was OK but we'd need to eat here again to rate it better than average.

Helpful?
Thank GR20London_UK
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
154 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

Stumbled upon this place as we walked along the coastline. Quirky and friendly although not too many tables for the amount of trade that came by. Go for the specials they will by far be freshest and not too expensive.

Helpful?
Thank ACAMW
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

We had the seafood platter for 4 people and it was huge. When we arrived the waiter tried to put us off by saying we wouldn't be served for 15 minutes but we said we'd wait and in fact we didn't have to wait that long. He did turn other people away when there was room but it was getting... More 

Helpful?
Thank margiedrew
EscondidaTenerife, Gerente at Restaurante Escondida, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I explain you the reason that we told you that you should wait aroun 15 minutes for your lunch and it was beacause we had many arrivals just before you and the kitchen was a litlle bit colapse. And also of you saw that we said to other Guest that there wasnt tables availables even... More 

POLAND
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2017

This is a place that is, especially compared to other restaurants around the island, barely average - at most. Food was just good enough to eat it and leave, nothing more. It wasn't bad, but it was our worst meal during our visit to Tenerife. We were the only people in a rather big restaurant at 20 pm, no wonder... More 

Helpful?
Thank samotnik
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

This is an outstanding local restaurant with wonderful friendly personal service at a very reasonable price. The fresh fish was a delight. We had the best sea bass we'd ever tasted. The Gambas was delicious and the atmosphere was extremely relaxing. We would highly recommend it.

Helpful?
Thank kev s
EscondidaTenerife, Propietario at Restaurante Escondida, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review and hope to see you again soon. More 

Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2016

We have always had very nice seafood at this restaurant, but the last time we visited was not so good.

Helpful?
Thank Elin C
Broxbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
273 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

One of our favourite restaurants in Alcala, food and service excellent. Would recommend, great value!!

Helpful?
Thank LondonSpike
Level Contributor
78 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

Me and boyfriend called in for lunch, very hungry and thirsty after a 2 hour walk from the next town, sat down looked at the menus and i was very disappointed to see no vegetarian option, not even simple pasta or pizza for example. All meat and fish. We were then asked rather abruptly to move from the table (and... More 

Helpful?
Thank BamBam1909
EscondidaTenerife, Gerente at Restaurante Escondida, responded to this review

Dear Sir. As I read in your comment I inform you that we have a choise of 5 salads all vegetarían in our menú like Taboule, roasted pepper salad, our house salad And also some main dishes as vegetarían Paella , mixed vegetables grill, grilled cheese,... We dont have to serve pizzas or pasta as you said because we are... More 

Budapest
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2016

Atmospheric bar restaurant overlooking the old fishing harbour of Alcalá. Simple food, reasonably priced, stay on today's catch, service fine.

Helpful?
Thank Ian I
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
298 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2016

Fish restaurant....I wanted Paella but you need to order 24hrs in advance which is a bit odd. Had a locally fried piece of fish ...it was fine...but I wouldn't race back.

Helpful?
Thank Neal M
EscondidaTenerife, Gerente at Restaurante Escondida, responded to this review

We are sorry for your comments but inform that the Paella is by order because its fresh and take at least 45 minutes to prepare anyway we give you the choise if you don't mind to wait this time. And also let you know that we never do fried fish in our restaurant we only do grilled fresh fish. Thank... More 

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Escondida also viewed

Alcala, Guia de Isora
Tenerife, Canary Islands
 
Alcala, Guia de Isora
Alcala, Guia de Isora
 

Been to Restaurante Escondida? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 13 - US$ 28
Cuisine
Seafood, Mediterranean, European, Spanish, Gastropub, Fusion
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
13:00 - 16:00
19:30 - 23:00
Monday
13:00 - 16:00
19:30 - 23:00
Tuesday
13:00 - 16:00
19:30 - 23:00
Thursday
13:00 - 16:00
19:30 - 23:00
Friday
13:00 - 16:00
19:30 - 23:00
Saturday
13:00 - 16:00
19:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Calle Pasaje el ancla 1 | Alcala - Guia de Isora, 38686, Tenerife, Spain
  • Location: Europe  >  Spain  >  Canary Islands  >  Tenerife
  • Phone Number: +34 922 86 50 80
Description
In the peaceful fishing town of Alcala but still within easy reach of West Tenerife���s most popular tourist resorts, you���ll find Escondida, a chilled out lounge bar and restaurant with a young, funky feel. Wide windows offer stunning sea views while deep colourful sofas are the perfect place to relax with a delicious mojito before moving through to the restaurant, with the same views but a more formal setting. The compact but varied menu offers everything from tapas dishes for a real taste of Spanish food through to blackboard specials, made using in season local ingredients. Every dish is beautifully presented and a real treat for holidaying foodies after an authentic experience.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Restaurante Escondida staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?