We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Restaurant Le Plantagenet

₹₹ - ₹₹₹
French, European, Gastropub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
5 Place des Plantagenets, 49590 Fontevraud-l'Abbaye, France
+33 2 41 51 71 11
Website
Today
12:00 - 14:00
19:00 - 20:30
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 - 14:00
19:00 - 20:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

342 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 66: English reviews
Redruth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the hotel attached to this restaurant for 3 nights and took the opportunity to sample the food on offer on our first night. The weather was superb which really helped our stay exceed expectations, however the restaurant was such a brilliant find we ate there every night of our stay. The staff were all very friendly, nothing... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andy P
Tulipe024, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le Plantagenet, responded to this review

Dear mr and mrs P., Wow what a great review. You said you'd put 'something' on Tripadvisor but this just blows our mind. A sincere thank you, on behalf of all at La Croix Blanche hotel and Le Plantagenêt restaurant! Kind regards, Mieke, proprietor More 

Sandwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The Michelin star restaurant at our hotel was closed and the P was recommended. It was excellent. My companion and I fought over who 'won' the starter - I had a chervil velouté and he the gravadlax - both first class and generous. Then lamb shank played a sea bass filet. Another draw with the lamb properly cooked and not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Janet G
Tulipe024, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le Plantagenet, responded to this review

Dear Janet G., we are delighted to read that our restaurant more than lived up to your expectations for dinner, and that our restaurant is a good alternative when the Michelin star restaurant opposite our hotel is either full or closed. We do hope you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful Loire Valley! Christophe & Mieke Chabenat, proprietors More 

Coutances, France
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2016

We had an evening meal in this very attractive restaurant that is part of the Croix Blanche Hotel were we were staying overnight. The staff were professional and attentive. The tables were laid with crisp white linen table cloths and colored linen napkins, which added to the overall quality feel. Our two course meal was delicious, as were our glasses... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stevie50660
49590, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le Plantagenet, responded to this review

Dear Stevie50660, we do hope to see you before not too long! Thank you for your nice comment. The team at Le Plantagenêt More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Nice modern environment with relaxed atmosphere. 2 menus 23 and 34 euros. 34 euro menu has single options apart from dessert but there are choices on the 27 euro menu. They also offer both menus with wine for the entree, plat and dessert at 16 euro. The wine list is local and reasonably priced for the level of establishment. Food... More 

Helpful?
Thank meraud
49590, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le Plantagenet, responded to this review

Full marks for your detailed review which has been shared with all the staff, thank you! More 

Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2016

We arrived without a reservation just as they began to seat a party of, I would say, twenty or twenty five people. We were greeted warmly and given a table outside on a warm summer evening. The service was attentive, friendly, good humoured and the food was simply excellent. We will return to Fontevreaud and will return to Le Plantagenet.... More 

Helpful?
Thank dukpond
49590, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le Plantagenet, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review - indeed almost all our British guests are very satisfied with our restaurant More 

Greystones, Ireland
Level Contributor
133 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

Lunch outside was great. You needed reservations inside but outside was fine. It was very busy so service was a little slow but that was fine because the town square was very relaxing. The food was beautifully presented and tasted out of this world. I would defo visit again.

Helpful?
Thank saeb38
49590, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le Plantagenet, responded to this review

Merci for your review - when may we welcome you back please? More 

Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Nice Restaurant in the heart of the Village. Good food and the staff were accommodating of our little French language.

Helpful?
Thank Wendy H
49590, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le Plantagenet, responded to this review

Bonjour, Wendy, your short but to the point review is much appreciated! Mieke, proprietor More 

Bungay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Classic French cuisine, beautifully cooked and gracefully served. The €27 Euro menu - three courses plus amuse-bouche - was more than you could expect at the price.

Helpful?
Thank Ortsag
49590, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le Plantagenet, responded to this review

Dear Ortsag, your compliments and excellent mark are much appreciated! Best regards, Mieke Chabenat More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2016

Thought this would be a great experience based on reviews. Food was good if somewhat overpriced. But the service was truly terrible, rude and ignorant waiting staff. Waited ages to be served or asked for drinks - felt attitude was poor as we were English..very disappointing - Avoid..

Helpful?
Thank paulbayliss11
49590, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le Plantagenet, responded to this review

I absolutely do NOT agree with the fact that British guests are not treated correctly because they are British - I'm the proprietor and English too! I hesitated for a long time to even reply to this review, but here goes: Bonjour Bayliss family, you booked a table for 9 guests during the bank holiday weekend. We did everything we... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

Great location in the main village square. Food was very good but expensive. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Unfortunately we seemed to be forgotten at times.

Helpful?
Thank Dinesh T
49590, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le Plantagenet, responded to this review

We are sorry to read that the service did not live up to your expectations, we do apologise. Regarding the prices of food (we suggest 2, 3 and 4 course menus as well as à la carte selections): all dishes and their prices are visible at each restaurant entrance. Difficult to comment on your expecations as we do not have... More 

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Le Plantagenet also viewed

Fontevraud-l'Abbaye, Maine et Loire
Fontevraud-l'Abbaye, Maine et Loire
 
Fontevraud-l'Abbaye, Maine et Loire
Fontevraud-l'Abbaye, Maine et Loire
 

Been to Restaurant Le Plantagenet? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 21 - US$ 49
Cuisine
French, European, Gastropub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Highchairs Available
Good for
Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 14:00
19:00 - 20:30
Monday
12:00 - 14:00
19:00 - 20:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:00
19:00 - 20:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:00
19:00 - 20:30
Thursday
12:00 - 14:00
19:00 - 20:30
Friday
12:00 - 14:00
19:00 - 20:30
Saturday
12:00 - 14:00
19:00 - 20:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 5 Place des Plantagenets, 49590 Fontevraud-l'Abbaye, France
  • Location: Europe  >  France  >  Pays de la Loire  >  Maine et Loire  >  Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
  • Phone Number: +33 2 41 51 71 11

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Restaurant Le Plantagenet staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?