We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Restaurant La Couronne

Certificate of Excellence
₹₹₹₹
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
31 Place du Vieux Marche, 76000, Rouen, France
+33 2 35 71 40 90
Website
Today
10:00 - 16:30
18:00 - 00:00
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 - 16:30
18:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

933 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 234: English reviews
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A fascinating exterior and even more inside! Charming, warm and full of history. Most excellent service. Highly recommend and do go upstairs as more rooms and walls full of famous people sign photographs. want to go again ..

Helpful?
Thank vikingo47
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This had been on my list from the moment we began planning our two week trip. I have a nostalgic attachment to anything Julia Child, and any place that has been around for several hundred years must be doing something right! It's a beautiful place in a very easy location, and we were greeted warmly and felt right at home... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
SachaCauvin, Responsable relations clients at Restaurant La Couronne, responded to this review

Good afternoon Kelly M. Thank you very much for taking the time to write down your review, that i will certainly share with our front of house team. It is true that we have had a very, very busy weekend, that all started on the wednesday night with the Beaujolais Nouveau celebrations.We do apologise that we were understaffed on that... More 

Kohler, WI
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

We were not actually inside the restaurant but had drinks and enjoyed the culture from the outdoor tables on the Market Place. Service was good and the staff friendly.

Helpful?
Thank sccwife
SachaCauvin, Responsable relations publiques at Restaurant La Couronne, responded to this review

Good afternoon sccwife. Thank you for your short comment. I am glad to read that you enjoyed our small terrace in front of the Joan of Arc church. Thank you for underlining the friendliness of our front of house staff. Maybe next time for Lunch? Kind regards, More 

Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

A lovely ambience with great food. We were a little concerned it would be a bit stuffy but the staff were lovely and very helpful. The food was tasty and everything was well matched. The portions were a good size that still allowed us to squeeze in the 3 courses offered on the impressionist menu. A very good evening

Helpful?
Thank Gill T
SachaCauvin, Responsable relations publiques at Restaurant La Couronne, responded to this review

Good afternoon Gill T. I am very pleased to read that you have enjoyed the dishes from our popular Impressionnist Menu. It has just changed to reflect the start of the Autumn-winter season as our chef works with fresh seasonal products. Thank you also for the note you have given us. Kind regards, More 

Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2016

Service was superb, the food was perfect, advice from the sommelier was spot-on. All in all a lovely, if very indulgent evening. Slow food at its best.

Helpful?
Thank Roger N
SachaCauvin, Responsable relations publiques at Restaurant La Couronne, responded to this review

Good afternoon Roger N. Thank you for your kind comments that i will share with our restaurant team. We hope to see you again for another cosy dinner. Kind regrads, More 

Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

We came here just for the pressed duck and it didn't live up to its hype! I give it a star for the entertainment for breaking down the whole duck in front of us but taste wise----It didn't meet our expectation. The sauce (duck juices, red wine, broth, salt & pepper) was so rich it looked like chocolate sauce and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Liz L
Bucks England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2016

Menu read well and I remembered having a good evening here several years ago, so we booked a table for two. Restaurant was not busy but service was slow and waiters were stuffy. Starters were fine (foie gras and salmon) as no cooking required but the main courses were very disappointing. We both wanted John Dory but were told it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Grifo
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

Extremely lovely building. Slightly formal dining with more formal service than others we visited. It was the only place that offered gluten free bread. Wide range of excellently prepared food but very large portions (especially the beef). Various menus offered in differing price ranges. Only shock was 7 euro coffee at the end. Suggest you forget that and buy it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vivien L
SachaCauvin, Responsable relations clients at Restaurant La Couronne, responded to this review

Good afternoon Vivien L. Thank you very much for your comments a bout la Couronne, i will certainly share them with our teams. You mention Gluten Free Bread, our head chef caters for all kinds of food restrictions, i am glad he made your experience better. Thank you for the note you have give, us. Kind regards, More 

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
217 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2016

We visited this quaint restaurant, the oldest Inn in France, for afternoon tea while on our Uniworld River Cruise. We had one of their specialties, Apple Pie, with lashings of cream. The food and hospitality was excellent! The building is worth a visit alone, the walls are lined with autographed photos of all the famous visitors over the years, very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jude D
SachaCauvin, Responsable relations clients at Restaurant La Couronne, responded to this review

Good afternoon Jude D. Thank you for reviewing la Couronne. We do indeed cater for cruises for an afternoon tea with traditional apple pies, especially the River Cruise. this is for us a brand new tourism trend and a large one nowdays. All the river Seine banks have been re-thought and re-built (with new cafés and shops too), it is... More 

alltech@elivefree.net
Level Contributor
187 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2016

Arrived in Rouen late in the evening and straight away went looking for somewhere to eat. Place looked classy and was michelin recommended so decided to give it a try. Great choice. Amazing food, wonderful execution and presentation and fabulous array of taste sensations created a wondeful dining experience. Coupled with the attentiveness of the waiting staff made us feel... More 

Helpful?
Thank iseult

Travellers who viewed Restaurant La Couronne also viewed

Rouen, Seine-Maritime
Rouen, Seine-Maritime
 
Rouen, Seine-Maritime
Rouen, Seine-Maritime
 

Been to Restaurant La Couronne? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 26 - US$ 79
Cuisine
French
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Free Wifi, Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Visa
Good for
Romantic, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 16:30
18:00 - 00:00
Monday
10:00 - 16:30
18:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 16:30
18:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 16:30
18:00 - 00:00
Thursday
10:00 - 16:30
18:00 - 00:00
Friday
10:00 - 16:30
18:00 - 00:00
Saturday
10:00 - 16:30
18:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 31 Place du Vieux Marche, 76000, Rouen, France
  • Location: Europe  >  France  >  Normandy  >  Haute-Normandie  >  Seine-Maritime  >  Rouen
  • Phone Number: +33 2 35 71 40 90

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Restaurant La Couronne and other visitors
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Restaurant La Couronne staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?