We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Slug and Lettuce

₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Ground Floor, Heron House | Albert Square, Manchester M2 5HD, England
+44 161 839 3604
Website
Today
09:00 - 01:00
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 09:00 - 22:30
Mon - Thu 09:00 - 23:00
Fri 09:00 - 00:00
Sat 09:00 - 01:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

234 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 228: English reviews
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Good and reasonably priced food. Ate the sea platter and was really satisfied. Plenty of choice, vegetarian options as well. The desserts were really tasty as well. Our waiter was attentive. Music was a bit too loud.

Helpful?
Thank Hampiainen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Goodshit place mate, good drinks and good music lad. Recommend for all the homies out there looking for a good tome.

Helpful?
Thank Jón Tómas R
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I have been here with my girlfriend a few times for lunch and we thoroughly enjoyed the place. Sitting out on summer months is a must for us and this restaurant offer this option to our pleasure. The food is average as well as the service but the atmosphere is fantastic. Not too expensive so well worth the visit. Views... More 

Helpful?
Thank Spyros K
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Upon initially walking in me and my misses wasn't greeted until we began to walk over to a table we had chosen ourselves, we were then offered drinks (the only thing that they did right) When the drinkers arrived our order was taken 3 staters and 2 mains, the starters were lovely and I have no complaints here, however when... More 

Helpful?
Thank Reece O
Manchester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Absolute value for money, food superb topped off with delicious 2 for 1 cocktails, although busy staff had the time to give excellent service. Highly recommend to anyone visiting Manchester.

Helpful?
Thank myjoelly
Hebden Bridge
Level Contributor
208 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited Monday lunchtime and found it surprisingly busy. Good welcome from staff and served quite quickly. I enjoyed my lasagne and my other half her salmon on a bed of salad. Added bonus was that there was 50% off all food on Mondays so it was even better value!

Helpful?
Thank RP-HebdenBridge
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came here for a meal while Christmas market was on, was very busy inside and very noisy. Food was beautiful and cocktails even better!

Helpful?
Thank becgomm
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just returned from a lovely meal here. Staff very attentive drinks served quickly food order taken. Food arrived within a short time All food cooked to perfection (grilled chicken burger beautiful ) came with skinny fries very tasty all for 8.99 add two pots of tea (2.15 ech ) lovely meal for just over 10 quid. Would definitely eat here... More 

Helpful?
Thank keylu
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We walked in off the street without a booking and we were happily shown a table and the waitress was very friendly and quick to come over and take our drink and food orders. We ordered the 2-for-1 cocktails which came within ten minutes and the half-price Monday meals quickly followed. The food looked good and and The only slight... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joseph H
SlugAlbertSq, Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback, it's really important to us to know what you are loving and if there's something we are missing. I'll feed it back to the team as I know they will be disappointed, but it's a constructive point that needs an address. We hope that we do see you again More 

Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Starters took over 30 minutes to arrive, half of the ingredients were missing for the nachos sharing platter... on enquiring about the missing salsa and small offering of four japelenos we were told they were sold out... we had been given none of this information before ordering. Immediately after starters were cleared we were asked if we were ready for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Welshy_girl85
SlugAlbertSq, Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this review

We're really sorry that we didn't deliver your service to our usual high standards. You caught us on a day that we literally got caught out and did double the covers we anticipated. It's not often that we get caught off-guard to such a degree and we're really disappointed that you were disappointed too. More 

Travellers who viewed The Slug and Lettuce also viewed

 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Slug and Lettuce? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 7 - US$ 15
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Groups, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 22:30
Monday
09:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 23:00
Thursday
09:00 - 23:00
Friday
09:00 - 00:00
Saturday
09:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Ground Floor, Heron House | Albert Square, Manchester M2 5HD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater Manchester  >  Manchester
  • Phone Number: +44 161 839 3604

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Slug and Lettuce staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?