We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cumberland

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Thorne Road, Doncaster DN2 5AA, England
+44 1302 360000
Website
Today
11:00 - 22:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

212 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 212: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Ordered the tuna melt....stone cold with unmelted cheese on it...The bread tasted like they had used it to mop the worktops down with it before service...never tasted detol but reckon it's something like this....then asked of they could make another one....politely declined

Review collected in partnership with Greene King

Helpful?
Thank paul_griffo77
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The old lady behind the bar was very rude , we had to sit at a dirty table as most of the table had not been cleared although the place was not busy . Ordered meals to be told they don't have that .... all in all very poor would not recommend. I know if I was the owner of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jon P
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visit here often on a Sunday evening for the steak dishes and they've never failed to impress! Great value for money! Usually leave it until later on as on nice days the queues for the bar can be a pain! Would definitely recommend!

Helpful?
Thank uksupasue
TeamCumberland, General Manager at Cumberland, responded to this review

Thank You for taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your Steaks and hope that we will see you again in the near future. More 

1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Manners from the manager was a joke he was very rude nasty and angey and refused to give me a refund for the meals as they was wrong

Review collected in partnership with Greene King

Helpful?
Thank S3275CPcarlab
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We paid to park and went into the Cumberland for a drink and some lunch. When we walked in we were greeted by an overwhelming smell of the toilets. We ordered 2 drinks and moved towards a fresher smelling area. Nearly all the tables had reserved notes on them with the tables being reserved from 5.30pm it was half 12... More 

Helpful?
Thank sued1964
Yorks
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

Called in here whilst visiting a relative in hospital. It was very busy and struggled to find a table. Got seated and Ordered drinks at the bar. The menus were all sticky and stuck together which concerned us about the Cleanliness. We then ordered our meals including 2 kids meals. Ten minutes later we were told by the waiter that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vulcan Reviews O
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

Had 4 not so great experiences at The Cumberland now, most recently I ordered the new Easter desert which contains a "Cadbury" Easter egg; I'm pretty sure the egg was not Cadbury as the style of the shell was cracked like a Nestle one, it also contained cheap poor quality ice cream, which at £6 for the desert I find... More 

Helpful?
Thank amyycupcake
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2017

Poor service, mediocre food, all offers seem to have a catch which means you can't use it but most of the staff friendly

Review collected in partnership with Greene King

Helpful?
Thank P2162JOdavidl
San Francisco
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2017

First of all myself and my partner had just returned from hospital to enjoy a meal to take away the stress of the ordeal we had just endeavored, however this was not the case at all we found what we thought was a nice quiet corner in the over 18s area as we did not want disturbing by volume and... More 

Review collected in partnership with Greene King

Helpful?
Thank X9372BU
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2017

Look on the website,there are almost daily dealsin terms of drinks and food.We have eaten there several times it isnt spectacular but that isnt the aim as far as i can see.its a good local pub in a nice setting with an outside garden.THE PERSISTENT ISSUE IS YOU FO THRERE AND THERE ARE QUEUES AS ONLY 2 SERVING--IT JUST NEEDS... More 

Helpful?
Thank David W

Travellers who viewed Cumberland also viewed

Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Goole, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Cumberland? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Cash Only, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:00
Monday
11:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 22:00
Thursday
11:00 - 22:00
Friday
11:00 - 22:00
Saturday
11:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Thorne Road, Doncaster DN2 5AA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  South Yorkshire  >  Doncaster
  • Phone Number: +44 1302 360000
Description
This restuarent is now part of the Hungry Horse Chain

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cumberland staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?