We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Running Horse Harvester

Chatham Road | Sandling, Maidstone ME14 3AG, England
+44 1622 752975
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent19%
  • Very good21%
  • Average19%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible27%
Travellers talk about
“refill drinks” (7 reviews)
“family meal” (11 reviews)
Open Now
9:00 AM - 10:00 PM Hours
CUISINES
British, Grill, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Chatham Road | Sandling, Maidstone ME14 3AG, England
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (566)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 566 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

If I could rate it nothing I would.. staff have a terrible attitude. I ordered spicy corn & mozzarella bites for my starter and when it turned up I bit into it only to find that they were not what I ordered but they were...More

Thank Thia M
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Wanted s quick steak and chips and this place delivered. Was in and out in 45 mins so good service. Steak was a bit tough for medium but was pleasant enough. Good smiley face from wAitress. Note to fella on front desk, please please please...More

Thank Paul N
General Manager A, Manager at The Running Horse Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank your for your honest feedback Paul! Note taken for the comment on calling people ‘guys’ have you got any suggestions!? Would apprieciate it! Again thank you for this review!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited about 6pm on a Tuesday night so not particularly busy but what a mess of a meal. Firstly we had to wait 10 mins for anyone to acknowledge us and be seated then as soon we had sat the lady told us they...More

Thank emma_louise028
General Manager A, Manager at The Running Horse Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for bringing this matter to our attention. We would like to get more details about this; please reach out to us at your earliest convenience at 01622 752975.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I’m not normally one for posting reviews, but what a lovely family meal we have just had at the running horse. Really surprised as our local harvester is terrible. Food lovely, restaurant nice and clean, waitress very nice and efficient and not one complaint to...More

Thank Vicky F
General Manager A, Manager at The Running Horse Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Vicky F, thank you for your kind words and this wonderful review!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Never a good start to be ignored when you enter a restaurant, firstly there isn’t a clearly identifiable hosting desk and whilst waitresses walked past ignoring us we were only acknowledged when a gentlemen completing paperwork on a nearby table decided to finish what he...More

1  Thank Nsilverstar
General Manager A, Manager at The Running Horse Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Nsilverstar, we're disappointed to hear of the negative experience you had at our location.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went for lunchtime meal with 2 under 2's. Staff very patient, highchairs available and good child menu. Good prices and good service. Only downside is limited parking.

Thank lou2022
General Manager A, Manager at The Running Horse Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We appreciate your positive review about your recent experience with us!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We use to go there often many years ago then gone downhill then we thought try it again as had renovations etc ! Well salad bar had less choice , had to ask if they will top up as some of them was almost gone...More

1  Thank mirage21
General Manager A, Manager at The Running Horse Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Mirage21, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We are disappointed to hear that you are not satisfied with your visit. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will use your comments to refine our...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Came to eat here one Saturday lunchtime as it always seems so busy, which we took as a good sign. We were not disappointed - we were seated quickly and the waitress was fabulous, even reading the menu out to me, as I had left...More

Thank Injadog
General Manager A, Manager at The Running Horse Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi, thank you so much for your positive comments about The Running Horse, Sandling!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Reserved online got there and parked and in the restaurant and seated so far so good! Salad was nice though labels so you you knew what you were putting in your bowl would be handy... Main courses..... 8oz Rump Steaks Blue and Rare so should...More

1  Thank Neil M
General Manager A, Manager at The Running Horse Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Neil M, we're disappointed to hear of the negative experience you had at our location.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Pleasant venue. Staff friendly. Food no problems at all. Good choice of refill drinks. Waitress very friendly

Thank Steve M
General Manager A, Manager at The Running Horse Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Steve M, we are glad we could help!

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 17 hotels in Maidstone
Premier Inn Maidstone (Sandling) Hotel
447 reviews
.58 km away
Premier Inn Maidstone (Leybourne) Hotel
275 reviews
1.09 km away
Premier Inn Maidstone (Allington) Hotel
435 reviews
1.92 km away
Village Hotel Maidstone
2,040 reviews
1.97 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Yew Tree Inn
472 reviews
.51 km away
Cobtree Manor Park Cafe
46 reviews
1.36 km away
The Little Old Toll House
31 reviews
.79 km away
Grind Coffee House
12 reviews
1.48 km away
Nearby Attractions
Southern Segway Day Tours
285 reviews
1.09 km away
Cobtree Manor Park
312 reviews
.98 km away
Kent Owl Academy
60 reviews
.62 km away
Kent Life
645 reviews
.67 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Mammamia47
29 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Lavania1407 | Reviewed this property |
Try checking vouchercloud for offers which occasionally come up - usually can display a code on your phone for a discount or offer. Also if you register to use wifi on your phone in a branch with your details you will get... More
0
Votes
riverofstardust
20 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from General Manager A | Property representative |
Hello yes we do have a bar as well as a restaurant
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 6 - US$ 21
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Chatham Road | Sandling, Maidstone ME14 3AG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Maidstone
  • Phone Number: +44 1622 752975
Description
At The Running Horse Harvester in Maidstone food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.About our Harvester restaurantIf you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Maidstone, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to Sandling, Allington and Penenden Heath, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing