We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Tickled Trout Restaurant

₹₹ - ₹₹₹, British,
Smiths Hall Lower Road | West Farleigh, Maidstone ME15 0PE, England
+44 1622 814717
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent39%
  • Very good21%
  • Average18%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“trout” (18 reviews)
“torte” (3 reviews)
Open Now
8:00 AM - 10:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
LOCATION
Smiths Hall Lower Road | West Farleigh, Maidstone ME15 0PE, England
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Great food , real roast beef and excellent freshly cooked veg. Attention of the staff was just right. Made a last min booking so sat in the bar area which was fine will definitely go back

Thank Lynn H
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Stopped by for Sunday lunch we recommend by friends. Good value menu and the food was great, especially the scotch egg. Staff we’re friendly and really enjoyed our visit.

Thank Markandnige
A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Evening meal and breakfast was delicious. Staff so welcoming and friendly throughout my stay. Will certainly return.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

As a local, I agree with other reviewers that a) we want the TT to work and b) the service and food is inconsistent A 40 minutes wait for lunch today was apparently due to the “food being cooked from fresh” when 4 other tables...More

1  Thank Bxter
Reviewed 1 week ago

As a West Farleigh resident, I’ve witnessed the various guises and fluctuating fortunes of the TT over the years, and I speak from the perspective of a local. While the acquisition and refurbishment by Hush Heath was a welcome development, it is now well into...More

1  Thank Alan K
TickledT, Manager at The Tickled Trout Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. As a valued regular we are disappointed that we could not discuss your feedback in person. We have taken your feedback on board and will discuss with you on your next visit. Many thanks

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent food , service good,friendly staff, Good wines,food was presented very well ,hope they alway keep it up would like to take friends there,

1  Thank Mary W
TickledT, Manager at The Tickled Trout Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you were so impressed and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at the Tickled Trout as we were attending a wedding in the area, BRILLIANT. A FABULOUS Country pub with boutique rooms, decorated to a very high ‘spec’ and all the facilities in the room you need, phoned to request iron and ironing board and...More

Thank V5588FMjoyceh
TickledT, Manager at The Tickled Trout Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your 5* review. We are delighted that you were so impressed and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Reviewed 22 November 2017 via mobile

Had a fiftieth birthday to go to three miles away. Stayed here at the pub as they have a few rooms upstair. And what a little gem it is the rooms, staff, food and drink are perfect. We had bar food rather than a meal...More

Thank jameselee2016
TickledT, Manager at The Tickled Trout Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and were so impressed with the rooms, food and our fabulous staff. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

Stopped on the off chance. Very friendly staff and very well presented venue since the refit. Today opted for Beef Wellington on the Specials Board....initially a bit hesitant over the £28 price tag but how wrong was I. It was just absolutely sublime. The best...More

Thank Simon D
TickledT, Manager at The Tickled Trout Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Tickled Trout. We are delighted that you were so impressed and look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Reviewed 5 November 2017

Sunday at 6pm meal for four people. Lack of service, food was not a high standard as expected. Vegetables were over cooked giving the impression of being left over from earlier. Menu was limited as the roast had run out of beef and only one...More

2  Thank _graham545hall
TickledT, Manager at The Tickled Trout Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to the Tickled Trout. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your visit and found the service and food quality poor. I have discussed your feedback in detail with the manager and waiting staff...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 17 hotels in Maidstone
Premier Inn Maidstone (A26/Wateringbury) Hotel
390 reviews
2.12 km away
Oakwood House Hotel
359 reviews
4.02 km away
Grange Moor Hotel
383 reviews
4.35 km away
Premier Inn Maidstone Town Centre Hotel
738 reviews
5.01 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Horseshoes
612 reviews
2.63 km away
North Pole
245 reviews
2.69 km away
The Bull Inn East Farleigh
133 reviews
2.24 km away
Where Memories Meet
163 reviews
2.27 km away
Nearby Attractions
Teapot Island
239 reviews
3.77 km away
The King & Queen Bar
11 reviews
4.57 km away
Adventure Kidz
44 reviews
4.92 km away
The Spitfire
12 reviews
4.47 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Tickled Trout Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$ 7 - US$ 48
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Smiths Hall Lower Road | West Farleigh, Maidstone ME15 0PE, England (Formerly The Chequers)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Maidstone
  • Phone Number: +44 1622 814717
  • E-mail
Description
The Tickled Trout, West Farleigh is a modern and stylish pub with 6 boutique hotel rooms and a fabulous fish themed restaurant with an Italian twist. It also features an impressive fresh wine and beer bar where our guests can eat or drink in a relaxed yet sophisticated environment. We are open 7 days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Like all our other venues, we pride ourselves on serving delicious wines, ciders and craft ales including those produced by our own winery Hush Heath Estate in nearby Staplehurst. Our beautiful boutique hotel rooms, with their own private entrance, are designed with comfort and luxury in mind and in the summer we open our sun filled deck and terrace 'al fresco' dining area which overlooks the large, landscaped garden, complete with children's play area. An outside bar complements this area and is a fantastic 'go-to' destination and meeting place to gather friends and family together.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing