We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hatch

₹₹ - ₹₹₹, British,
London Road | Old Basing, Basingstoke RG24 7JL, England
+44 1256 473077
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent37%
  • Very good27%
  • Average14%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“roast dinner” (7 reviews)
“beef” (9 reviews)
“family meal” (20 reviews)
Open Now
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Grill, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
London Road | Old Basing, Basingstoke RG24 7JL, England
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (664)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 663 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Meet my son and his partner to have a birthday lunch, not our first visit have been many times before. Unfortunately there are roadworks outside on the main road which are very noisy so, in order to enjoy a quiet lunch and catch up we...More

Thank Ken J
Sarah C, Manager at The Hatch, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear Ken J, Firstly I would like to thank you for your recent feedback regarding your visit to us on Tuesday. Secondly I would like to send my apologies for the inconvenience caused by the roadworks taking place outside of our restaurant. I will pass...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited the hatch (again) but this time there was four of us and my sister and her partner came and visited us for the weekend. My hubby and I have visited a few times and knew the food was delicious but never tried their roasts....More

Thank lisadrew82
Sarah C, Manager at The Hatch, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear Lisadrew82, Thank you for a fantastic feedback regarding your recent visits to us, also thank you for you continued custom. I will pass all of your feedback onto our kitchen team and also to our front of house team. We look forward to seeing...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived at lunchtime to a warm welcome and shown to our table. Jordan our waiter looked after us throughout our stay. I had the scampi,and my wife had the Asian salad. Both meals were very enjoyable. We would recommend this Chef & Brewer.

Thank Daphne A
Sarah C, Manager at The Hatch, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Daphne A, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to us. We are glad to hear that your enjoyed both of your meals. I will pass your comments onto the kitchen and also to Jordan. Kind Regards The Hatch Management

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

8 adults had lunch at The Hatch. We were all served together and the food was excellent and good portions. I have to say the best steak and wine pie to date, full of meat and excellent pastry. My wife had the lamb which was...More

Thank Bern C
Sarah C, Manager at The Hatch, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Bern c, Thank you for your kind feedback, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to us. I will make sure your feedback is passed back to both the kitchen and front of house team. We look forward to seeing you again...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely sunny day and knowing that this pub had a lovely garden we decided as a family to go and have a nice garden lunch. All the outside furniture has seen better days. Most of the patio was taken or in the sun so we...More

Thank Paul W
Sarah C, Manager at The Hatch, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Paul, I am sorry that you left us feeling so disappointed in us and that you feel you will no longer want to return to us. The explanation for the tables on the grass not being used for food, is due to that they...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent service by Jordan, second time we have visited in last year and he served us then and remembered us .So good to see young people serving with a real passion for satisfying customers with the highest standards . The food and choice was excellent...More

Thank 193dmt
Sarah C, Manager at The Hatch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi reviewer, I have passed this review onto Jordan who is so pleased with the review and the fact he was able to exceed your expectations on the level of service he gave. Thank you for leaving this great review and all the team are...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited with a party of 9 for a mid week lunch. We had to get our own menus and then waited quite a long time for a waiter to take our drinks order - we had already chosen our meals. Food also took a while...More

Thank Alison B
Sarah C, Manager at The Hatch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Alison, I'm so sorry to read about the below standard service you received from my team on this occasion. I will personally be looking into the day of your visit and work with the team to make sure we do not deliver this standard...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

not a lot to say really food was 100% service was 101% couldn't ask for more a lot better then the Miller & carter that has opened in BasingstokeMore

Review collected in partnership with Chef & Brewer
Thank Kino1966
Sarah C, Manager at The Hatch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Kino, Thank you for taking the time to leave this kind review. Thank you for acknowledging the great service given to you from my team, which has made you enjoy your visit to us. We hope to see you again soon in the near...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Party of 5 to celebrate a family birthday. Half of us had starters and main and some had puddings aswell. All of the dishes served were excellent. Staff were attentive. The last time we visited was July 2017 which was also great, nice to see...More

Thank mim449
Sarah C, Manager at The Hatch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Mim449, Thank you for taking the time to leave this kind review. We are all so pleased that we where able to make your visit to us a great experience for you and your guests. Its good to see that we have been able...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Food quality was high and attentive service. It was made even more enjoyable with our money off voucher!More

Review collected in partnership with Chef & Brewer
Thank bs21707
Sarah C, Manager at The Hatch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We are all so pleased that we where able to make your visit to us an enjoyable one for you all. Please keep an eye on our Facebook and web page for all...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 13 hotels in Basingstoke
Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel
819 reviews
2.66 km away
Crowne Plaza Basingstoke
101 reviews
2.68 km away
Holiday Inn Basingstoke
409 reviews
3.45 km away
Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke
435 reviews
3.60 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Gamekeepers
472 reviews
1.35 km away
The Bolton Arms
270 reviews
1.47 km away
The Crown at Old Basing
538 reviews
1.40 km away
Oliver's
307 reviews
.65 km away
Nearby Attractions
Andwell Brewing Company
7 reviews
1.57 km away
Pennybridge Farm Alpacas
69 reviews
1.82 km away
Basing House
85 reviews
2.05 km away
Basingstoke Country Hotel Spa
65 reviews
3.71 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Dropkicknm
10 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Sarah C | Property representative |
We do have some vegan options, they are served all day everyday.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Monday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: London Road | Old Basing, Basingstoke RG24 7JL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Basingstoke
  • Phone Number: +44 1256 473077
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing