We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sun Inn

₹₹ - ₹₹₹, British,
Winchester Rd A30, Basingstoke RG25 2DJ, England
+44 1256 397234
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent67%
  • Very good26%
  • Average5%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“ribs” (41 reviews)
“halibut” (10 reviews)
“tasting menu” (11 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Winchester Rd A30, Basingstoke RG25 2DJ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (621)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 620 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Visited The Sun Inn in the hope they had a table free, we were in luck. Usually the when we drive past the Pub is extremely busy. We had a drink at the bar and was shown to our table, there was also a table...More

Thank Simon H
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

On our latest trip to the U.K. we made a second visit to this gastro pub. It lived up to our expectations! Our party included a young child. An interesting Taster and Al A Carte were available. We decided to eat al a Carte and...More

1  Thank Ian T
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I’ve know about The Sun Inn for a fair while now, but have never visited until this week.. I wish that I had visited sooner! The atmosphere is very nice and the Inn doesn’t feel busy even when every table has customers. The waitress (Ellie)...More

1  Thank Dunks961
TheSunInnDummer, Manager at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for this great review and Ellie was extremely pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal and her service too. Hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went for the tasting menu this time around. Usually we have a great time at the Sun Inn but we were left feeling underwhelmed. Portions were really quite small (even for a tasting menu) so didn't feel like you were getting good value for...More

Thank Malie021
TheSunInnDummer, Manager at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking your time to review us. Glad to hear you have mentioned that you usually enjoy your food with us and sorry on this occasion you didn't. Our tasting menu is usually very popular and we receive great feedback from many customers...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

when we entered we were greeted warmly and looked forward to a very pleasant meal, unfortunately this was not the case, my wife and went for the Sunday roast my meal consisted of a small piece of chicken cup up to look bigger then it...More

Thank cus2mer219
TheSunInnDummer, Manager at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking your time to review us and I am really sorry you didn't enjoy your time with us. Our Sunday roast diners are very popular and enjoyed by a lot of customers so I feel disappointed you haven't experience the same. Everything...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After being told that this was a good place to eat, I ventured early evening Pleasant staff greeted, and we ordered partridge terrine as starters which was very tasty, but also very dry, and needed a chutney to be added. I had venison with crushed...More

1  Thank Adrian D
TheSunInnDummer, Manager at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. I am disappointed that on this occasion, we have not met your expectations. I can assure you that our food is served on hot plates as standard, however on this occasion may have not been. I am glad to hear...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Four of us travelled from afar - us from near Windsor - our friends from France. It's a nice pub. The menu had us salivating and what was delivered was well up to scratch. We ended up going the whole monty - 3 courses. Everything...More

Thank jw6969
A TripAdvisor Member
212
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent venue lovely food great service. Something a bit different great food definitely worth a visit!

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

So easy to see why the Sun Inn is still no. 1 in Basingstoke. Fantastic food and ambiance. Must come here more often.

1  Thank David F
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Group of 4 visited for a Friday lunch - We all had 4 different main meals and "puds", each was very tasty and well presented. The only gripe was with the triple cooked chips - I think they must have been quadruple cooked as they...More

1  Thank L P
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Queen Inn
314 reviews
1.01 km away
More of the Good Stuff
8 reviews
1.36 km away
wheatsheaf hotel
392 reviews
1.40 km away
Nearby Attractions
Dummer Golf Club
18 reviews
1.13 km away
Milestones Museum
952 reviews
7.13 km away
The Red Lion
31 reviews
7.22 km away
Manydown Family Fun
194 reviews
5.50 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
BruceK06
4 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from TheSunInnDummer | Property representative |
Hi Thank you for the enquiry. I would also recommend booking in advance for the weekend and Friday's. The rest of the week will be 99% of the time have room in the bar area.
0
Votes
cindykennedy11
27 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from airtravel | Reviewed this property |
Really can't remember but sure around the £15. good size portions
0
Votes
263mikeo
2 August 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from |
Hello, I cannot answer this question as such however there is a website link in the description section which, if you follow, will lead you to the menus where you can see for yourself. I hope this helps, Jakel386
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 13 - US$ 29
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Buffet, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Winchester Rd A30, Basingstoke RG25 2DJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Basingstoke
  • Phone Number: +44 1256 397234
  • E-mail
Description
The Sun Inn, situated in Dummer, South of Basingstoke, awarded 2 AA Rosette and Michelin Guide BIB Gourmand 2017 continues to go from strength to strength under the guidance of Head Chef Gordon Stott. Still only 25, Gordon is one of the youngest chefs in the country to run his own pub after taking over as Landlord and Head Chef in February 2012, where he is ably supported by a similarly young but experienced team. All produce is locally sourced, and food cooked fresh on the premises to order.Drinkers are catered for with a wide variety of high-quality ales, many of which are supplied by the local Triple fff Brewery.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing