We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Toby Carvery Bolton

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Crompton Way, Bolton BL1 8TJ, England (Formerly Toby carvery)
+44 1204 591798
Website
Today
08:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 08:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 08:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

265 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 264: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

went for lunch with two friends, lovely carvery and plenty of chose,nice dessert,but was over charged as the board outside was saying one price and we were charged more,we did see the manager and he returned the over payment and took the board away

Helpful?
Thank beehenry47
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Bolton, responded to this review

Sorry about the inconvenience caused Beehenry. Glad to see you still enjoyed your meal and dessert. Hope to see you again soon. More 

Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely roast, great staff but don't have the Eton mess unless you like a dish full of cream. We had one strawberry, a little bit of meringue and half a teaspoon of passion fruit. Looking at the photo on the menu is was nothing like. This is not a cheap sweet, Who wants a dish full of cream.....YUK

Helpful?
Thank Norma D
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Bolton, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us your feedback Norma. I will look at our desserts to make sure they are being made correctly with our kitchen team. Glad you enjoyed the rest of your visit though. More 

1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The food is always fresh and nice. The staff is friendly and helpful. I booked a table for 7 people. We got a really nice table and the booking was handled well. The chocolate fudge cake is incredibly nice ^_^ The building is beautiful.

Helpful?
Thank Viktória B
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Bolton, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review and feedback Viktoria. Glad you enjoyed the fudge cake too!! More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

Visited today with the other half. Pleasantly surprised with the food and amount of meat carved. Other carveries slice the meat paper thin. Not so here. Great service too. Will definately return.

Helpful?
Thank Shaz H
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Bolton, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Shaz, my team will be really happy to see your review. Glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon. More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2017

Went on my own to treat myself on my birthday, and boy did they doi me proud, especially a tall young lad, (new member of staff I believe). He was wonderful, even put a ballon on my table, the thought made the day for me. Wish I could remember his name to thank him personally.

Helpful?
Thank Mrs A A
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Bolton, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Mrs A, glad we made your day and glad you took the time out to leave us your feedback. I will pass your comments on to him. More 

Greater Manchester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

On Wednesday 15 March 2017 a close friend from work was transferring to Blackpool. So a group went for our tea at the Toby Carvery on Compton Way Astley Bridge Bolton. The large carvery portion was absolutely top quality. Anyone looking for a lovely atmosphere. Then look no further. This place is first class.

Helpful?
Thank Nigel F
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Bolton, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Nigel, glad you and your friends group enjoyed your visit with us. Hope they are settling into there new surroundings in Blackpool. More 

Horwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

I went to the toby carvery today (26/03/17) with my mum and stepdad and his kids. I did enjoy the meal with the large yorkshires and quality of meat... however the gravy?! The gravy looked more like brown muddy water! Whenever my bf and i make gravy we like it thick.... maybe make the gravy more thicker? Still a nice... More 

Helpful?
Thank Danielle L
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Bolton, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Danielle, sorry about your gravy, we like our gravy nice and thick too so sorry you where disappointed tonight with it. Glad you enjoyed the rest of your food and your visit though!! More 

Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

Beautiful food and the staff are more than happy to help. Beautiful building and amazing food will definitely go back

Helpful?
Thank njellyman
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Bolton, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. We really appreciate it and are glad you enjoyed your visit. More 

Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

We went for late dinner early tea quite chat. We were shown to a table with the remains of someone else's dinner all over the floor. Changed tables two foot away. So we chose our own table had to find someone to tell the chef we were ready to be served after standing there for ages. Then low and be... More 

Helpful?
Thank Annyoung1963
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Bolton, responded to this review

I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay on this occasion. Thank you for your feedback, we will try and learn from this when seating our guests. More 

Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Went here today with 6 other adults and 12 children. We had reserved our seats knowing how busy it gets. Most of the group ordered soft drinks (which are refillable) such as, Pepsi, Fanta and sprite. There is a drinks machine in the restaurant were you can refill as many times as possible. We all had the carvery option. Adults... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarahbwfc E
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Bolton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time out to review your visit on Sunday and thank you for your feedback. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Travellers who viewed Toby Carvery Bolton also viewed

Bolton, Greater Manchester
 
Bury, Greater Manchester
Bury, Greater Manchester
 
Bolton, Greater Manchester
Bolton, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Toby Carvery Bolton? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 8 - US$ 15
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Validated Parking
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 22:30
Monday
08:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 23:00
Thursday
08:00 - 23:00
Friday
08:00 - 23:00
Saturday
08:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Crompton Way, Bolton BL1 8TJ, England (Formerly Toby carvery)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater Manchester  >  Bolton
  • Phone Number: +44 1204 591798
Description
Welcome to the Toby Carvery Bolton. When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings – including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Lancashire’s favourite carvery restaurant. Drop by and you'll find lots more on offer, including cooked breakfasts and tasty specials.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Toby Carvery Bolton and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Toby Carvery Bolton staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?