We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Retreat Grill, Bar and Restaurant

₹₹ - ₹₹₹, British, International
319-321 Chorley New Road | 319 - 321 Chorley New Road, BL1 5BP, Bolton BL1 5BP, England
+44 1204 849313
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good28%
  • Average13%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (53 reviews)
“pizza” (39 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 - 22:30All hours
Bar, British, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
319-321 Chorley New Road | 319 - 321 Chorley New Road, BL1 5BP, Bolton BL1 5BP, England
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (621)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 621 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Went here for a meal for 8 and walked straight in no wait for a table. Ordered a couple drinks and a pizza to SHARE and paid £20! Would not go here again for what you get.

Thank dee p
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

4/10 I wouldn't rush back Had tons better and not the best service neither Drinks a little on top price as well Don't rush there to be disappointed

Thank Ramborambo1964
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Often come to the retreat for special occasions like birthdays and anniversaries. Best strawberry daiquiri ever! Foods always perfectly cooked (big fan of steak) and service is always friendly and attentive.

Thank Louise P
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had an enjoyable evening at Retreat. The food was appetising and the service excellent. With our Retreat card, it was remarkable value for money.

Thank 934sunitat
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have been very happy with the food and service on previous visits, but on this visit the soup arrived in a cold dish and was cold. The bread roll was dry. However as soon as it was mentioned to the server an apology was...More

Thank hobso
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were really looking forward to our first visit to the retreat in Bolton, with a couple of other couples. Bar service was good. The cocktails were good, but pricey at £15 quid for 2. The house wine by the bottle was around £19 so,...More

1  Thank 15Darren15
RetreatRestaurants, Manager at Retreat Grill, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Darren, I'm sorry you were disappointed with your visit to Retreat. The Morecambe Bay Mussels haven't been on the menu since May this year and I've double checked through the menus on our website and can't find a mention of them anywhere so I'm...More

Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

Came here to what the fuss is about, order the chicken skewers and fillet steak skewers............... Appalling and an insult to fillet steak!! Steak was Tuff, chewy and so hot it was blatantly microwaved, same with the chicken skewer, dryer than ghandi's flip flop and...More

3  Thank chefd8719
RetreatRestaurants, General Manager at Retreat Grill, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi, Thanks for the review. We couldn't disagree more with it but everyone is entitled to their own opinion. We do not microwave meat and we do not buy in pre-prepared meals unlike Wetherspoons. Every business is different in what they offer however we pride...More

Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

Lovely place poor food! My partner had the Sunday dinner but the beef was tough (nothing like the picture )and so were the potatoes and stuffing also some of us ordered nut roast only to be told 15 minutes later that there wasn't any! I...More

1  Thank malcolm m
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

Visited yesterday for lunch with my mum, teenage daughter and 9 year old niece after a few recommendations from friends. Didn't disappoint! Service was friendly, attentive but unobtrusive and the food was excellent and very reasonably priced. We all enjoyed ourselves and will be back!...More

1  Thank Helen01695
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

Lovely light lunch at retreat with friends. Lots of choices on the lunch menu prices reasonable. Nice ambience. Good service. Will Definitely return soon. 5 stars

Thank Gill L
Nearby Restaurants
The Coffee Shop at Heaton
34 reviews
.66 km away
53 reviews
1.26 km away
Victoria Inn
365 reviews
.87 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bolton Steam Museum
86 reviews
.90 km away
Queens Park
124 reviews
1.35 km away
Doffcocker Lodge
38 reviews
1.08 km away
25 reviews
1.11 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
12 April 2016|
Response from Donald T |
Click on their website and download the menu
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
12:00 - 21:30
12:00 - 21:30
12:00 - 21:30
12:00 - 21:30
12:00 - 21:30
12:00 - 22:30
12:00 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 319-321 Chorley New Road | 319 - 321 Chorley New Road, BL1 5BP, Bolton BL1 5BP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater Manchester  >  Bolton
  • Phone Number: +44 1204 849313
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing