We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hillside Inn

₹₹ - ₹₹₹, British,
Pound Hill Balcombe Road, Crawley RH10 7SX, England
+44 1293 880911
Website
Share
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent31%
  • Very good38%
  • Average17%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“pie” (30 reviews)
“pudding” (20 reviews)
“calamari” (7 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Pound Hill Balcombe Road, Crawley RH10 7SX, England
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (647)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 642 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Relaxing, friendly pub, walked here for a beer to finish off a day at the seaside, had a plate of dough sticks......very tasty!

Thank Tamby B
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Such poor service, staff are so rude! Food was really cold and salad was wilted and almost rotten. Pizza uncooked, cutlery was stored under a tree so hygiene was poor. Food was served at different times, all orderd together. I can't believe this pub is...More

1  Thank alaynashelley28
General Manager A, Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Alaynashelley28, we can assure you that we do not find this type of behavior acceptable, and we would like to address the situation you have described. i have spoken personally to all my team and am shocked by the way you were treated. We...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I am normally not one to complain to staff and least of all on a website such as trip advisor. However, after visiting The Hillside on Sunday afternoon I have been left so disappointed by the experience that I feel the review is necessary. Let...More

3  Thank Christie-Lee D
General Manager A, Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Christie-lee D, we're disappointed to hear of the negative experience you had at the Hillside. I'm very dissapointed with the level of service you recieved and i have already discussed this with the team who were working and the manager on duty. In regards to...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had such a brilliant time at the Hillside last night. Not been there for a while, but we will definitely be going back. The food as superb and it really looked "home cooked". It was very good value for money. The staff and Manager were...More

Thank MrsDigs73
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

On arrival no one to greet you, then got ignored. But once got seated service seemed better. Food was a bit hit and miss some good some tough. Nice decor but doubt will be rushing back.

1  Thank Fatdome
General Manager A, Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Fatdome, we're disappointed to hear of the negative experience you had at our location. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we can improve. We hope you will consider us again in the future. Take care.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had lunch today .They need more staff as only 2 guys running round like headless chickens.waited long time for our drink and then food got ordered eventually...Food was ok though. Man serving was quite amusing charactor very jokey. Just need more of them as it...More

2  Thank dippyjoy
General Manager A, Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We appreciate all reviews, and appreciate you giving us the chance to improve by providing us with this feedback. Unfortunatley a member of the team had gone ill and with such short notice we couldn't get cover. Sorry that this affected your time with us

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited for lunch on Friday, the sun was out & the place was packed inside & out. The staff where working so hard in hot conditions. There was obviously a longer wait for food than normal, due to sheer numbers. Our food arrived, fish finger...More

Thank DQBY
General Manager A, Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dqby, we are so happy to read such a great review about The Hillside Inn! Please let us know if there is anything else we can do for you; we are more than happy to help!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The service was appalling, rude even. We popped in for lunch on Friday and waited 50 mins for three sandwiches to be served (which made us late back to work!). The fish fingers were cold and the chef need sacking if he thinks tartare sauce...More

1  Thank Joanne A
General Manager A, Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Joanne A, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We are disappointed to hear that you are not satisfied with your visit.I have passed your comments onto our kitchen team in ensuring we have the correct ingredients...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I visited here with my partner and the decor was lovely, the food was good however there is one staff member, a tall male working behind the bar who made the whole experience utterly uncomfortable. He was extremely rude and seemed to think insulting my...More

Thank Leanne V
General Manager A, Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Leanne V, we can assure you that we do not find this type of behavior acceptable, and we would like to address the situation you have described. I have personally spoken to this member of team you have described and i'm sorry it tainted...More

Reviewed 16 April 2018

Manager Cath, organised an excellent buffet from a good selection of starters, mains and side dishes that we had earlier selected to accomodate both vegetarians and meateaters. Amongst the varied dishes crispy calamari and mushrooms in garlic and cheese sauce went down a treat with...More

Thank Jenni M
General Manager A, Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Jenni M, we are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience! I'm glad that we served such a great experience for all your guests. I've also passed your comments on to the team as well. Thank you again for leaving...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 28 hotels in Crawley
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
1,293 reviews
.86 km away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
190 reviews
1.45 km away
Europa Gatwick Hotel
3,002 reviews
1.48 km away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
1,944 reviews
1.64 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Real Barbecue and Bar
230 reviews
1.07 km away
Coaching Halt
698 reviews
1.25 km away
Kims Kitchen
29 reviews
1.33 km away
Nearby Attractions
Tilgate Park
1,069 reviews
3.39 km away
The Hawth
191 reviews
2.04 km away
Crawley Memorial Gardens
111 reviews
2.32 km away
Worth Park
34 reviews
.85 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
CrawleyFoodie
1 May 2018|
Answer
Response from MrsDigs73 | Reviewed this property |
Yes it was. Really lovely man, so polite and a fab sense of humour. Said he was the manager
0
Votes
susieh109
13 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Gill R | Reviewed this property |
You can definatley walk probably 15 to 20 minutes. Will ve well worth it. Portions are large so always good to wslk it off, enjoy
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Pound Hill Balcombe Road, Crawley RH10 7SX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  Crawley
  • Phone Number: +44 1293 880911
Description
The Hillside Inn in Crawley is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;