We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Clock Warehouse

₹₹ - ₹₹₹, British,
London Road | Shardlow, Derby DE72 2GL, England
+44 1332 650556
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good28%
  • Average17%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“mixed grill” (7 reviews)
“steak pie” (2 reviews)
“cod” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
LOCATION
London Road | Shardlow, Derby DE72 2GL, England
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 129 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

I've just got back from this pub, it's even worse than I remember. The staff were shocking. We had the table shown on the add for this pub it moves about. I had the so called King Prawns I've seen bigger Ants. My wife had...More

Thank Paul D
Reviewed 5 days ago

Really enjoyed the meal my family and I had here. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the food served in good time. Will certainly return in future, my only minor complaint was that the sauces provided are extremely small portions, I noticed that...More

Thank DrStephen11
Reviewed 6 days ago

Lunch with hubby and friend fantastic setting by the waterfront fabulous food had the lunch special will deffo go back for dinner well decorated pub recommend a visit if in the area

Thank Jan189
MatthewDeans, General Manager at The Clock Warehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for giving us a perfect rating. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit! We hope to welcome you back to the restaurant in the near future.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Having been to Elvaston Castle for the Woodland Fair we called in for lunch and pleased we did. The service was good and so was the Sunday Roast - as well as being very good taste wise you certainly won't disappointed in portion size. Parts...More

Thank Alan R
MatthewDeans, General Manager at The Clock Warehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for choosing our restaurant and I am glad to hear that you really enjoyed our food and service! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have been coming here since before I can remember! my mum worked here when she was growing up too! firstly - this is such a beautiful pub in an amazing setting! in the summer being able to sit by the river is perfect! secondly...More

Thank hmoore90
MatthewDeans, General Manager at The Clock Warehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for your kind review! We truly appreciate your kind words about our staff. It's definitely a boost for us every time we hear positive reviews such as this. We will be sure to let our staff that they made an impact during your...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Clock Warehouse is located in a lovely setting just by the waterfront, a romantic beautiful location. It has just had a well executed makeover. The welcome was fine, we bought a round of drinks and then made our way to our table (some of...More

Thank D H
MatthewDeans, General Manager at The Clock Warehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We have passed​ on your feedback to the personnel concerned. I apologize for this bad experience. This is very disappointing to hear, but we hope you give us another chance to make it...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is the most stunning setting for a pub and equally as beautiful in winter as in summer. However, food tried to be a bit too fancy for standard pub grub and can't really cut it. The prawn cocktail was a load of prawns which...More

Thank derbygirl1985
MatthewDeans, General Manager at The Clock Warehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Sorry to hear your visit wasn't good. The issues are not acceptable and not up to the standard I expect so accept mine​ apologises. I will discuss the issues raised with all the senior team, front and back of house team to ensure they don't...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I regularly use this place either for a quick drink or food. The setting is fantastic in the summer, next to the canal. The food and drink selection are excellent and the staff are very warm and welcoming. Would recommend anyone pop...More

Thank Marc H
MatthewDeans, General Manager at The Clock Warehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for your review and for choosing our restaurant. I'm happy that you enjoyed your visit and I'm looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The problem with this place is that I cannot order anything else except the vegetarian burger... why... cause its absolutely gorgeous. I cannot wait to go back again and order the same thing Im drooling thinking about it now. YUM.

Thank devil_trouble
MatthewDeans, General Manager at The Clock Warehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and for choosing our restaurant. I'm happy that you enjoyed our vegetarian​ burger and we are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A large pub alongside a river/canal, lovely location. Ordered drinks and food. Red wine served chilled. Returned and replaced with white wine, all the red wine was the same temperature. Apparently the building is cold at night. Food was served, but on cold plates and...More

1  Thank Doug R
MatthewDeans, General Manager at The Clock Warehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We have passed​ on your feedback to the personnel concerned. I apologize for this bad experience. This is very disappointing to hear, but we hope you give us another chance to make it...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Malt Shovel
96 reviews
.40 km away
New Inn
170 reviews
.50 km away
Navigation Inn Shardlow
157 reviews
.22 km away
Golden Dragon
116 reviews
.73 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Draycott Tap House
15 reviews
2.97 km away
Elvaston Castle
268 reviews
4.26 km away
Download Rock Festival
61 reviews
4.88 km away
The Chequered Flag
37 reviews
2.94 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
fiona_todd74
20 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from MatthewDeans | Property representative |
Of course, you are more than welcome to enjoy our food and beer in our garden.
2
Votes
Adam N
4 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from MatthewDeans | Property representative |
Hi, yes our restaurant is suitable for disabled and you can book table online on our website or over the phone.
0
Votes
Neil P
13 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from MatthewDeans | Property representative |
Hi, no we don't have indoor or outdoor play area.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$ 7 - US$ 20
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, View, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 AM - 10:30 PM
Monday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: London Road | Shardlow, Derby DE72 2GL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Derbyshire  >  Derby
  • Phone Number: +44 1332 650556
  • E-mail
Description
The Clock Warehouse, situated in what is considered to be Britain's most complete surviving example of a canal village, is now open after a major renovation. Visit us and sample our food menu in new surroundings! We offer a wide range of delicious meals from bar snacks, sandwiches and sizzling steaks, through to a full home-made Sunday roast (best accompanied by a pint of one of our ales!). Real Ale and delicious food in a charming pub! We look forward to welcoming you soon.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing