We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Kestrel

) #129 of 336 Restaurants in Harrogate ₹₹ - ₹₹₹ , British,
Wetherby Road, Harrogate HG2 8QZ, England
+44 1423 797979
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent27%
  • Very good34%
  • Average15%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
“pudding” (18 reviews)
“fish cakes” (8 reviews)
“flower show” (7 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Wetherby Road, Harrogate HG2 8QZ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
Reviews (530)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 528 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

We stayed here following a family funeral. The accommodation is good - dont expect air conditioning but all other requirements are fully met. Not located in Harrogate but outside so as long as that is unimportant you will be OK. The restaurant is very good....More

Thank Steviec189
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Great menu and seriously tasty British bar food classics superbly served by an excellent team of waiting staff.

Thank Night_Owl_222
General Manager A, Manager at The Kestrel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you so much for your review! please would you take the time to give us some feed back at tellus@vintageinn.co.uk ... thank you again and we hope to see you again very soon Regards Jo

A TripAdvisor Member
133
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Driving back from York to Harrogate we just fancied a "comfort stop and coffee" This was a lovely pleasant suprise of a place Gorgeous period property inside lovely little nooks to eat in private and comfort Outside at the rear lovely comfy ratsn patio furniture...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
General Manager A, Manager at The Kestrel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you so much for your review! please would you take the time to give us some feed back at tellus@vintageinn.co.uk ... thank you again and we hope to see you again very soon Regards Jo

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We ended up here by accident. We arrived late to check in on the Sunday evening and it was very busy. Staff were rushed off their feet but showed us where to find our room. The room was lovely - some gorgeous original features, but...More

Thank Wendy W
General Manager A, Manager at The Kestrel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you so much for your review! please would you take the time to give us some feed back at tellus@vintageinn.co.uk ... thank you again and we hope to see you again very soon Regards Jo

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We make a point of going in here whenever we are near. The building is beautiful and the food is delicious. It very much has the feel of an old country pub, the staff are lovely and the whole experience is relaxed and inviting, make...More

Thank Jessie P
General Manager A, Manager at The Kestrel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you so much for your review! please would you take the time to give us some feed back at tellus@vintageinn.co.uk ... thank you again and we hope to see you again very soon Regards Jo

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Called in on the way to a hospital appointment after reading a positive review on Tripadvisor. It didn't disappoint. Polite and friendly staff, food order taken quickly and the drinks were served swiftly too. I went for the lamb shank served on bubble and squeak...More

Thank Karen S
General Manager A, Manager at The Kestrel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you so much for your review! please would you take the time to give us some feed back at tellus@vintageinn.co.uk ... thank you again and we hope to see you again very soon Regards Jo

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited The Kestrel for 2 nights Fri 7th -9th July. On arrival we were initially advised we be in 2 rooms one each night of our stay, but this was quickly rectified. On entry into our room there was not cot which we had...More

Thank Helen W
General Manager A, Manager at The Kestrel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Helen, thank you for your review. I'm glad that you got the two room situation rectified, we do try to allocate guests for the same room if they're staying more than one night. We are due a full refurbishment on all the rooms in...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

my wife and i and a friend found the hotel very good and the staff extremely helpful , breakfast was presented in a an acceptable manner, value for money , rooms comfrtable , matt and the rest of his staff a very big thank youMore

Thank harold david m
General Manager A, Manager at The Kestrel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Harold! Thank you for your wonderful review :) We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope you didn't get too wet when you went to see Cliff Richard! I will pass your comments onto Matt and the team :) Thank you, Rachel...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We use The Kestrel frequently as a local family pub. We've had some excellent meals there and some average meals. I want to begin with telling you our waitress was very lovely however, we arrived tonight for a quiet family meal to celebrate our sons...More

Thank Oldfield37
General Manager A, Manager at The Kestrel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Oldfield37. Could you please ring the pub regarding which date you visited please on 01423 797979, and ask to speak to Jo. With Mitchell and Butlers, we have a strict company policy to ask anyone who looks under the age of 21 for I'd...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visiting the Kestrel on Sunday the 25th June 2017 we were meeting with the most abrupt and rude welcome I have ever experienced. The Kestrel seemed to be having issues with the card machine which for some strange reason rendered the cook and kitchen inoperable....More

Thank Chris M
General Manager A, Manager at The Kestrel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Chris, I'm sorry about your recent visit with us. The company as a whole had a few technical issues all of last week which was completely out of our hands, however when you arrived you should have received a warm welcome like we always...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Clocktower Bar & Restaurant
1,085 reviews
1.39 km away
Harewood Arms
37 reviews
1.55 km away
Deer House Family Pub
23 reviews
.96 km away
Fodder Cafe
591 reviews
1.61 km away
Nearby Attractions
Real Simulation
22 reviews
2.77 km away
Knaresborough Castle
938 reviews
2.97 km away
River Nidd Waterside Walk
160 reviews
2.94 km away
Mother Shipton's Cave and The Petrifying Well
1,167 reviews
2.59 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Linda U
7 February 2017|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from Bunterjuice | Reviewed this property |
Don't know. I have only visited the establishment once when I was on holiday in Yorkshire.
0
Votes
jolesa
24 November 2015|
Answer
Response from JBDDBJBS | Property representative |
Hi there Some of our products are frozen but most are made on site. Hope to see you soon
0
Votes
jolesa
24 November 2015|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from Gemma N | Property representative |
Many of our products are made by Vintage Inns centrally and delivered to us for use. This provides us with the consistency associated with our brand and means that we can trace ingredients back to source.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, View, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Wetherby Road, Harrogate HG2 8QZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Harrogate
  • Phone Number: +44 1423 797979
Description
The Kestrel in Harrogate is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing