We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Cuckoo

₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
20 Oundle Road | Alwalton, Peterborough PE7 3UP, England
+44 1733 239638
Today
12:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 12:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

962 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 957: English reviews
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

I went to The Cuckoo last week for dinner after work with some friends. It's not the first time I've eaten there but it had been a while. The pub is part of a chain so you get a very generic menu, so if you're looking for anything special you won't find it here. That being said, I was pleasantly... More 

Helpful?
Thank Samantha O
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We turned up to the pub wanting some wine and food that was good and uncomplicated, the problem was we were somewhat complicated, 1 child, 1 adult who can't eat onions, 1 adult gluten free vegetarian and 1 adult gluten and dairy free. After a quick chat with our waiter he was able to recommend what was suitable and we... More 

Helpful?
Thank nigem2016
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The last time we visited The Cuckoo it was a complete disaster and so we were very dubious about visiting again but as soon as we arrived we realised that things had improved. No long wait at the bar and a friendly barman was a good start. We had booked a table for 4 people and 5 of us turned... More 

Helpful?
Thank David N
General Manager A, Manager at The Cuckoo, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing these comments, David. Wishing you a great day until the next time we meet. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We visited April 2017 for a casual meet up, a few drinks and some food. Positives Great beer garden, lovely rustic building with plenty of parking. Friendly staff and a decent selection of drinks. Negatives The food seems to be hit and miss. The Food I would preface this by saying I have previously eaten here, and the food was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jon D
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited the Cuckoo with family for Easter Sunday lunch. We'd booked the table on line a couple of weeks ago. We were shown to our table as soon as we arrived by a friendly waiter who was quick to give menus and take our order. The food arrived promptly and was well presented. Our waiter, Pedro, responded quickly to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris H
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Sunday evening in a group of around 10. I usually avoid pub restaurants as usually let down by pub food recently but some of group wanted to eat there. First issue is the menu prices - do not inc VAT or service charge so expect to add on nearly a third to all prices. I had lamb shank with carvery... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank sunnyb92
General Manager A, Manager at The Cuckoo, responded to this review

Sunny, we regret that you had a negative experience with us, but are glad you brought this to our attention. I would like to investigate your bill, as we don't not add VAT or service charge to any of our bills. VAT is already included in the menu prices and as for service charge this is not on any bills... More 

Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had dinner here with a big group of friends and we were all blown away by the place. Huge selection of amazing food, all really great value for money. The team were all really friendly and helpful and dealt with our rowdy group with no issues at all. The building is lovely and everything inside is well-maintained and absolutely spotless.... More 

Helpful?
Thank emmalakin23
General Manager A, Manager at The Cuckoo, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving this detailed feedback about your experience with The Cuckoo. You really made our day today. More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We wanted something a bit different to the normal pub chain food offering and chose the Cuckoo. Food was fabulous. The service was good. Will definitely return. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank DipityBlog
General Manager A, Manager at The Cuckoo, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing these comments. Wishing you a great day until the next time we meet. More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

An excellent meal. The staff, atmosphere and above all the food was superb. Have tried many restaurants but the Cuckoo will take some beating. The food was awesome and the desserts were sublime. A special mention to Pedro who worked so hard but remained focus and professional. Looking forward to the next meal. Once again many thanks for a great... More 

Helpful?
Thank Saltyjack01
General Manager A, Manager at The Cuckoo, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving this detailed feedback about your experience with The Cuckoo. We always love to receive great feedback. More 

Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful setting and food and service good. Sadly a male member of the bar staff was quite rude with his approach to us when we didn't quite order the food in the way he wished it to be ordered which has resulted in the rating given.

Helpful?
Thank Lincstraveller3
General Manager A, Manager at The Cuckoo, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback. We strive to provide excellent service to our customers at The Cuckoo. Do you know the name of the staff member who served you? More 

Travellers who viewed The Cuckoo also viewed

Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
 
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Cuckoo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 24 - US$ 40
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 20 Oundle Road | Alwalton, Peterborough PE7 3UP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cambridgeshire  >  Peterborough
  • Phone Number: +44 1733 239638
Description
The Cuckoo in Alwalton is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Cuckoo and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Cuckoo staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?