We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bijou Restaurant

#672 of 2,004 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Rathfarnham
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
46/47 Highfield Road | Rathgar, Dublin Dublin 6, Ireland
+353 1 496 1518
Website
Today
10:00 - 23:30
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 - 23:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

317 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 313: English reviews
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

1st visit but will not be the last. Food to die for. I had beef that just melted in the mouth and rhubarb crumble with ice cream and custard that was simply divine. We arrived about 7.30pm and it was packed but by 8.30pm was less busy. With the quality of the food and service I think you can't go... More 

Helpful?
Thank Helen K
County Mayo, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
RESTAURANT'S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When we rang this establishment, staff member was very cordial and helpful. We were going to be late on arrival so we called and explained our delay. This was no problem, which was nice to hear. On arrival (on a Wed evening) it was busy. We were shown to our table and handed our Menus. To our surprise we noted... More 

Helpful?
Thank HaroldMcManus
About Restaurant's Favourite Review
Ireland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited on a Saturday night for the Early Bird and that may have gone against us service wise. The food was great and staff were very friendly but we had to call staff each time we needed something, they were just too busy to notice.

Helpful?
Thank ScreenqueenIreland
Bijou R, Manager at Bijou Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear customer, we are very happy to hear you enjoyed our food and a friendly atmosphere. We will take your feedback on board to improve our service during the busy times. We hope to see you soon again! Thanks More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hi there, This is a well established suburban restaurant that caters for a local but discerning customer base. The food is good, without being adventurous, the meat dishes are particularly good. The staff are well trained and offer a professional and personal service. While not destination dining it represents all that is positive about a well supported local eatery. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Padraig O
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Wide choice all-day Menu. Great brunch. Very relaxed atmosphere especially for a family get together. Well managed. Quick and friendly service. Advise to book in advance Ideally located in old Rathgar village. Lots of parking available

Helpful?
Thank irishpaddy2015
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went here for Mothers Day with the kids for early dinner. I appreciate that restaurants may not be at their best on days like that, but is that an excuse for really poor service? I think the problems here stem from a poorly managed kitchen and an absent manager (until things go wrong, when he appears). I first came here... More 

Helpful?
Thank Niall O
Bijou R, Manager at Bijou Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Niall, thanks for taking the time to give us a feedback. We are truly sorry you didn't enjoy your dinner. We do our best to keep the high level of service and food for which we are known on busy days too. We really hope you give us another chance so that we can make it right! More 

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

The food here is so bad I got a salad to start and my granny recommended me not to eat it because it smelt funky. Next I got the bijou burger and it was as dry as a leather boot it was bland and burnt I'd recommend not to come here anywhere but here we came her for a confirmation... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Pepperlana
Bijou R, Manager at Bijou Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear customer, we appreciate you took the time to give us a feedback as we always aim to provide the very best level of service and food. As we don't host confirmations in the evenings could we ask you to get in touch with us at reservations@bijourathgar.ie? Any clarification will be welcomed. Thank you! More 

Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

We went for a family dinner just the seven of us. We opted for the early bird which was €22 for two course but the only negative I'll say is that there is a supplement charge of some sort on nearly all dishes so wish they'd just up there early bird price and stick to it. Very comfy chairs, friendly... More 

Helpful?
Thank joshua f
Frome
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2017

A warm welcome was followed by a very enjoyable 2 course lunch, which by Dublin standards was reasonably priced. The set price lunch offered good variety and catered for most tastes. Service was very friendly and attentive.

Helpful?
Thank ChalkieFrome
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

We booked a table for Saturday night and arrived early thinking we would start the night with a cocktail in their highly publicised terrace bar but our table was ready and so we were shown to it. The restaurant was buzzing and service was quick, so quick I was still actually chewing when our plates were cleaned away after the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emer M
Bijou R, Manager at Bijou Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Emer, I am glad you guys enjoyed our food, but I am truly sorry you didn't get the chance to taste our cocktails on the terrace. It's a pity that a lack of attention from the staff ruined your whole experience. I would love to have you back so that you give a chance to make it right and... More 

Travellers who viewed Bijou Restaurant also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Bijou Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 22 - US$ 44
Cuisine
French, European, Irish, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 23:30
Monday
10:00 - 23:30
Tuesday
10:00 - 23:30
Wednesday
10:00 - 23:30
Thursday
10:00 - 23:30
Friday
10:00 - 23:30
Saturday
10:00 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 46/47 Highfield Road | Rathgar, Dublin Dublin 6, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Leinster  >  County Dublin  >  Dublin>  > Rathfarnham
  • Neighbourhood: Rathfarnham
  • Phone Number: +353 1 496 1518
Description
Located in the heart of Rathgar village, Bijou is a bistro in art deco style with an outside terrace perfect to enjoy a drink & relax. We source local & fresh products to serve what are now signature dishes. Our style is relaxed, open and friendly. Come for everyday’s lunch, weekend brunch, our famous 3 course evening meal or anything in between!

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Bijou Restaurant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Bijou Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?