We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chameleon Restaurant

#119 of 2,069 Restaurants in Dublin}
₹₹ - ₹₹₹Asian, Indonesian, Thai
1 Lower Fownes Street, Temple Bar | Temple Bar, Dublin, Ireland
+353 1 671 0362
Website
Save
Certificate of Excellence
All photos (104)
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent67%
  • Very good21%
  • Average7%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“rijsttafel” (63 reviews)
“tapas” (55 reviews)
“steamed buns” (7 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Asian, Indonesian, Thai, Contemporary, Malaysian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1 Lower Fownes Street, Temple Bar | Temple Bar, Dublin, Ireland
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (740)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 662 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

After reading good things about Chameleon, I wondered if it could meet my expectations. It did. It's impossible to describe just how deliciously fragrant, intense and flavourful the food here is. The chef obviously cares. REALLY cares. Flavours like these are a result of time,...More

Thank CKSage
Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have been to Chameleon a few times now and each time, we fall more in love. The staff are outstanding in their ethos, knowledge and can do attitude. The food is a delight to the senses and is so fresh and aromatic. We will...More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank kk62
Carol W, Owner at Chameleon Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much we really appreciate your comments and custom.

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

A group of 5 of us dined here on Sunday evening. Due to the worsening weather and last minute flight cancellations for the following day two of the group were delayed for an hour whilst wrestling with airlines! The restaurant were so friendly and accommodating...More

Thank Celina1234
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Friends had been here a few times in small groups and had always raved about the food, so we decided to book a party of seven people. We arrived, chose our food and went to order ... and were then told that groups of six...More

Thank Karin C
Carol W, Owner at Chameleon Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Firstly, we are delighted that you loved the food and thank you for coming back into the Chameleon with a group of friends. The reason we cannot serve tapas to large groups has not got to do with fitting the food onto the table, which...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

A group of six of us went for a meal. From the outset and at time of booking, the team were accommodating as I knew we were going to be late getting to the restaurant (10pm). In addition, two of us had differing dietary requirements...More

Thank holmesmsjaneh
Carol W, Owner at Chameleon Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much, we discuss all reviews at our weekly team meetings and I will be delighted to pass your comments on. Carol

Reviewed 1 week ago

We were surprised to find an Indonesian restaurant in Dublin, but it was a pleasant surprise. Food was tasty and, we thought, authentic (though we've not been to Indonesian in many years). Many vegetarian dishes were a plus.

Thank Ajaxtol
Carol W, Owner at Chameleon Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much and we are delighted you enjoyed our food we hope to see you when you next visit Dublin. Cheers Carol

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This restaurant is small and you are all a bit packed in but once you are upstairs you will be blown away. The servers were so knowledgeable and helped us with how much and what to order. The food was AMAZING, everything we tried in...More

Thank HolidayGuru50
Carol W, Owner at Chameleon Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Really delighted you enjoyed the experience, I will pass on your comments to the team. I will tell Kevin you loved his buns!!! Carol

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited this restaurant after looking around Temple Bar and being disappointed that everything seemed to be :Traditional Fish and Chips" It was a wonderful choice. We did not have a reservation but the fit us in very quickly. We had the seafood set menu...More

Thank Cecil G
Carol W, Owner at Chameleon Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review, sometimes you have to head down a side street to find good food, when travelling I always seek out the little gems, and to hear you dined twice with us is a real compliment. Cheers Carol

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had an amazing meal and experience here on Saturday last Alex couldn't do enough for us and Kevin we loved your music choice any chance you would send it to me. We have never been disappointed when we have visited here. Will be back

Thank rosie40kildare
Carol W, Manager at Chameleon Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

A cheers, we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the evening, your the second person who asked for the play list, we can sent it via Spotify if you just want to email Kevin. kevin@chameleonrestaurant.com They say behind every Chef there is a DJ !!!!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The food was delicious and the set menu was a great way to sample all that is on offer. Really tasty options for vegetarians too. The staff were extremely warm and attentive. The restaurant itself has a cool and cosy vibe. Highly recommend!

1  Thank Fiona C
Carol W, Owner at Chameleon Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you we do try to offer a really good Vegan and Vegetarian menu, and for the meat eaters we use only the best Irish, free range, local and sustainable products. Hope to see you in again.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Klaw
614 reviews
.05 km away
The Quays Temple Bar
1,109 reviews
.03 km away
The Old Mill Restaurant
932 reviews
.04 km away
The Temple Bar Pub
2,377 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
Temple Bar
12,939 reviews
.03 km away
Ha'penny Bridge
1,922 reviews
.05 km away
Halfpenny Bridge Market
19 reviews
.07 km away
The Distillery Store
6 reviews
.05 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Chameleon Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Dublin

Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 12 - US$ 35
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
4:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
4:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
4:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
4:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
4:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Lower Fownes Street, Temple Bar | Temple Bar, Dublin, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Leinster  >  County Dublin  >  Dublin>  > South City Centre
  • Neighbourhood: South City Centre
  • Phone Number: +353 1 671 0362
  • E-mail
Description
Chameleon in Temple Bar is an intimate, ambient restaurant that specialises in Indonesian rice-table (set menus) as well as a large selection of tapas dishes with the flavours of South East Asia, from Javanese short rib to our super tasty steamed bao to free range chicken satay to our delicious desserts, all made in-house! Since opening in 1994, its owners, husband and wife team, Carol & Kevin have made a point in using as much locally sourced Irish produce as possible, including only using free range Irish chicken and locally caught, seasonal Irish fish.Chameleon is ideal for a romantic get together or indeed, for your birthday party or Christmas party, as they can cater for groups of up to 40 in our private dining rooms. 100 Best Restaurants in Ireland 2013 - 2017
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing