We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Merchant's Arch Bar & Restaurant

#99 of 2,096 Restaurants in Dublin}
₹₹ - ₹₹₹Irish, , European
48/49 Wellington Quay, Temple Bar | Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland
+353 1 607 4010
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good32%
  • Average7%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Irish, Bar, European, British, Pub, Soups, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
48/49 Wellington Quay, Temple Bar | Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,056)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 734 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Popped in The Merchant's Arch for breakfast as it looked like an interesting building. We were NOT disappointed, either in the building, the staff or the breakfast - all were totally great. Definitely would recommend this place to enjoy, see, and eat - apparently they...More

Thank Sofisticat
Reviewed 2 days ago

Stopped in to bring a colleague for a pint. Nice surprise was entertainment early afternoon Friday. Staff friendly and a great selection of beers and spirits. Good to sit upstairs for business discussions and get a true sense of the architecture of the building

Thank Travelwithwendy
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Well. What a day we had had. Flight delays due to weather and positioning issues, but all made good with a trip into the city to sample Irish hospitality. We tried a couple of other places but they were claustrophobic and crowded beyond belief but...More

Thank Spressy
Reviewed 1 week ago

We went to this bar from a recommendation to listen to the music. The bar is amazing and has several floors to choose from...we happened upon it totally my mistake. We did not eat, just had drinks. The music was amazing, Sean Coffey was playing...More

Thank Ali N
Merchantsarch20, Public Relations Manager at The Merchant's Arch Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi there and thank you for your review today. We pass on your comments to Sean!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

stopped here for a quick drink and didn't leave for hours and hours because they had fantastic music in the downstairs bar (sharon hussey on the fiddle and zak moran on guitar doing crazy covers of pop songs and traditional irish music) and the atmosphere...More

Thank kaylarice
Merchantsarch20, Public Relations Manager at The Merchant's Arch Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi there and thank you for your review today. We will pass on your comments to to our musicians!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped in for a Irish breakfast. Ordered large breakfast for €11.95 portion wasn't that large. Ordered a soft drink and paid more than a pint of Guinness. Won't be returning.

Thank Y8343QSjenniferb
Merchantsarch20, Public Relations Manager at The Merchant's Arch Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there and thank you for your review today. You ordered 2 soft drinks in one pint glass. Our prices are there for you to see before you purchase any of our food or drinks. See you again soon!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went for the traditional music It was OK but after a while they switched to popular songs which was disappointing for a traditional bar. Main problem was the prices! We ordered a 'Traditional Irish Stew'. When it came we thought they has made a mistake...More

Thank Roger W
Merchantsarch20, Public Relations Manager at The Merchant's Arch Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there and thank you for your review today. If you were not happy with your dish we would of welcomed a replacement meal for you. Our prices are also available to view before you purchase anything. See you again in the near future.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is the first place we have eaten in Dublin and it was absolutely superb! The bacon and cabbage was a far cry from what my mum used to make and is probably the best meal I have ever eaten! There was live music and...More

Thank Rebecca D
Merchantsarch20, Public Relations Manager at The Merchant's Arch Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi there and thank you for your review today! Great to hear you had a good time with us! Call back and see us again real soon

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited Dublin for the weekend and came across this little gem. We popped in for lunch and ended staying all afternoon listening to fantastic live Irish music. Food was delicious as was the atmosphere and particular thanks to John the barman who was superb....More

Thank Sharron H
Merchantsarch20, Public Relations Manager at The Merchant's Arch Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi there and thank you for your review today! We will tell John about your comments!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We came to Dublin for the weekend to celebrate a hen party and ended up in this bar on one of the days and both nights! It hosted an Irish dancing lesson on one of the days in the upstairs large room which I think...More

Thank mbarlow1985
Merchantsarch20, Public Relations Manager at The Merchant's Arch Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi there and thank you for your review today! Looking forward to seeing you guys again!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Klaw
604 reviews
.07 km away
The Quays Temple Bar
1,083 reviews
.06 km away
The Old Mill Restaurant
918 reviews
.05 km away
The Quays Irish Restaurant
1,618 reviews
.05 km away
Nearby Attractions
Temple Bar
12,598 reviews
.08 km away
Ha'penny Bridge
1,865 reviews
.03 km away
Halfpenny Bridge Market
19 reviews
.04 km away
The Library Project
5 reviews
.10 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Y8343QSjenniferb
4 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Bill D | Reviewed this property |
Coke has import costs. Guinness is made within several miles. I'm sure the profit margin on Coke is still lower than the Guinness. Stick to Guinness 😀
0
Votes

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Dublin

Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 6 - US$ 18
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 48/49 Wellington Quay, Temple Bar | Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Leinster  >  County Dublin  >  Dublin
  • Phone Number: +353 1 607 4010
  • E-mail
Description
A Traditional Irish Pub situated on the Quays, serving the best of Irish food. Upstairs room has beautiful decor and nice views of the Liffey and Ha Penny bridge.
Description
Bar & Restaurant - Serving Traditional IRISH food.

Bar
Opening Hours - 9am - 12.30Am - Mon /Thursday
Friday/Saturday 9am-230am
Sun 10 /1230am

Restaurant
Opening Hours - 9am-10.30Pm 7 days
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing