We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

John Kavanagh - The Gravediggers

) #95 of 2,077 Restaurants in Dublin Irish, ,
1 Prospect Square | Prospect Square, Glasnevin, Dublin D09 CF72, Ireland
+353 87 296 3713
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent74%
  • Very good20%
  • Average3%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“tapas” (68 reviews)
“crostini” (6 reviews)
“ham” (6 reviews)
Open Now
10:30 - 23:30All hours
Irish, Bar, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
1 Prospect Square | Prospect Square, Glasnevin, Dublin D09 CF72, Ireland
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 497 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Went to Dublin with my brother to watch a band and sample the guiness. By far the most authentic and friendly place we visited all weekend

Thank Tim B
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

I've been told you really need to book to get a seat . Once you're there though , you don't want to leave . The food is great

Thank Brian L
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

This was a real find. The place was packed when we arrived with a real buzz. We had to wait a bit for a table but with great beer and atmosphere that wasn't a problem and it was worth it for the food when it...More

Thank Lucy I
Reviewed 4 days ago

Visit the cemetery, then come to this pub and restaurant: Of all the Guinness I had in Ireland, this place had the best AND the pub has a story of a hatch in the wall where the grave diggers from the cemetery would put their...More

Thank spacecaseinout
Reviewed 1 week ago

Perfect true irish food. Very tasty and nicely served. Staff is attentive and quick, you don´t have to wait ages to get your food. Also drink menu is rich and they make the atmosphere of an irish pub. You have to try it.

Thank Ask B
Reviewed 1 week ago

A grand local, nic intimate yet welcoming atmosphere, good pints and surprising food. We had black pudding; a pork and chorizo stew; macaroni cheese. All well cooked and generously portioned. Staff are friendly and helpful and prices are reasonable.

Thank CC_Eile
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited Glasnevin then went for lunch. This was our first pub visit of our trip to Dublin. Kavanagh's made a great first impression. Our table had soup, coddle, and a chicken pie. All were very large, hot, fresh, and so dang good. I noticed...More

Thank Seelyme
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Good local pub who look after their customers very well . A family atmosphere - clean and good food .

Thank 123jock
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I visited the Gravediggers recently with a friend for tapas and wine. We were "greeted" at the door by the head waitress who informed us that we were very late, there were other people before us and it really wasn't worth our while waiting for...More

1  Thank Loraine H
Alfreda31, Social Media/Other at John Kavanagh - The Gravediggers, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Lorraine Apologies for the lack of welcome, all our staff are encouraged to assist and advise appropriately, certainly 55 mins to close is a big window, and we do do our very best to cater for everyone.. I do know which server it is...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was off the beaten path a bit, but worth the effort. We took the Hop on, Hop off blue route and Kavanagh's was a very short walk from the graveyard. No surprise there. The food was great and the seventh generation owner, Anne Kavanagh...More

1  Thank Hunt46
Nearby Restaurants
Quattro Woodfire Pizza
5 reviews
.69 km away
Two Boys Brew
98 reviews
.97 km away
Fagan's Pub
275 reviews
1.10 km away
Nearby Attractions
Glasnevin Cemetery Museum
5,244 reviews
.33 km away
National Botanic Gardens
2,253 reviews
.33 km away
Experience Gaelic Games
350 reviews
.80 km away
Brewery Hops of Ireland
49 reviews
.55 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
28 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Alfreda31 | Property representative |
Hi there we don't serve food on Sundays or Bank Holidays. Lunch is Monday to Friday 12noonight to 3pm. Evening Tapas Tuesday to Saturday 6pm to 8.30pm.No credit or debit cards accepted, cash only. No group booking first come... More
28 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Alfreda31 | Property representative |
Hi there I apologise for not getting back, thought i had replied via email, buggies are welcome and many families do call into the bar especially on a Sunday, but the space is quite limited. The lounge is better, again space... More
20 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Alfreda31 | Property representative |
hi there Trip Advisor and Google only allow one set of opening hours. We are open for regular pub hours but our food serving is limited due to our kitchen & storage space, (due to complaints on TA regarding Food times we... More
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$ 4 - US$ 12
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Cash Only, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
12:30 - 23:00
10:30 - 23:30
10:30 - 23:30
10:30 - 23:30
10:30 - 23:30
10:30 - 00:00
10:30 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Prospect Square | Prospect Square, Glasnevin, Dublin D09 CF72, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Leinster  >  County Dublin  >  Dublin
  • Phone Number: +353 87 296 3713
  • E-mail
LUNCH (soup/sandwiches)MONDAY to FRIDAY:12noon-3pm. EVENING TAPAS TUESDAY to SATURDAY 6pm-8.30pm.(NO FOOD ON SUNDAYS OR BANK HOLIDAYS) Food is made fresh on the day each day and served in The Lounge only. We don't take bookings or large groups. We have no credit or debit card facilities cash only. We do offer great food at great value in one of Dublin's best kept secrets. Please ask for Ciaran Kavanagh for all food queries. Please note we are a Public House not a restaurant
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing