We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Spey Valley Carvery

AviemoreInverness-Shire, Aviemore PH22 1, Scotland
+44 844 879 9152
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good0%
  • Average5%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible30%
27 Mar 2017
“Ridiculous coffee prices”
25 Jul 2015
“Mr”
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
British, Bar, Pub
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
AviemoreInverness-Shire, Aviemore PH22 1, Scotland
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
Reviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2017

Popped in here for coffee to discover that it is not freshly made coffee but from a machine. Not nearly so good as freshly made from a Costa cafe. However the prices were ridiculous. We normally pay about £4.00 - just under for 2 Costa...More

1  Thank brodgarDundee
Reviewed 25 July 2015 via mobile

Dined at Spey Valley Sports Bar restaurant and been treated rudely by one of the chefs named Derrick. The foods were ok but the serving was confusing without labelling of which were mains and which were sides. I then complained to the restaurant manager about...More

1  Thank Bryan C
General M, Manager at Spey Valley Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2016

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. Firstly please accept my sincere apologies for the attitude of the chef. I have passed your comments to the Food and Beverage Director who will carry out a full investigation. I do hope that this...More

Reviewed 21 February 2015

Just spent a really dissappointing hour in the Asian buffet! Leaflet promises Thai, Chinese, Indian n Japanese for just £12.95. Reality was just Thai n Chinese but all the dishes tasted the same! The lemon chicken was inedible- the red Thai curry tasted the same...More

2  Thank Bagpuss26
General M, General Manager at Spey Valley Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2015

Dear Guest, Please accept my sincere apologies for issues with your recent dining experience. Please be assured that this is not our usual standards. On your next visit to Aviemore please contact Lynika Müller our Guest Services Manager on lynika.muller@macdonald-hotels.co.uk who will personally look after...More

Reviewed 20 February 2015 via mobile

Had lunch here. Restaurant was deserted and cavernous but waitresses helpful. Food was disappointing - works canteen standard cooking and not much choice. The only roast was turkey - so no choice at all in the "carvery". With a little more imagination and better cooking...More

Thank Dermot B
General M, General Manager at Spey Valley Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2015

Dear Guest Thank you for posting your review. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal with us, I will pas your comments onto the team regarding the menu selection. Our aim here at the Resort is to achieve and exceed...More

Reviewed 18 February 2015

At 12pm I bought a sandwich from the restaurant. It had lovely, good quality ham on it, but it was overpowered by huge slices of tomato, which were about 1cm wide. I removed the tomato and some of the lettuce. There was also cucumber on...More

2  Thank Maria W
General M, General Manager at Spey Valley Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2015

Dear Guest Thank you for posting your review. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal with us. I can assure you we take this very seriously. Our aim here at the Resort is to achieve and exceed our guest’s expectations,...More

Reviewed 7 February 2015

Very pleased with the fantastic service that we received at the carvery today. We couldn't fault anything. The restaurant was clean and staff, chef included, were very friendly and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and we will definitely be back. The...More

3  Thank Elgineater
General M, General Manager at Spey Valley Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2015

Positive response Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. I am glad you enjoyed your meal with us. I will pass on the comments on to the team who will be delighted to hear them. We at...More

Reviewed 17 January 2015 via mobile

As usual its fine if you only want pork beef must be to expensive on arrival were told there was no heating which was fine the carvery consisted off a joint of gammon which was horrible a pot of what looked like week old roast...More

1  Thank KenAudi
General M, General Manager at Spey Valley Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2015

Negative response Dear Guest Thank you for posting your review. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal with us. Our aim here at the Resort is to achieve and exceed our guest’s expectations, please accept my sincerest apologies that you...More

Reviewed 16 December 2014

We love to come here for a meal. The food as always is amazing and the staff are mega friendly. The chef who served us last Sunday was very funny and helpful also. Lovely atmosphere. Look forward to returning again.More

Thank tashdunn
General M, General Manager at Spey Valley Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2015

Positive response Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. I am glad you enjoyed your meal with us. I will pass on the comments on to the team who will be delighted to hear them. We at...More

Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

I'm so annoyed I'm writing this in the carvery itself. We booked in for a family meal and before we'd finished our starters they told us they were clearing everything up if we wanted main meals. The servers were gruff at best and although keen...More

Thank Hebba M
General M, Manager at Spey Valley Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on trip advisor. At Macdonald Hotels we pride ourself on the service and food that we provide and I am very disappointed to hear that you did not experince this during your dining experience. When...More

Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

A quick trip through Aviemore so stopped in to get some lunch and coffee. Had an amazing Cottage Pie and finished off with chocolate mousse and jelly. Will never stop loving this place.More

Thank HarryStephenson
General M, General Manager at Spey Valley Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear Guest Thank you for your lovely review, The kitchen team here at Spey Valley Carvery work hard to provide quality dishes to our clients, I will pass on your comments to our team, who are always happy to receive feedback from our tripadvisor reviews....More

Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Spey Valley Carvery staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
British, Bar, Pub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: AviemoreInverness-Shire, Aviemore PH22 1, Scotland (Formerly The Food Court - Carvery)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Scottish Highlands  >  Badenoch and Strathspey  >  Aviemore
  • Phone Number: +44 844 879 9152
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing