We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Windows Restaurant

₹₹ - ₹₹₹British, , European
44 West George Street, Glasgow G2 1DH, Scotland
+44 141 353 6373
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good22%
  • Average14%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“sandwiches” (26 reviews)
“tarts” (3 reviews)
“salmon” (6 reviews)
Open Now
5:00 PM - 9:45 PMAll hours
CUISINES
British, Scottish, European, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
44 West George Street, Glasgow G2 1DH, Scotland
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I dined at Windows Restaurant on Robbie Burns night. The 3 course meal followed by a wee dram was a pleasurable experience. Poached smoked haddock melted in your mouth, a very tasty haggis and a creamy oats and raspberries cranachan. Prompt, friendly service.

Thank carlene232
Reviewed 15 January 2018

Was really looking forward to a night out here, we went on a Saturday evening before Christmas and was slightly disappointed. There was no atmosphere in the restaurant at all, the food was okay, small portions but nothing special and very overpriced. I chose traditional...More

Thank jamesy0001
Monica R, General Manager at Windows Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear jamesy0001. Thank you for your review of Windows Restaurant. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your visit and found there to be no atmosphere and overpriced. The Saturday nights before Christmas were busy, so I am not sure what time you had...More

Reviewed 3 January 2018

went here with sister-in-law who was very pleased with the place and she is quiet fusy so I was happy

Thank weeyin32016
Monica R, General Manager at Windows Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Dear weyin32016. Thank you for the lovely review following your visit to Windows. I am pleased both you and your sister in law had a good time. Hope we see you again soon. Kind regards Monica

Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

Prior to a visit the Glasgow Royal Concert Hall , we chose this venue because of its proximity to the Hall. We were absolutely delighted with the efficiency and friendliness of the staff and the tranquil location. The menu is not extensive but the presentation...More

1  Thank Jomelco
Monica R, General Manager at Windows Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Dear Jomelco. Thank you for the lovely review. I am thrilled you had a good time with us. Hope we see you again soon. Kind regards Monica

Reviewed 27 December 2017 via mobile

For my son's 21st birthday we booked the Windows restaurant at the Carlton George hotel for the 26th December on his birthday. My son is a very fussy eater so we checked the menu first and decided to book because they had burgers on the...More

Thank pauline m
Monica R, General Manager at Windows Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Dear pauline m. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your meal and the lack of burgers for your sons 21st Birthday. . At this time of year deliveries can be difficult and due...More

Reviewed 10 December 2017

Five of us visited the Windows Restuarant to celebrate a 60th birthday. From the moment we arrived, when a waitress took our coats, we were treated to a friendly, efficient service. The staff checked that everything was ok, offered more tea/coffee etc. The views were...More

Thank keelielass
Monica R, General Manager at Windows Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2017

Dear kellielass thank you for the great review following your recent visit to Windows Restaurant. I am so pleased you and your party had a good time. Hope we see you again soon. Kind regards Monica

Reviewed 30 November 2017

On 6th November I booked an afternoon tea treat for myself and 3 family members for 28th November. Advertised at £12;50 for a very lovely looking menu. I was not informed even though the on line booking was confirmed that what I thought I was...More

1  Thank valadams54
Monica R, General Manager at Windows Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2017

Dear valadams. I have tried to contact you via the email provided at the time of booking but it is being rejected. This may explain why you did not receive confirmation of the pricing. On the website, there is a note advising of menu and...More

Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

Very disappointed in the afternoon tea here. Having had many afternoon teas in various establishments they are generally very genteel affairs. Windows I'm afraid didn't meet the mark. Bog standard crockery, stainless steel flask like vessels for tea and coffee (not individual) unexciting sandwich fillings...More

1  Thank CatherineP_8
Monica R, Assistant Manager at Windows Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear CatherineP_8. Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your afternoon tea. I would really appreciate if you contact us directly to discuss this further. If you could contact me on 01413536373 or by e mail on fb.george.carltonhotels.co.uk. Many thanks...More

Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

We got a deal on 5pm for a glass of fizz and Afternoon Tea. I had no clue the Carlton George existed - I’ve walked past its entrance hundreds of times and never noticed it - let alone had a roof top view of Glasgow....More

Thank holidaygirl20102014
Monica R, General Manager at Windows Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Dear holidaygirl20102014. Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Windows Restaurant. I am so pleased you had a good time. Hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Monica

Reviewed 19 October 2017

I went here back in August with my husband as we were visiting the city to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. We were made to feel more than welcome, staff were lovely, food is great and the view amazing. At the end of our meal...More

1  Thank Josie M
Monica R, General Manager at Windows Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear Josie M. Thank you for the lovely review following your recent visit to Windows Restaurant. I am so pleased you had a good experience with us. Thank you for the lovely comments and hope we see you again soon. Kind regards Monica

PreviousNext
12345630
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 93 hotels in Glasgow
Carlton George Hotel
1,920 reviews
.01 km away
Millennium Hotel Glasgow
1,730 reviews
.13 km away
Park Inn by Radisson
1,012 reviews
.24 km away
The Z Hotel Glasgow
1,261 reviews
.26 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Miller & Carter Steakhouse
1,915 reviews
.12 km away
Atlantic Brasserie
467 reviews
.11 km away
The Wild Olive Tree
146 reviews
.05 km away
Amarone Glasgow
1,170 reviews
.05 km away
Nearby Attractions
City Chambers
816 reviews
.17 km away
Buchanan Galleries
164 reviews
.11 km away
St George's Tron
19 reviews
.08 km away
Merchant's House
10 reviews
.10 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Josie M
15 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 12 answers
Response from Margaret H | Reviewed this property |
I agree with the other contributors. Smart casual would be fine.
1
Vote
agnosia42
4 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Carole A | Reviewed this property |
Yes, can't see there being a problem as long as you book well in advance. There are high chairs but you may be better to check with the hotel about the pram situation.
1
Vote
macintyre68
26 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Margaret H | Reviewed this property |
The restaurant is on the 7th floor and there is a lift. I did not see any stairs but would think it would be very tiring to climb 7 floors. The lifts are very quick so I don't think it would bother you.
0
Votes
PreviousNext
12
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 24 - US$ 1,401
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Romantic, Child-friendly, Business meetings, View, Kids, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
5:00 PM - 9:45 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
5:00 PM - 9:45 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
5:00 PM - 9:45 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
5:00 PM - 9:45 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
5:00 PM - 9:45 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
5:00 PM - 9:45 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
5:00 PM - 9:45 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 44 West George Street, Glasgow G2 1DH, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Glasgow>  > City Centre
  • Neighbourhood: City Centre
  • Phone Number: +44 141 353 6373
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing