We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Windows Restaurant

#306 of 1,933 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
City Centre
British, Scottish, European
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
44 West George Street, Glasgow G2 1DH, Scotland
+44 141 353 6373
Website
Today
17:00 - 21:45
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 17:00 - 21:45
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

242 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 237: English reviews
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I am a very picky fussy eater and cannot fault anything about this restaurant food was outstanding and can't wait to return

Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
Monica R, General Manager at Windows Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Sharon, I am pleased that you enjoyed your recent visit to Windows Restaurant. Do come and visit us again soon. Kind Regards, Monica More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was at the restaurant on Sunday 5th March with my sisters. When booking restaurant had been informed that I was gluten free. I asked the waitress about the chicken starter. She said she was going to ask in the kitchen. I ordered this starter as I was assured it was ok. When it arrived the chicken was in a... More 

Helpful?
Thank stewartw3
Monica R, General Manager at Windows Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear stewartw3. Thank you for reviewing your recent visit to Windows. It was good to hear your feedback and I understand that Kirsty contacted you directly and I am glad that you are aware this is not our normal standard standard of food and service, and you will be happy to return. Many thanks once again for your feedback. Kind... More 

Falkirk
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent service throughout our time spent in the 7th floor restaurant. Sandwiches.were very fresh and tasty, scones freshly baked and a good selection of cakes. Also any amount of tea or coffee. Easy to recommend. Great value for money.

Helpful?
Thank McGfalkirk
Monica R, General Manager at Windows Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear McGfalkirk. Thank you for the lovely review. I am thrilled you enjoyed your afternoon tea in Windows Restaurant. Thank you for the recommendation. Hope we see you again soon. Kind regards Monica More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is marketed as the only rooftop restaurant in Glasgow which is fair enough although it is a claim which flatters to deceive. There are no panoramic views of the City from most of the tables, so if you book expecting a pleasant vista to accompany your dinner you will be disappointed. The décor in the restaurant is extremely dated,... More 

Helpful?
Thank ThaiTraveller67
Monica R, General Manager at Windows Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear ThaiTraveller67. Sorry that you had such a bad experience in Windows Restaurant and didn't enjoy your meal. It is a pity that it wasn't mentioned during our check backs in order that we could have attempted to resolve the food issues. I would really appreciate if you contact either myself or Kirsty Neil on 01413536373 when we can discuss... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We visited for dinner. The food was delicious, great choice, the waiters so friendly, and very good prices for what is offered. If I could change one thing, perhaps the decor could be updated and become more classy? Try the bread pudding if you find it in the menu!

Helpful?
Thank maryaparis
Monica R, General Manager at Windows Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear maraparis, thank you for the great review following your visit to Windows Restaurant. I am thrilled you had such a great experience with us enjoying both the food and the service. We are hoping to update the decor at some point in the coming you. Hope we see you again soon. Kind regards Monica More 

Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2017

I met with some friends for afternoon tea recently, never having been to this restaurant before. The table was near the window with great views over the city. Staff polite and friendly. However we felt the food was average. We were served a variety of sandwiches, scones with jam and cream, and some small cakes. The sandwiches were a bit... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peggy1401
Monica R, General Manager at Windows Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Peggy1401. Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Windows Restaurant. I am pleased you enjoyed the views and received good service. I am sorry you were a bit disappointed with the food, it is pity you didnt raise it at the time as we rarely get negative comments regarding the afternoon tea. Hope to... More 

Falkirk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

On entering the hotel we were greeted with a warm welcome , a roaring fire in the fireplace, just what we needed on a really cold day. We arrived at the restaurant early but that was no problem as our table was ready. We did have some special requests regarding the sandwich fillings but again that was no problem. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank 212jacquelinef
Monica R, General Manager at Windows Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear 212jacquelinef. Thank you for the lovely review following your recent visit to Windows Restaurant. I am delighted you enjoyed your afternoon tea with us. Hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Monica More 

Deaconsbank, Glasgow
Level Contributor
90 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2017

Booked throughout 5pm for a 20% food discount on the evening meal, but as we were staying the hotel we would have go to this discount through their own vouchers. Initially sat in the middle of the restaurant we were quickly asked I felt we wanted to move to the corner and have excellently views of the city. Nice! And... More 

Helpful?
Thank Petgab12001
Monica R, General Manager at Windows Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Petgab12001. Thank you for the lovely review following your visit to Windows. I am delighted you had such a great experience with us and enjoyed the food as well as great service. Hope we see you again soon. Kind regards Monica More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

Have had dinner at Windows Restaurant on quite a few occasions,always really enjoyed it. Not this time, thought we would finish off a lovely day after seeing Strictly Come Dancing. First thing we noticed had changed was the individual cloths in bathroom for drying hands, were replaced with paper towels,Some of the staff were wearing trainers, didn't, make a good... More 

Helpful?
Thank Precilla S
Monica R, General Manager at Windows Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Precilla S. Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Windows Restaurant. I am deeply sorry you were disappointed during this visit. It is a pity that during the checks made by our team, the issues were not raised which would have allowed us to attempt to rectify this for you. I would be happy... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2017

Have been here a few times, the hotel and restaurant and surroundings are beautiful. Attention to detail by staff, great wines and varied selection of local produce nothing a too much.

Helpful?
Thank lnj2015
Monica R, General Manager at Windows Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Inj2015. Thank you for reviewing your recent visit to Windows. I am pleased that you had a good experience with us and thank you especially for the kind comments regarding the team. Kind regards Monica More 

Travellers who viewed Windows Restaurant also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Windows Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 51 - US$ 51
Cuisine
British, Scottish, European
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, View
Open Hours
Sunday
17:00 - 21:45
Monday
17:00 - 21:45
Tuesday
17:00 - 21:45
Wednesday
17:00 - 21:45
Thursday
17:00 - 21:45
Friday
17:00 - 21:45
Saturday
17:00 - 21:45
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 44 West George Street, Glasgow G2 1DH, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Glasgow>  > City Centre
  • Neighbourhood: City Centre
  • Phone Number: +44 141 353 6373

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Windows Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?