We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

City Merchant

) #88 of 1,942 Restaurants in Glasgow ₹₹ - ₹₹₹ Seafood, European, British
97-99 Candleriggs | Merchant City, Glasgow G1 1NP, Scotland
+44 141 553 1577
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good25%
  • Average9%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“mussels” (89 reviews)
“seafood” (70 reviews)
“venison” (43 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, European, British, Scottish, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
97-99 Candleriggs | Merchant City, Glasgow G1 1NP, Scotland
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
Reviews (921)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 921 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Very nice place in the centre of Glasgow, intriguing plate, fresh food and Jason provides a great service!More

Thank Rossomagma
maria n, Manager at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hello there from team City Merchant! Thank you so much for your lovely review. We pride ourselves in the freshness of our foods and the exciting flavours our talented Head Chef and team put together. We do have great service - don't you worry we...More

Reviewed 5 days ago

Went for a celebration meal but found that the the decor is a bit dated and the food much plainer than I'd hoped. Great service but a wee bit disappointing for a treat.More

1  Thank wonderflump
maria n, Manager at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi there thank you for your review. Can you tell me when you came to the restaurant - as I do not have a name to look back at your booking. Our décor I know may not be to everyone's taste as it is very...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked City Merchant for lunch - two courses and a glass of house wine for £12.50. The menu was very good and the quality of the food was excellent. I had Mussels in a spicy sauce followed by Hake with Bombay potatoes. Both the...More

1  Thank Janice P
maria n, Manager at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

thank you so much for your kind review. Its always lovely to receive such kind words and we are so glad that you had an enjoyable time! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. From the team at City Merchant

Reviewed 1 week ago

Just had a lovely lunch with family members ranging from my 91 year old dad to my 6 month old granddaughter. We worked out that we hadn't been in for over 20 years and we wonder why. Had the lunch menu and there was plenty...More

1  Thank Stormborn53
maria n, Manager at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi there What a lovely review. I have to say it was myself that was happy with Take That too haha! We are so happy you have had a lovely experience here and enjoyed our hospitality and food! Just make sure you visit sooner :-)...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We met at 5pm and had a delicious meal in comfortable surroundings with great service. Prices on the set menu were very reasonable. I only intended to have 2 courses but my crab starter and beef main were so good I had the rhubarb mousse...More

1  Thank Glaswegian148
maria n, Manager at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi there thank you for taking the time to put on such a nice Trip Advisor review. On my joining the business I had to sample the cuisine- I completely agree once you have the first 2 courses you just have to polish it off...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I visit every couple of months and I'm usually greeted by the owner or his daughter who welcome us like old friends. They must be on holiday as the female who was "hosting" couldn't have been more indifferent to the customers if she tried! Tony...More

Thank Amanda D
maria n, Manager at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Firstly thank you very much for your review. Unfortunately I do not agree with your review and feel this is a personal attack on myself and my team. Bearing mind I have been with the business far longer than Tony and his daughter. Personal attacks...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just had their amazing lunchtime menu. My fish was cooked to perfection. The mussels just great we also had the roast pepper hummus delicious. The owner and chef also let us try tonight's special just wish I had room to go back. Well done 10...More

1  Thank 590armstrong
maria n, Manager at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for such a lovely review. We are always so pleased when our customers have a wonderful dining experience! We are so proud of our restaurant, staff and cuisine so thank you for putting such a nice review on Trip Advisor. We...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went for dinner last night, ordered mussels followed by Hake. The food was wonderful, staff were excellent and the atmosphere lively. Thumbs up all round, I will definitely go back.More

1  Thank karenannescott
maria n, Manager at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Karen This is the kind of review we like to see - we always want the experience to be a great one so you will visit again! Our new owner Maria who has been with this restaurant for nearly 10 years is really pushing...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've visited the City Merchant many times over the years and it never fails to please. The food is mainly traditional Scottish fare and is always well cooked and well presented. The staff are excellent - very attentive but not overbearing; they toe the line...More

Thank Jamie M
maria n, Manager at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there! Michelle here from City Merchant. Just wanted to offer my thanks for your lovely review! We pride ourselves in our Scottish cuisine and we love when customers feel comfortable to bring friends, family and visitors to our restaurant. I am unsure if you...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Haven't eaten here in years. Great food and same old atmosphere which is wonderful. Music a bit weird for the venue and oh the cauliflower fritters are worth a passMore

Thank Ian C
maria n, Manager at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there thanks Ian for your review. I have noted you were not happy with the cauliflower fritters and will take this point to head chef. I myself enjoy them but they are not to everyones taste! I am now racking my brain as to...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Qua Italian Restaurant
1,451 reviews
.10 km away
Koolba
1,498 reviews
.02 km away
Cafe Gandolfi
1,043 reviews
.10 km away
Nearby Attractions
Glasgow Police Museum
257 reviews
.09 km away
Sharmanka Kinetic Theatre
278 reviews
.22 km away
Tron Theatre
50 reviews
.23 km away
Trades Hall of Glasgow
31 reviews
.22 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
0123bettyboo
Can one companion eat off a la carte if the other dinners are on set menu?
9 January 2017|
Answer Show all 5 answers
Response from SATraveller07 | Reviewed this property |
Yes I think that would be ok. They always offer both menus on arrival.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 16 - US$ 48
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Monday
12:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 22:30
Saturday
12:00 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 97-99 Candleriggs | Merchant City, Glasgow G1 1NP, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Glasgow>  > City Centre
  • Neighbourhood: City Centre
  • Phone Number: +44 141 553 1577
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing