We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

Indian, Asian, Balti, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Halal
About
Welcome to Edinburgh's Premier Indian Restaurant. We are situated approximately one mile from the heart of the city. Our chefs have up to thirty years of experience in cooking traditional homemade dishes. Ronaq Indian Restaurant is a fully licensed restaurant.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Halal, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
CUISINES
Indian, Asian, Balti
FEATURES
Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, BYOB, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (447)
Filter reviews
438 results
Traveller rating
286
71
40
25
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
286
71
40
25
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews poppadoms balti garlic chicken king prawns indian food best indian great food and service our waiter business lunch main course staff were attentive visited this restaurant booked a table mains
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

At £13.50/- the veg biryani is the priciest in Edinburgh, yet among the bottom in quality. I got one delivered via deliveroo. First red flag was that it arrived in 20-25 minutes from the time I placed the order. That is not enough time to...prepare a proper authentic dish. What I ate was greasy rice with 8-10 pieces of big potatoes. Mushrooms, some random bits of okra, corn(!!!) And some pieces of carrot. Maybe a bean or two. This is NOT authentic Indian veg biryani. The Waitrose biryani at 5 quid offers way more value, taste and authenticity than this hodge-podge of a dish. It tasted like the chef had prepared it after making a meat dish. Entirely forgettable experience. Will not patronise them again.More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 8 October 2020 via mobile

Decided to try Ronaq for the first time yesterday and couldn’t believe how extreme not rude one of the waiters was. It put a damper on the whole evening - won’t be back!More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?1  
RonaqRestaurant, Marketing at Ronaq Restaurant - Comely Bank, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2020

Thank you for taking the time to leave the restaurant some invaluable feedback. While the majority of reviews are positive we take any negative experiences of the restaurant very seriously and would like to apologise for your experience. We will be sure to take all...More

Reviewed 26 September 2020 via mobile

With an ongoing pandemic choosing somewhere to go out for a meal (or whether to go out at all!) is difficult. We have been living in the area near this restaurant for a while now but never had the opportunity to try it out but...tonight, at short notice, we gave it a go. When we arrived they were friendly and seated us right away. The waiter seemed very rushed, like he should be somewhere else, and kept pulling his mask down to speak. We felt very rushed as he took the order. Drinks first - a Cobra and a Kir Royal, and I ordered snacks and fish tikka starter. When the Cobra arrived it didn't taste like Cobra - I thought that was weird. It was hoppy, more like a wheat beer. I didn't enjoy it and wondered if it was actually Cobra. The kir royal had lots of floaties - I convinced my other half they were bits of the raspberry that was floating in it. The starter was passable, and as soon as I ate the last bite the waiter swept in and cleared the table. I hoped he would get to where he needed to be soon. I should mention though that the fish tikka was delicious and didn't need the limp salad on the side. I had ordered a bottle of rosé from the menu and asked for it to be delivered with the main. The mains arrived - Lamb Bhuna and Lamb Karachi... no wine. Both sauces were identical, but in different style dishes, and HEAVILY salted... I think someone may have accidentally dropped a bag of salt in into the pot. It was barely edible. But I soldiered on! It was a shame because the lamb was soft and tasty. I asked the rushed waiter about the wine and he went to the bar and we continued eating.... Half way through the meal the manager asked if it was Ok and I said "We ordered a rosé?" He went back and checked then returned and said he was deeply sorry but they didn't have any left so instead he would get us the best wine they had. Oh wow, I thought, things are looking up. I heard him say to the barman - give me the most expensive wine we have... Great customer service! We finished the meal with chocolate fudge cake and ice cream - odd to see that in an Indian restaurant but it was just what my fiancée fancied. Pity it was dry shop bought cake, squeezy bottle chocolate sauce and grainy ice cream full of ice crystals. The bill was the best part though... When the manager apologised for not having the wine we ordered and brought us the best, most expensive bottle on the menu, we thought he meant for the same price - maybe we were just idiots, but... If I'd wanted that wine from the menu I'd have ordered it - I believed we were getting a "replacement of same or better value". The cost of the meal was nowhere near good value for the food or the service received. I've had a read of some reviews from other patrons similarly dissatisfied with Ronaq, and the restaurant always replies - thanks for taking the time to review, we will take your comments into consideration, blah blah blah.... This place doesn't care about its customers, so do yourself a favour and go somewhere else.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?3  
RonaqRestaurant, Marketing at Ronaq Restaurant - Comely Bank, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2020

Dear Guest, We are very sorry to read your review with a poor impression regarding the dining experience at Ronaq. We always work hard and try to give our best to fulfil customer expectation. We are very much concern about its credibility!! We tried to...More

Reviewed 25 September 2020 via mobile

This place is brilliant. When we came in the staff made us feel more than welcome: friendly, professional and attentive. Starters were gorgeous including the fish which was the biggest hit. Mains were amazing-no point in saying which ones as they would all be as...tasty, I have no doubt. Staff advised on the quantity of rice needed and were spot on. We all agreed this was the nicest Indian food we have had in years. Would I recommend?! Yup!!!!More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
RonaqRestaurant, Marketing at Ronaq Restaurant - Comely Bank, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2020

Thank you for such a kind review, we are glad you enjoyed your meal :)

Reviewed 23 September 2020 via mobile

Visited this restaurant with my father and son last night, food amazing, fantastic service, definitively return, highly recommended.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?2  
RonaqRestaurant, Marketing at Ronaq Restaurant - Comely Bank, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2020

Thanks so much for such a kind review, we look forward to your next visit!

Reviewed 19 September 2020

My friend and I were here on the last Saturday, and it was an excellent experience. Attentive staff. The food was brilliant, and we didn’t leave anything on our plates. (Love the Cocktail) Glad we made a reservation, as the place was so busy. We...will be back again.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
RonaqRestaurant, Owner at Ronaq Restaurant - Comely Bank, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2020

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we love to share these reviews with our teams.

Reviewed 12 September 2020

It was our first visit to Ronaq yesterday! Great selection of dishes, nice atmosphere and the quality of the food was great. I have tried many restaurants here but don't find a real Indian test. Staff were attentive and gave good service even when in...a very busy. We would definitely visit again with my staffMore

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
RonaqRestaurant, Marketing at Ronaq Restaurant - Comely Bank, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2020

Thank you for your review. So happy to read that you enjoyed the food, service and music. Hope to see you the next time with the staff.

Reviewed 5 September 2020 via mobile

We have just had our dinner here and, my! I cant say enough how I would highly recommend this restaurant! Food is super tasty, staff very professional and service is very good and fast! You are treated like a king! They have a lift for...people who cannot walk up! Wow! Would definitely come back next time we come to Scotland! Thank you guys, doing a great job!More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
RonaqRestaurant, Marketing at Ronaq Restaurant - Comely Bank, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2020

Thank you for your review. So happy to read that you enjoyed the food and service. Hope to see you the next time you are in Edinburgh.

Reviewed 14 July 2020 via mobile

Ladt night my wife and I decided to order takeaway from Ronaq attempted by the Facebook promotion offering 20% off. We called and after the order we realised that the price is much higher than expected. It turns out that they have updated the price...but failed to change the menu in their website. Although we told them twice that it's not our fault and we should have been charged the original price, the guy admitted the restaurant was wrong but he still wanted to charge us full price. I work in hospitality and I take my responsibility when I know my company is wrong, he didn't care at all. To end up, the chicken tikka masala had a strange yellow colour and it was very sweet, while the lamb sag had a good quality but very salty. Guess who's never going to come to your restaurant again?More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?6  
RonaqRestaurant, Marketing at Ronaq Restaurant - Comely Bank, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2020

Dear FabioEdi, Please accept our sincerest apology for a bad experience. We are well-known for our food and sit-in service because our team is dedicated to making sure that every experience at The Ronaq is a memorable one. However, takeaway & delivery service is new...More

Reviewed 2 March 2020 via mobile

Staying at the Village Hotel so this place was within walking distance and we fancied a curry. Booked a table the night before, just as well as the place was busy. Our seats were near the door and due to the way the door was...hung a draught came our way every time the door opened !! The prices compared to Aberdeen are on the high side, especially the wine, but the draft beer was reasonable? I ordered a biryani (medium) but this tasted hot to me, and the rice was a bit stodgy!! My wife’s curry a jalfraizi was fine for her palate but both meals were not piping hot. The chicken and lamb in the curries were very well cooked so no complaints there. The staff were efficient and friendly.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
RonaqRestaurant, Owner at Ronaq Restaurant - Comely Bank, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2020

Thank you for your kind review and we will be sure to take your comments on board!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Travelodge Edinburgh Learmonth
726 reviews
.56 km away
The Raeburn
1,051 reviews
.76 km away
Britannia Edinburgh Hotel
2,303 reviews
.92 km away
The Edinburgh Residence
444 reviews
1.00 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Rollo Stockbridge
670 reviews
.78 km away
Whiskers Wine Bar & Bistro
100 reviews
.91 km away
Scran & Scallie
2,651 reviews
.78 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Dean Village
1,573 reviews
.85 km away
Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art Two
615 reviews
.75 km away
Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art
412 reviews
.84 km away
Inverleith Park
82 reviews
1.06 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
LadyMonster
19 December 2019|
Answer
Response from Tim B | Reviewed this property |
This is a moderate walk from Stockbridge but the food is good.
0
Votes
J7666DXlisal
13 October 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from MrsPaterson2015 | Reviewed this property |
Sorry, not sure, we have vouchers now too, but haven’t used them yet
0
Votes
drmahmed58
20 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Tahir I | Property representative |
Yes all our food is halal.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ronaq Restaurant - Comely Bank

  • Yes, Ronaq Restaurant - Comely Bank offers takeaway services.

  • Yes, Ronaq Restaurant - Comely Bank offers delivery services.

  • Ronaq Restaurant - Comely Bank is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
    • Food: 4.5
    • Service: 4.5
    • Value: 4
    • Atmosphere: 4