We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
Indian, Asian, Balti
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (277)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveller rating
152
63
27
10
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
152
63
27
10
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews balti pashwari naan poppadoms rice pickle tray curries waverley station premier inn next door indian food modern restaurant royal mile best indian craft beer business lunch an excellent meal main meal excellent food and service
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 23 December 2020 via mobile

Pathetic taste. Quality have significantly deteriorated over lockdown period of comely bank branch Edinburgh .i unfortunately order twice once in October and I thought less try again in December but to my disappointment both time worst ever smelly undercooked chicken and rotten rice I got.More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?1  
Mohammed Shoaib Javaid, Marketing at Ronaq Restaurant - New Waverley, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave the restaurant some invaluable feedback. While the majority of reviews are positive we take any negative experiences of the restaurant very seriously and would like to apologise for your experience. We will be sure to take all...More

Reviewed 28 September 2020

Modern restaurant, very nice decor, staff pleasant but service was slow and food was very disappointing. Starter (meat samosa) had to be returned as it was stone cold inside and hot outside. All of our 4 main meals were far too spicy and the Tikka...Sauce tasted more like a Korma sauce. Unfortunately would not return.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
RonaqRestaurant, Marketing at Ronaq Restaurant - New Waverley, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2020

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we always appreciate feedback and we will be sure to take your comments on board.

Reviewed 21 September 2020 via mobile

We visited here last week for an evening meal. During our visit, we were waited on attentively. The staff were extremely courteous and professional. The popadom starter was lovely and the mains were cooked to perfection. I had no problem with my gluten free request...and no after effects. This restaurant is well worth a visit.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?2  
RonaqRestaurant, Marketing at Ronaq Restaurant - New Waverley, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2020

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we love to share these reviews with our teams.

Reviewed 21 September 2020 via mobile

Modern restaurant, nice food, good portions. Attentive staff. would recommend. Visited in early September and they were still doing ‘eat out to help out’ so good value for money.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
RonaqRestaurant, Marketing at Ronaq Restaurant - New Waverley, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2020

Thank you Sam for taking the time to leave us a fantastic review. It's always a pleasure seeing you at the restaurant and love that you enjoy it as much as we do.

Reviewed 19 September 2020

Visited tonight while staying in Edinburgh for 2 nights with my husband. We eat Indian food everywhere we visit. Tonight’s meal was fantastic. Highly recommend. The staff are second to none. Well done everyone, lovely restaurant, wonderful staff. Couldn’t ask for better. Much appreciated we...will be back!More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
RonaqRestaurant, Marketing at Ronaq Restaurant - New Waverley, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2020

Thank you so much for your kind review and we hope you enjoyed your time in Edinburgh!

Reviewed 13 September 2020 via mobile

This restaurant was next door to the Premier Inn we were staying at so we booked a table for the Tuesday night, it's a great restaurant and the food was excellent The restaurant itself was spotless as were the toilets , the spaces between tables...were also good , because of what's been going on everyone is being extremely careful. As we went on a week night there was also a reduction on the bill which we didn't know if I remember right I think it was 50% off your food order , but I don't know how long or when that offer ends, this place is definitely worth a visit.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?2  
RonaqRestaurant, Marketing at Ronaq Restaurant - New Waverley, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2020

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we are very pleased that you have enjoyed all of your trips to the restaurant and hope to see you again.

Reviewed 16 June 2020

This dirty place gave me food poisoning, and on a 3 day trip it took a good chunk of my time up. And to top that off they didn’t give me a desert I had paid for!! The food was bland and unappealing, looked like...something I’d make at home. Save your self some time and money, go to the Costa next door. I would recommend going to the handmade burger co. and avoids this dirty place!!More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?2  
RonaqRestaurant, Marketing at Ronaq Restaurant - New Waverley, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2020

Dear Josh, We are not sure what to reply to this review is disappointing our team as well. We have a hygienic kitchen. We never failed in hygiene certification since it has been open. And also, to maintain authenticity. We never use any artificial ingredients,...More

Reviewed 9 March 2020

JUST EAT EDINBURGH DRIVER EATING FOOD, THEFT!!!!! Ordered food from Ronaq restaurant totalling to £60. The website said it would be delivered by 20:39. This time kept pressing on and on. I received a text from the Just Eat driver at 21:00 asking for our...postcode, which I gave immediately. I then recieved yet another call saying he had no idea where it was. We had given the exact postcode and address, fully detailed. I then recieved yet another call with a then extremely rude angry male. We are not from Edinburgh, we do not know all of the street names, this is why we oreded a take away. As a delivery driver they should be familar with the roads and their names. But this driver treated me in such a rude disrespectful way as though it were my fault. By 21:49 and several phone calls later from the driver and from us to Just eat customer services we still had not received our food. I received a notification stating that the driver had 'successfully' delivered our food. But no food had arrived. We phoned the restaurant explaining the situation and they spoke to Just eat them selves, they also did not get any where. The phone was also put down on them and they were also treated with lack of respect. Eventually it resulted with our family left with no food, our diabetic child left with a hypoglycaemic episode due to the long wait and 2 of us having to go to the restaurant and paying yet another £60 for a new meal. TOTALLING TO £120. Absolutely disgraceful.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?5  
Reviewed 9 March 2020

We were staying at a hotel nearby and needed something convenient for lunch so we stopped at Ronaq. The food served its purpose. Service was also average.

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?2  
RonaqRestaurant, Marketing at Ronaq Restaurant - New Waverley, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2020

Thank you for your kind review

Reviewed 9 March 2020

Tried this restaurant for the first time - will be back for sure. Delicious authentic dishes - a great choice and so so tasty. The best restaurant curries I have had in years.

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
RonaqRestaurant, Marketing at Ronaq Restaurant - New Waverley, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2020

Thank you so much Sue!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its
labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests
this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly
visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers
that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the
place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as
the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal
Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre Royal Mile Hotel
2,065 reviews
.01 km away
hub by Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile hotel
2,748 reviews
.01 km away
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
5,582 reviews
.12 km away
Travelodge Edinburgh Central
2,872 reviews
.21 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Smoov Gelato Coffee
281 reviews
.10 km away
Wedgwood The Restaurant
2,279 reviews
.10 km away
La Garrigue
1,194 reviews
.06 km away
Tempting Tattie
213 reviews
.05 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Chocolatarium
414 reviews
.06 km away
John Knox House Museum
230 reviews
.11 km away
Scottish Storytelling Centre
105 reviews
.11 km away
Edinburgh Training and Conference Venue
20 reviews
.13 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Roxy C
4 January 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Tahir I | Property representative |
Hello Roxy, no Ronaq is not byob but we do have a fantastic range of drinks on offer at both our branches :)
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ronaq Restaurant - New Waverley

  • Yes, Ronaq Restaurant - New Waverley offers takeaway services.

  • Yes, Ronaq Restaurant - New Waverley offers delivery services.

  • Ronaq Restaurant - New Waverley is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
    • Food: 4.5
    • Service: 4.5
    • Value: 4