We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
Indian, Asian, Balti
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (325)
Filter reviews
315 results
Traveller rating
178
70
30
15
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
178
70
30
15
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chicken tikka masala curries cake premier inn next door indian restaurant best indian business lunch beautiful restaurant main course quality food an excellent meal birthday meal city centre portion sizes fantastic food visited this restaurant booked a table
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wonderful atmosphere, incredible food, brilliant view, and lovely + helpful staff. Well priced as well.

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
Marketing Team, Marketing at Ronaq Restaurant - New Waverley, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for such a kind review, we are glad you enjoyed your meal :)

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Would recommend this place to anybody, we were looking at the menu outside when a two people came out, "Don't think about it do it! they said.. its the best meal you'll have" and so we booked for the following evening. we were most definitely...NOT disappointed, great views from the first floor, great ambience, and great attentive staff that couldn't do enough for us, thank you to Sathya, he was really nice and welcoming, Ibi, looked after us all night welcoming and funny, and Sesha, another great attentive waiter that couldnt do enough for us, The food was fabulous, so fresh and tasty, This restaurant "Ronaq" is definitely on our list the next time we visit lovely Edinburgh.. Thanks very much all.. we loved it and we WILL BE BACK !!. Thank you. (Richard & Helyn) Cardiff.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
Marketing Team, Marketing at Ronaq Restaurant - New Waverley, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to share your lovely review. We pride ourselves on providing a warm and welcoming atmosphere and serving authentic Indian dishes, I am honoured these were both key highlights of your visit. We hope to welcome you back soon for more...More

Reviewed 2 April 2022 via mobile

Very stylish Indian restaurant on the first floor overlooking the railway station. The food was very good but pricier than average. The quality ensured good value nonetheless.

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
Marketing Team, Marketing at Ronaq Restaurant - New Waverley, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2022

Thanks so much for such a kind review, we look forward to your next visit!

Reviewed 21 March 2022

This is a beautiful restuarant in a lovely position with great views. The staff were very pleasant but unfortunately the food was mediocre at best. When the food arrived the waiters did not know which one was which and proceeded to poke around in them...to see what was in them! Even then they got it wrong. I ended up with my partner's dish even although I had been told it was the lamb. It had way too many chickpeas in it and was a bit dry. It wasn't very hot either. Having had this place recommened to me it was really disappointing. Will not return.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?1  
Marketing Team, Marketing at Ronaq Restaurant - New Waverley, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2022

We are sorry to hear this was your experience and we will be sure to take all your comments into consideration.

Reviewed 10 March 2022

The staff will bring you a plate of pappadum and accompanying sauce platter, which you didn't even ask for. The pappadum would be oil soaked, and you woudn't want to go for another bite. Yet, the bill receipt would show a charge for both of...these things. Doesn't matter if you asked for it or not. Quite a cheeky way to make a couple of quids.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?1  
Marketing Team, Marketing at Ronaq Restaurant - New Waverley, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2022

We are sorry to hear this was your experience and we will be sure to take all your comments into consideration.

Reviewed 6 March 2022 via mobile

One of the best curries we've ever had, and we have had a fair few. Beautiful flavour and cooked to perfection. The service was brilliant and the restaurant very nicely decorated. Cannot fault this restaurant at all. 5* 😍

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
Marketing Team, Marketing at Ronaq Restaurant - New Waverley, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2022

Thanks so much for such a kind review, we look forward to your next visit!

Reviewed 4 March 2022 via mobile

Very beautiful place. Lovely service and good nann <3 not the most amazing view at night time but super good food ! Will come again !

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
Marketing Team, Marketing at Ronaq Restaurant - New Waverley, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2022

Thanks so much for such a kind review, we look forward to your next visit!

Reviewed 18 February 2022

Amazing food plus amazing views. I can't believe people have given this place anything less than 5 stars.

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
Marketing Team, Marketing at Ronaq Restaurant - New Waverley, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2022

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we are very pleased that you have enjoyed all of your trips to the restaurant and hope to see you again.

Reviewed 9 February 2022

Booked the ronaq for a meal for 8 of us on a night out in Edinburgh, beautiful place and the food and service was just amazing, i highly recommend this place to anyone, the staff were fantastic and very helpful, probably one of the best...indian meals i have hadMore

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
Marketing Team, Marketing at Ronaq Restaurant - New Waverley, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2022

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we are very pleased that you have enjoyed all of your trips to the restaurant and hope to see you again.

Reviewed 5 February 2022 via mobile

Staying at the Premier inn next door we decided on curry for our evening meal and as this Indian restaurant was next door we thought why not reviews weren’t too bad so we thought why not ? Ok ordered Onion Bajhi starter this wasn’t like...we normally receive at any Indian we have ever been to in 37years they are a bit like Morrisons without any niceness to them in fact it could have come from morrisons??? The curry this was prawn korma now this wasn’t very good either it seamed that the cream when cooked either it wasn’t looked after or it was on the Turn it wasn’t nice at all the Rice mushroom pelaw this had far too much oil in it this evening meal as far as I was concerned was a Waste of money I would have been better if I had just given the Money to a Edinburgh charity to feed the Homeless ( not them who sit outside pretending to be homeless) my wife had same starter but chicken main course which she said how Dry it was. I don’t recommend this restaurant and I wouldn’t ever go back not even for a Free replacement meal if offered. I always try and give a balanced review of my experience check my reviews out sometimes 5* sometimes less.More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?1  
Marketing Team, Marketing at Ronaq Restaurant - New Waverley, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2022

We are sorry to hear this was your experience - we will be sure to take all your comments on board!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its
labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests
this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly
visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers
that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the
place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as
the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal
Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre Royal Mile Hotel
2,258 reviews
.01 km away
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
5,785 reviews
.12 km away
Travelodge Edinburgh Central
3,077 reviews
.21 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh City Centre
3,182 reviews
.23 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Haggis Box
108 reviews
.10 km away
The Royal Bawarchi
5 reviews
.11 km away
Smoov Gelato Coffee
322 reviews
.10 km away
PIGGS
223 reviews
.09 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Chocolatarium
1,363 reviews
.06 km away
John Knox House Museum
233 reviews
.11 km away
Scottish Storytelling Centre
105 reviews
.11 km away
Edinburgh Training and Conference Venue
20 reviews
.13 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Roxy C
4 January 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Mohammed J | Property representative |
Hello Roxy, no Ronaq is not byob but we do have a fantastic range of drinks on offer at both our branches :)
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ronaq Restaurant - New Waverley

Yes, Ronaq Restaurant - New Waverley offers takeaway services.

Ronaq Restaurant - New Waverley is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4