We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$15 - $25
CUISINES
Asian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (345)
Filter reviews
342 results
Traveller rating
239
54
23
7
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
239
54
23
7
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews curry poppadoms rice nan lamb indian restaurant great meal tasty food takeaway thursday mains galashiels toilets miles gem wee
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 5 September 2022 via mobile

I recently had a takeaway from Taste of Spice in Selkirk and I have to say if I didn’t live 10 mins away by car I would have returned it. I ordered a veggie Curry with Rice and it was absolutely tasteless, no flavour nor...depth. I notice a few good reviews for sitting which makes me think the takeaway service is not of the same quality. Sorry but I won’t be back.More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 September 2022

myself and the wife visited here 2/9/22 and the food is excellent,service polite and quick. i love madras currys and i have to say i have had many curries in many restaurants-but this was eceptional. everything from starters to mains we enjoyed. really recommend if...your travelling in the area.More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 24 July 2022 via mobile

First visit as staying at local hotel. Service was superb. All staff very pleasant & welcoming. The food was very tasty & not overly spicy. Ordered Balti Chicken Tikka & Chicken Tikka Massala with Garlic Corianda Nan. Portions very generous. Would recommend visiting if in...the area.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 24 June 2022

First visit after nearly three years.. food delicious, service excellent. One of the best Indian restaurants I have been in. Everything spotless. Good atmosphere. Would recommend a visit.

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 20 June 2022

I ordered a meal for delivery from this restaurant using their third party online ordering agent Fusion Kitchen. Their agent's website had no option to choose delivery options during the ordering process, but I persevered and received a confirmation email from Fusion Kitchen advising me...that my order had been processed and they provided me with a delivery time. I then received a call from Taste of Spice who informed me that the delivery charge would be £11. When I reluctantly agreed to that, the male member of staff there then changed his mind regarding my delivery, and said they would not fulfil my order, saying that I would receive a refund from Fusion Kitchen "Hopefully soon, but maybe in 5 days" and then abruptly hung up. This level of customer service is completely unacceptable.More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
tasteofspice, General Manager at Taste of Spice, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2022

We apologies for inconvenience caused. You refused pay the delivery charge -which 12 miles away from our restaurant. We use third party driver and they are not able to deliver for free.Your money now refunded.

Reviewed 15 May 2022

Always a joy - Thursday is deal night, but the food is fresh and indian and the service is always great

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
tasteofspice, Manager at Taste of Spice, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2022

Thank you

Reviewed 10 May 2022 via mobile

We are here as a group. We arrived early but were told to leave and come back later. Once allowed to order - the service was efficient but not particularly friendly. It felt that they wanted us to eat quickly and leave. Food was average....I had a “3 chilli” dish which only had the mildest heat. A bit disappointing as a packageMore

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 4 January 2022

Much as I hate to criticise a local business at this time, I feel this review is justified. We ordered a meal for 4 online for our New Year Treat. Our usual favourite place in Gala is shut on a Monday so we gave Taste...Of Spice a go, expecting a delicious meal in line with their usual reputation for excellent food. The online ordering and delivery were efficient, so they get one star for that alone. However, the food was very disappointing. Bland, insipid, tasteless, mediocre. The Lamb Saslik was just lamb, no tandoori flavour. The sauce with it was sloppy and insipid. The Patia was bland and tasteless and the portion size was mediocre. The chicken tikka masala tasted like it had been cobbled together with a tin of tomatoes. There was no "delicious spicy sauce" with the peas and panir, it was just plain peas with a claggy mess of crumbled cheese. The poppadoms were crushed to tiny pieces. Overall it was like a cheap supermarket curry or inept home-cooked effort. At over £20 a head (including sides and delivery), we expected better. I would like to think that it was not the usual chef that night (else there would be a lot more negative reviews). We didn't send it back because we are a 15 minute drive away and we were all enjoying a new year drink. The food was edible and we ate it, but honestly I could have done better myself. I could have saved £80. Needless to say, we won't be using them again. I recommend Gala Tandoori in Galashiels.More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?4  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 6 December 2021

Very sorry to say our experience of this establishment was far from the best this evening. We tried to ignore a ‘take away’ customer being grilled and humiliated to the point she was nearly in tears. No idea where ‘the customer is always right’ approach...was, though I certainly would not be happy if I was overcharged and was screamed at for questioning it. The female serving was extremely rude, unprofessional and in the ladies face, I’m not surprised someone came in afterwards to complain. In fact, I’m surprised they actually went ahead with the purchase. Totally ruined our evening, the restaurant was very quiet, so every word could be heard. In light of the recent pandemic, I think your staff need to be taught some manners as to keep what customers you do have, as we certainly won’t be rushing back. Atmosphere was tense, not what we needed and could easily have been avoided.More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 30 November 2021

recently moved to selkirk and this place was highly recommended. We have eaten a lot of indian food over the years and we are pretty severe scorers but this place is frankly brilliant. The food which authentic, tasty, well presented and perfectly cooked with no...gristly bits or chewy bits of meat which makes a change from most. The rice is light and fluffy and the vegetables are fresh and varied. We were frankly stunned and delighted to find this gem on our doorsteps and have since ordered a takeout which was equally good Service was well, ok to good but very polite mainly as they were so busy and I feel they can be forgiven that given how impressed we were overallMore

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 14 November 2021

Very disappointed in the service we received from this Indian last night. I had booked a table 2 weeks previously for a birthday celebration and upon arrival, no table had been booked for us and the restaurant was fully booked! No offer of a takeaway,...or a replacement meal was suggested just simply told ‘sorry, nothing we can do we are full’ which is not acceptable. We travelled for this meal and were very disappointed to leave with nothing.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
tasteofspice, Manager at Taste of Spice, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2021

Dear Madam, we have apologised for your last review on google and offered a 50% discount on your next visit. We have now retrained our front of house staff that this doesn't happen again. We are sorry for the inconvenience caused.

Reviewed 13 November 2021 via mobile

This meal was ordered on the just eat app as it appeared to be the most convenient way to order. How wrong can you be. Ordered via the app at 1655, with a predicted delivery of 70-90 minutes. 2 1/2 hours later, called the main...restaurant number as the one given on the order goes straight to voicemail and is totally ignored. Told the meal was on it’s way. 10 minutes later, it arrived. Started dishing out and the most expensive main was missing. Called the restaurant and had to press hard for it to be refunded due to the length of time it would take to redeliver. I also said I’d like the delivery charge refunded. Lots of talk, so let’s see what happens. The starter I ordered was the beef adobo and I have to say, it’s probably the worst form of protein I have ever put in my mouth. I’ve never had a cut of beef that had so much fat and gristle. Probably a sirloin cut. But a really poor one. The main was ordered with a garlic rice. This effectively was redundant as their was nothing to eat it with. We are 10 miles from the restaurant, so logistically more of a challenge. My advice would be, if you order on the app, be close enough to walk in and ask for your order to be corrected. I do not have time for any excuses, or playing the covid card. If you can’t meet the expectations you set, bring in your delivery distances. Considerably.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 18 October 2021 via mobile

Booked in for 4 adults, on a Tuesday teatime. Were met by lovely friendly staff and seated at a nice table. Restaurant has been redecorated since we were last there and is bright and fresh. Menu was extensive, without being confusing, even giving an option...to ask for items not included and chefs will do their best to accommodate requests. Waiter gave us good advice on items we ordered. Our meal was served in good time, everything was so delicious, tasty, hot and plentiful! Didn’t leave a scrap of anything on the plates when we were finished! All in all, a very enjoyable experience. From friendly smiley staff, to great food and service, we will definitely return. Also, restaurant was very covid aware, which made us feel relaxed as everything was so clean and well considered. Top marks!More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 17 October 2021 via mobile

First time back in nearly five years. It was good then and I can report that standards have not dropped. Ambiance, friendly staff and delicious food made for a great meal. I would recommend this establishment.

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 11 October 2021

Visited Taste of Spice with my wife while staying overnight in Selkirk. I’ve been to some excellent Indian restaurants in Glasgow and other UK cities and can honestly say that, in our opinion, this is up there with the best. Freshly decorated, attentive staff and...fresh, tasty food. The lamb sashlik was particularly tasty.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
tasteofspice, Owner at Taste of Spice, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2021

Thank you sir

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
County Hotel
232 reviews
.09 km away
Heatherlie House Hotel
21 reviews
.47 km away
Glen Hotel
279 reviews
.63 km away
Philipburn Hotel
541 reviews
1.23 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Fleece
271 reviews
.03 km away
Number One
31 reviews
.08 km away
Three Hills Coffee Co.
50 reviews
.10 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Sir Walter Scott's Courtroom
73 reviews
.06 km away
Halliwell's House Museum
59 reviews
.08 km away
Lochcarron of Scotland Visitor Centre
91 reviews
.70 km away
Haining Loch
28 reviews
.47 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Stroupertrooper
7 February 2020|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from tasteofspice | Property representative |
Yes
0
Votes
jan e
14 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from tasteofspice | Property representative |
Hello we are getting ready to deliver food in our local area soon. Please check our website for more details Thank you.
0
Votes
P H
17 July 2015|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from tasteofspice | Property representative |
Dear Guest we are sorry to hear that your last visit to our restaurant was not as you expected, we aim to provide 100% to all our guest - wheather new in or regulars. It will be helpful if you could provide exact date and... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

TASTE OF SPICE, Selkirk - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Taste of Spice

Yes, Taste of Spice offers takeaway services.

Yes, Taste of Spice offers delivery services.

Taste of Spice is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5