We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fresh Bytes

51 Main Street, Campbeltown PA28 6AB, Scotland
+44 1586 551666
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good32%
  • Average10%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“rhubarb cake” (2 reviews)
“cakes” (5 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Scottish, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
51 Main Street, Campbeltown PA28 6AB, Scotland
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited here on a whim and glad we did. The menu has a large selection with something to suit everyone. Service was excellent and prompt. The food was plentiful and tasty we also had one of the fruit scones which was also very tasty. Prices...More

Thank Kizzy101
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I'd strongly recommend this bakery for freshly prepared, hot and cold food and drinks. We arrived in Campbeltown on a wRm sunny, autumnal day and chose to make our lunch a take away meal and sat along the front shore, a short walk from this...More

Thank kenf1962
Reviewed 30 July 2017

Lovely little cafe in Campbeltown, really really good coffee and excellent home baking. Great seletction of gluten free home baking too. Kids enjoyed really good hot chocolate as well. And, most importantly for us, dog friendly.

Thank SoozyMcL
Reviewed 30 June 2017

Walking around in the morning I wanted (needed) a good cup of coffee. I found it here. The coffee was well made and very, very good. Then I tried a homemade scone to go with it and I was delighted. Great coffee and a great...More

Thank ChathamTom
Reviewed 16 June 2017

Not pretentious, but honest. Food OK. Very helpful staff, just ask and they will do what they can to help you.

Thank murox2017
Reviewed 20 April 2017

Great find - owner really friendly and accommodating. Came here after big walk to Mull of Kintyre lighthouse so we were all starving. Came with gluten intolerant friends who were well-catered for here. Wide-ranging menu with all-day breakfast, baked potatoes, casseroles, sausage and mash, pie...More

Thank MadameRenard77
Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

4 of us called around 11am on a saturday morning. We all had full breakfast one didn't want fresh mushrooms he was given something else, the breakfast was full freshly cooked and the plates were warm the coffee was freshly made to our request extra...More

Thank Robert M
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Definitely not the place to order coffee and a scone.The coffee from a dispensing machine was pretty grim, and the scone , whilst heated up, tasted four days old. You can do better elsewhere .More

Thank LanarkshireKillieboy
Kathryn B, Owner at Fresh Bytes, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

All our scones are freshly baked and we always heat them up as the majority of our customers prefer them that way. Our coffee is Lavazza and is very popular. If you had complained at the time we would have done everything we could to...More

Reviewed 12 September 2016

We have been coming here for several years as I always get a great choice of meals and cakes. I'm gluten and lactose intolerant as well as having IBS. The people are friendly and helpful and have been known to share recipes with me which...More

1  Thank Stephanie20091973
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

I ordered a cheese scone and a coffee. The coffee tasted like dishwater (it was from a dispensing machine) and the scone was heated up so quickly I can only assume it was microwaved. Aren't fresh ones normally served cold?More

1  Thank Marrowontour
Kathryn B, Owner at Fresh Bytes, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016

I am so sorry you were disappointed with both your scone and coffee. If we had known we would had responded with immediate replacements. We use a Lavazza recommended machine and have no control over strength of the coffee dispensed but we could have added...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Cafe Bluebell
191 reviews
.18 km away
The Black Sheep Pub
164 reviews
.22 km away
Ardshiel Restaurant
166 reviews
.32 km away
The Harbourview Grille
216 reviews
.11 km away
Nearby Attractions
Springbank Distillery
222 reviews
.28 km away
Davaar Island Cave Painting of the Crucifixion
46 reviews
.94 km away
Glen Scotia Distillery
20 reviews
.70 km away
Coastal Design
34 reviews
.18 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
alexander99959
20 July 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from jingscrivens717 | Reviewed this property |
I'm not certain, but I think they don't. They have a board outside, advertising the specials, and it doesn't mention Wi-Fi. (the only place I am certain has Wifi in Campbeltown is the Royal Hotel coffee bar, but probably... More
0
Votes

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Campbeltown

Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Takeout, Highchairs Available
Good for
Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 51 Main Street, Campbeltown PA28 6AB, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Argyll and Bute  >  Kintyre Peninsula  >  Campbeltown
  • Phone Number: +44 1586 551666
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing