We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Percy French

) #23 of 39 Restaurants in Newcastle ₹₹ - ₹₹₹ Irish, , European
Downs Road, Newcastle, Northern Ireland
+44 28 4372 3175
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good22%
  • Average16%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
“cheesecake” (9 reviews)
“mussels” (10 reviews)
“soup” (12 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Irish, Bar, European, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Downs Road, Newcastle, Northern Ireland
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
Reviews (658)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 655 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

There is a lady chef she is the best on Sunday there was male chefs very bad worse teast ever Hastings needs to wise up 4 stars it's not it's 2 stars burrendale is the same prices r mad staff not clean restaurant not clean...More

Thank ryanmichael1985
Berni_Guest_Services, Manager at Percy French, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest, Not sure what you are actually reviewing, is it the chefs, do you not like them? Our Sunday Lunch menu offers great value for money, 4 courses for £20. Not sure what the pictures are showing either, to me they show our Turkey...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My wife an I visited Percy French resteraunt on a lovely 12th of july day on our way home from annalong.we were escorted to our table by young waitress who asked us if we would like to sit at the window seat with views overlooking...More

Thank David P
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Shockingly long wait and food was and raw.Staff were not unduly concerned. If you can't cook chips properly you really shouldn't be cooking anything.

2  Thank ronniesstudios
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked at short notice on a Sunday evening. The restaurant was busy but service was not effected. Irish mussels to start and sea bass for mains. Both were excellent but the sticky toffee pudding with ice cream was a great way to finish. Others had...More

Thank Frankie T
Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I went to the PF on Sunday evening for a bite to eat. We ordered probably the 2 most basic choices on the menu. Steak burger and chips and goujons and chips. How difficult could this be you ask? I ordered the...More

3  Thank Jillian A
Berni_Guest_Services, Manager at Percy French, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest, May I begin by thanking you for dining with ourselves at the Percy French. I recall speaking with yourselves and I apologised at the time given that you expressed your disappointment. I even took the cost of the Goujons off the meal, which...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We ate here Sunday and Monday and what a difference a day makes. The food was lovely on both occasions but the noise level was just a bit too much for us on Sunday. We have no kids though and are used to quieter surroundings...More

Thank janjan92017
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Find this outlet under utilised . Not very comfortable - not very attentive staff and can be a hassle to book from hotel ie too busy no tables and when you walk down - whats the problem ? Food average at best and poor value...More

2  Thank 123jock
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in the Slieve Donard and a family group of 15 booked for dinner. Being so close to the hotel we obviously assumed something special... we were sorely disappointed by both food and service. Neither special nor even average. Perhaps they were too busy?...More

2  Thank michealmm30
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice location but menu over priced. Small quantities and expensive side orders. OK if you don't mind paying to look at the at the Irish Sea but if you want good value for money check out other locations in the town

2  Thank jimritchie1
Berni_Guest_Services, Manager at Percy French, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting a review of your recent visit to the Percy French Restaurant. I thank you for your feedback regarding your visit. Kind Regards James Toal Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Walked into the Percy French last night with a party of 11 for my daughters birthday, it was extremely busy and we did not have a table booked I got talking to Lauren who was very accommodating to our large party giving us a table...More

Thank paulb32363
Berni_Guest_Services, Manager at Percy French, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. We will let Lauren and the team know that you were pleased with their service. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Regards James Toal Percy French Manager

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Vanilla Restaurant
853 reviews
.31 km away
Villa Vinci
834 reviews
.20 km away
Great Jones Craft & Kitchen
205 reviews
.34 km away
Doc's Fish and Chips
157 reviews
.26 km away
Nearby Attractions
Murlough National Nature Reserve
212 reviews
.54 km away
Slieve Donard
225 reviews
.21 km away
Newcastle Visitor Information Centre
69 reviews
.66 km away
Coco's Adventure Playground
59 reviews
.72 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Percy French staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 8 - US$ 33
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, View, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Downs Road, Newcastle, Northern Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Northern Ireland  >  County Down  >  Newcastle
  • Phone Number: +44 28 4372 3175
Description
Situated in the grounds of the luxurious Slieve Donard Resort & Spa, the Perch French is the perfect place to relax with a drink and enjoy the finest of local produce, cooked to perfection.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing