We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Denvir's

Certificate of Excellence
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Irish, Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
14-16 English Street | County Down, Downpatrick BT30 6AB, Northern Ireland
+44 28 4461 2012
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

135 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 132: English reviews
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

The food in this pub is second to none!!!! The chef is terriffic!!! Flexible accommodating and amazingly talented!!! The customer service from Grace? Fantastic!! Atmosphere n surroundings just perfect.....i eat out alot n am EXTREMELY fussy..there were NO FAULTS to be found!!! Go...eat....enjoy....b happy!!!

Helpful?
Thank hiker1girl
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's, responded to this review

Hi hiker1girl, We are really delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Denvir's, and thank you for such a positive review. We will make a point of ensuring that both Grace and the kitchen are aware of your kind words. I presume by your title that you explored the local area a bit. I hope you liked what you found,... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in Downpatrick to visit a few friends, had such a great time in Denvirs, lovely food, welcoming service, and nice beers! Makes all the difference when you're in a venue that properly cares for you. Aoibheann (hope that's the correct spelling!) was a credit to the place. Would definitely stay again. 👍🏼

Helpful?
Thank Tom H
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's, responded to this review

Hi Tom, Thank you so much for such a kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we will make sure Aoibheann is made aware of your kind words. Hopefully we'll see you again soon, Kind Regards Chris More 

Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great food great staff the only bar in Belfast wit a friendly atmosphere and a fantastic selection on drinks the staff are friendly and helpful and the place is looking fantastic with the renovations as well as keeping the feel of the old building

Helpful?
Thank JamesW-Mc
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's, responded to this review

Hi James, I presume you meant Downpatrick as opposed to Belfast in your review? I hope so anyway. We are working away in Denvir's, doing it up as we go along, whilst at the same time being respectful to the fact that it is over 350 years old. Thank you for the kind review, Chris More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed at this hotel in Downpatrick Co Down Northern Ireland the food was so nice and everything was lovely and fresh. The rooms where lovely with all clean and rooms smell nice and fresh as well Staff all willing to help in many ways this hotel has a great history behind it hope you have a great stay

Helpful?
Thank Stevie1604
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's, responded to this review

Hi Stevie, Thank you so much for such a kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and you are correct about the history. The premises are actually 350, or 375 years old this year; there is a bit of doubt about the exact date which we are currently researching. Hopefully we'll see you again soon.... More 

1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had originally booked lunch for 8-10 people on a quiet monday afternoon and arrived with 20! This was not a problem for Shannon who was the only waitress on that afternoon, if she was stressed she did not show it, even with orders coming in every direction she was brilliant! Food was gorgeous as usual and later, behind the bar,... More 

Helpful?
Thank gormo17
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's, responded to this review

Hi gormo17, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a nice review. It was a bit of a surprise to see so many of you arrive, but you know that you are always more than welcome. We'll make a point of making both Shannon and the Kitchen aware of your kind comments. Thank you again, Chris More 

Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Denvirs is a very friendly bar/restaurant. The staff are welcoming and helpful. There is an all day menu which is great value. The seafood chowder is particularly good. I have eaten there on a number of occasions and have never been disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank AliceBT30
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's, responded to this review

Thank you Alice for such a positive review. We are delighted you enjoy Denvir's, and to be honest, the chowder is one of my favourite dishes as well! Hopefully we'll see you again soon, Kind Regards Chris More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

I stayed for one night and received a very warm welcome, the bar was quiet but full of character and as a solo traveller I was made to feel very welcome as soon as I walked in. My room was basic but comfy, there were a few cosmetic bits and bobs that could be looked at but nothing that would... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jonny A
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's, responded to this review

Hi Jonny, We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and also delighted that you enjoyed Downpatrick so much. We think it is a hidden gem, Kind Regards Chris More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2017

Went for a family meal to Denvir's just before Christmas and we weren't disappointed. Good menu choices, with a few offers available making it very reasonable. Relaxed atmosphere in both the restaurant and the bar area. Recommended.

Helpful?
Thank samanthani
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's, responded to this review

Hi Samantha, Thank you so much for leaving such a kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Take care, Chris More 

County Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

Took my girlfriend and her mother for Sunday lunch had purchased them Horatio Dinner vouchers for xmas had 3 fabulous starters of chicken wings BBQ and spicy both flavours were great for mains I had the roast beef with Yorkshire pudding mash and veg my g/f had the ham with garlic roasties and veg her mum had the steak, all... More 

Helpful?
Thank robbie209
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's, responded to this review

Hi Robbie, Thank you very much for such a positive review, we're delighted you had an enjoyable visit, and I will certainly make Darryl aware of your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you soon. Kind Regards Stephen More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2017

The decor and atmosphere are really nice, and this would be a positive review if we had just called in for a pint. But our dining experience was disappointing. Apart from the staple soup of the day and a garlic ciabatta, their vegetarian menu consists of removing the meat from one of the starters and one of the mains. As... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Felipe H
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's, responded to this review

Hi Felipe, Apologies for taking so long to respond to your review. To be honest I was a bit surprised by it because it is so far out of kilter with our other reviews and I wanted to speak with our Head Chef and staff first before doing so. Due to holidays etc. following the busy Christmas period I only... More 

Travellers who viewed Denvir's also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Crossgar, Downpatrick
 
Downpatrick, County Down
 

Been to Denvir's? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 6 - US$ 26
Cuisine
Irish, Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch
Restaurant features
Serves Alcohol, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Parking Available
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Groups, Romantic, Cheap Eats
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 14-16 English Street | County Down, Downpatrick BT30 6AB, Northern Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Northern Ireland  >  County Down  >  Downpatrick
  • Phone Number: +44 28 4461 2012
Description
Denvir's is an old Coaching Inn dating from 1642. It is full of old world charm and is popular with both tourists and locals, so you will enjoy a real County Down welcome and fit right into the community.
Food is served all day from breakfast through to dinner, and there is entertainment 5 nights per week from Wednesday to Sunday.
Groups can be catered for in either of the restaurants, and management are happy to tailor packages to ensure full enjoyment.
And finally, there are 6 bedrooms to let. So, forget about going home. Have a nice meal, enjoy the entertainment, a good rest, and then in the morning, enjoy some of the local historic sites such as St. Patrick's grave which are only a stone's throw from the Inn.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Denvir's staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?