We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

James Street South

Certificate of Excellence
₹₹₹₹
City Centre
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
21 James Street South | BT2 7GA, Belfast BT2 7GA, Northern Ireland
+44 28 9043 4310
Website
Sunday
Closed
Hours:
Mon - Sat 17:30 - 21:30
Wed - Sat 12:30 - 14:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

803 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 793: English reviews
N. Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

Simple surroundings and good food - the service, provided mainly by William, was attentive and charming...not sure we'd have enjoyed the experience quite as much had he not been there. He was knowledgeable when asked for advice about which wine to choose and our 11 yr old thought he was really "cool".... The food was good but not great....the cheeseboard... More 

Helpful?
Thank anniebr
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

This restaurant is lovely - the food is delicious and locally sourced and the ambience is charming and the service is excellent.

Helpful?
Thank Claire S
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Lovely service , warm welcome , quiet when we visited but it was a rainy midweek evening. I had the Guinness Salmon then the Cod, both were exceptional also loved the champ and garlic cabbage. This is a must on a business trip to Belfast.

Helpful?
Thank Michael W
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

My husband and I dined at James Street South for our wedding anniversary. We sampled the tasting menu with wine. The whole experience was heavenly and the tastes were sensational. Presentation and service were exemplary. Both the restaurant and the bistro next door make beautiful lemon drop martinis! If you're looking for somewhere special I would highly recommend James Street... More 

Helpful?
Thank David R
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Amazing food and service, first time there and can wait to go back. From starter to main course everything so tasty. . . . . . . . .

Helpful?
Thank Abcde34
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Food great and beautifully presented but atmosphere is for me and my colleagues stifling. The formal approach is not to my taste which is a pity the food is first class. It is expensive given the execellent competition Belfast offers.

Helpful?
Thank ps001303
Belinda T, Reservations Coordinator at James Street South, responded to this review

Dear ps001303 Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal. We are sorry if you felt let down by the atmosphere as we do try to make our customers feel relaxed and comfortable. Kind Regards Belinda More 

County Monaghan, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Possibly the worst meal I've ever eaten. Came here to continue the celebrations for my birthday and what an absolute disappointment! From first glance at the menu, I was unsure. Usually, there are two or three options that I just can't decide between but on this occasion, I had to try to pick the best of a not very appetising... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank 41sin_adm
Belinda T, Reservations Coordinator at James Street South, responded to this review

Dear 41sin_adm We are so disappointed to read your recent review and we are so sorry that you felt so let down by your experience. This is certainly not how we intend our customers to feel. Our manager William remembers speaking with you on the night and he is very sorry that you have left feeling this way. Kind Regards... More 

Belfast
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very expensive for a meal of average quality. Small portions which now seems to be the norm for 'upmarket' establishments. £32 for a small steak ( of average quality ) + another £4 for each vegetable is a little excessive. Won't even mention the wine list ! Have eaten here before and enjoyed it but really not impressed this time.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank dunluce
Belinda T, Reservations Coordinator at James Street South, responded to this review

Dear dunluce We are so disappointed to read your recent review and apologise if you felt let down by your experience as this is not how we want our customers to feel. We are saddened that you say you won't return. Kind Regards Belinda More 

Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We had excellent meals here a little before the New Year. Impeccable service started even before we got there. We were a little lost and called ahead. The head waitress came out and down the street and waited to guide us to the restaurant. The menu choices were limited but interesting. Our meals were delicious and quite reasonably priced. Ambiance... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrew E
Belinda T, Reservations Coordinator at James Street South, responded to this review

Dear Andrew E Thank you for your recent review and taking the time to share your comments with others. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to us and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Kind Regards Belinda More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I had a wonderful early bird meal with several friends and my high expectations of this renowned restaurant were not disappointed. Nor were they quite exceeded. The food was exceptionally good and the service was warm, friendly and attentive. Perhaps having savoured the delights of too many eateries throughout the world, I have become impossibly demanding but a couple of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrewsax
Belinda T, Reservations Coordinator at James Street South, responded to this review

Dear Andrewsax Thank you for your your recent review and taking the time to share your comments with others. We welcome all feedback and are pleased that you enjoyed your food and service and we apologise if you felt let down in some parts. We do hope that this does not deter you from visiting us again. Kind Regards Belinda More 

Travellers who viewed James Street South also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to James Street South? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 22 - US$ 93
Cuisine
Irish, European, British, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Dining Style
Fine Dining
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Monday
17:30 - 21:30
Tuesday
17:30 - 21:30
Wednesday
17:30 - 21:30
12:30 - 14:30
Thursday
17:30 - 21:30
12:30 - 14:30
Friday
17:30 - 21:30
12:30 - 14:30
Saturday
17:30 - 21:30
12:30 - 14:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 21 James Street South | BT2 7GA, Belfast BT2 7GA, Northern Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Northern Ireland  >  Belfast>  > City Centre
  • Neighbourhood: City Centre
  • Phone Number: +44 28 9043 4310
Description
City Centre Restaurant with Cookery School. Using the best of Northern Iris produce for a seasonal menu. Set lunch and pre theatre daily from fifteen pounds and fifty pence for two courses, A La Carte and Tasting Menu always available. Now with Private Dining Room and The Bar and Grill, a more casual dining option located next door.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of James Street South and other visitors
6 questions
Ask a question
Chipping Campden, United Kingdom
2 months ago
Belfast, United Kingdom
Chipping Campden, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from James Street South staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?