We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Travellers Rest

₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Caerphilly, Cardiff CF83 1LY, Wales
+44 29 2085 9021
Website
Today
12:00 - 22:30
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 12:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

606 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 602: English reviews
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
557 reviews
306 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stopped here for drinks on a busy Friday evening - this pub is clearly popular and lots of people were being turned away for dinner due to being fully booked. They have a good selection of gins and ales, and there are some lovely cosy areas to have drinks in.

Helpful?
Thank PebbleL
General Manager A, Manager at Travellers Rest, responded to this review

Pebblel, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Traveller's Rest, Caerphilly! We love the feed back and hope to see you again soon. More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely food very nice and cosy inside, reasonably priced would definitely go back An would highly recommend it.

Helpful?
Thank deby p
General Manager A, Manager at Travellers Rest, responded to this review

Thank you for this lovely review. Hope to see you again soon for another enjoyable visit More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

My partner and I went for an evening meal on a Monday night. I ordered the sea bass with asparagus and crushed potatoes, and a side order of tender stem broccoli with melted cheese. The fish was overcooked and dry, the green vegetables and potatoes watery and tasteless. Our table was wonky and the cutlery mismatched. The whole place felt... More 

Helpful?
Thank Al B
General Manager A, Manager at Travellers Rest, responded to this review

I am very sorry to here that your visit was less than satisfactory. The service we provided this day was clearly not up to scratch and once again we are very sorry for this. More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

As a family we have a funny relationship with the Traveller's Rest. We love the age of the building, interior and staff, so much that we always wind up giving the food another go, but we are always disappointed. We've eaten here as a local family, periodically and the food is a real let down. Yet, despite the feedback on... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Laura M
General Manager A, Manager at Travellers Rest, responded to this review

Hi Laura, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. We are currently in for a rescore for our Food hygiene rating which was from early last year. We are sorry for this experience and hoipe to see you again... More 

Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Firstly note this is a hygiene rated 1 pub. The staff were very good. Food good, but we ordered haddock fish cakes with broccoli and vine tomatoes. There was not a vine tomato in sight instead there was lettuce on a hot meal, surely you should get what is on the menu !!

Helpful?
Thank Claire L
General Manager A, Manager at Travellers Rest, responded to this review

Hi Claire L thank you for taking the time to leave us your honest feedback. Claire L, we strive for 100% satisfaction, and we regret to find out that this was not the case. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
319 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place is in a quiet spot near a corner with a car park at the front and I know it well on passing quite a few times mainly in my car The food was awful here and the service was slow and I have been for a drink here once before and it was fine when someone recommended the... More 

Helpful?
Thank hols256
General Manager A, Manager at Travellers Rest, responded to this review

Hi I'm very sorry for the bad experience on this day, we do try and keep our service and food at the highest of standards but I can see we let you down today. Hopefully on your next visit we can redeem our selves. Thanks again More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very disappointing meal, one steak went back, others didn't look like the cut they were supposed to be even the burgers were disappointing as this was a birthday celebration it was a real let down

Helpful?
Thank Suzannejayne1066
General Manager A, Manager at Travellers Rest, responded to this review

We are very sorry for the quality of food you received on your visit and thank you for bringing these issues to us. More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a very pleasant visit to the Traveller's Rest for lunch on Saturday after a walk from Rhiwbina via the Wenallt - very kind and thoughtful staff, good choice of food, lovely food, and to top in off, a very delicious and warming old-school pudding.

Helpful?
Thank eoj2017
General Manager A, Manager at Travellers Rest, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments glad you enjoyed your meal and look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Food was lovely me and my partner had the Sunday roast platter. However the roared parsnips came in the same bowl as the cabbage and carrots so they were soggy and the turkey was dry. The beef and pork were scrumptious. I was however really disappointed to see that they only have a hygiene rating of 1. I know this... More 

Helpful?
Thank Em U
General Manager A, Manager at Travellers Rest, responded to this review

Hi there, We have looked in to these issues with the roast and hopefully wont happen again. We are awaiting a rescore for the 1 on the door. The issues came about last year and under new management, we are currently working hard to get this changed. Many thanks More 

gardiff
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having had a disastrous meal at Christmas, all the family revisited that Travellers Rest today What a difference Tania and her staff are doing a good job in turning the place around.We would as a family all the best for the future.Well done

Helpful?
Thank ahtho289
General Manager A, Manager at Travellers Rest, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments see you again soon! More 

Travellers who viewed Travellers Rest also viewed

Caerphilly, Caerphilly County
Caerphilly, Caerphilly County
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
Caerphilly, Caerphilly County
 
Caerphilly, Caerphilly County
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to Travellers Rest? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Caerphilly, Cardiff CF83 1LY, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Southern Wales  >  Cardiff
  • Phone Number: +44 29 2085 9021

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Travellers Rest and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question
Cardiff, United Kingdom
11 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Travellers Rest staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?