We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

O'Neill's

₹₹ - ₹₹₹Irish, , British
85-87 St. Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1DW, Wales
+44 29 2066 4103
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent27%
  • Very good33%
  • Average18%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible15%
Travellers talk about
Closes in 2 min
All hours
CUISINES
Irish, Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
85-87 St. Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1DW, Wales
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The pub has clearly had a recent referb and very nice it is to. So it's a shame that every table was sticky, had dirty glasses, split drink. (worst that wetherspoons) We looked at the menu but was put of as we couldn't open as...More

Thank LondonKentReviewer
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After a long walk back from the Caridiff city stadium myself and a couple of friends (all over sixty years old I might add) decided to call in for a drink to celebrate a great win over Austria. However we were politely refused entry by...More

Thank Kevin D
General Manager A, Manager at O'Neill's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Kevin, Cardiff licensing designated us as an 'away' pub following the match on Saturday, meaning we weren't allowed to let anyone wearing a Wales jersey in. This was not our personal decision. Sorry for the inconvenience, hope you had a great day.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited here before the Wales - Austria game, service was shocking. Waited over 20 minutes to be served which resulted in me walking out. Then after the game, we were refused entry because one of our group was wearing a Wales football shirt. Complete contrast...More

Thank Cardiff171927
General Manager A, Manager at O'Neill's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there, We're sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit with us on this occasion. Unfortunately, due to the event happening in Cardiff that day we were extremely busy and our guests had to wait longer at the bar than usual to be served. Due...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A pleasure to stumble across this open and welcoming pub where u can even charge your phone (as long as you have your cable) ;) reasonable food and drink prices also served pretty quick as it was busy when we went, happy customer :)

Thank Damion S
General Manager A, Manager at O'Neill's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Damion, thanks for the great review! We're glad you enjoyed your visit, and we hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went to Cardiff for the day, we end up in St. Mary street looking for a place to eat. Some other places were a little overpriced. O'Neills have a great atmosphere, a good space to seat outside if you prefer or modern and spacious...More

Thank Mariana19
General Manager A, Manager at O'Neill's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there! Thanks so much for the kind review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your visit with us. We'd love to know how we can bump your rating up to a 5/5 next time we see you :)

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Been to the Deck a few times always busy but welcoming and I always found the staff to be friendly and lovely meals at a good price and the drinks are not a bad price for The Bay plenty of room inside and out a...More

Thank granny12319
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Waited over 50 minutes for two burgers even though the bar wasn't even busy. Had to chase with staff twice. When they arrived the food was stone cold. By this time I was beyond caring and just couldn't bring myself to complain.More

Thank LeePaulCox
General Manager A, Manager at O'Neill's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Lee, We're very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your visit, our service standard is usually very high. It's possible we were experiencing some problems in the kitchen on the day of your visit, but you should have been informed of this when...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Pints are reasonably priced. I think the Carlings were 3 pounds thirty five, and some of the Welsh and craft beers were cheaper. Bartenders were friendly. After they recognized me(went in a few times during my stay), they opened up more and treated me well....More

Thank buffalo108
General Manager A, Manager at O'Neill's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks so much for the great review! We're happy that you enjoyed visiting us, we loved having you and hope to see you again soon! :)

Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

Popped here when we was on a shopping trip and an overnight stay at a nearby hotel. We decided to have lunch here. We ordered the bbq smothered chicken and the chicken and ribs combo.. Both meals were delicious I have to say. Also the...More

Thank worgster
General Manager A, Manager at O'Neill's, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Hi, thanks so much for your kind review. We're happy you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again when you're next in Cardiff :)

Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

We decided to pop into oneils for lunch on a friends recommendation, we ordered half a roast chicken with chips and slaw.a cheese burger with chips and slaw, what was served to us was disgraceful.my partners chicken was so overcooked and dry he said it...More

Thank cath p
General Manager A, Manager at O'Neill's, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Hi Cath, We're disappointed to hear your food didn't meet our usual high standards, if you wish to discuss the matter further don't hesitate to call us on 00442920664103

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Meating Place
741 reviews
.02 km away
Mia Porto Due
436 reviews
.07 km away
Pieminister
386 reviews
.05 km away
Uncommon Ground Coffee Roastery
128 reviews
.08 km away
Nearby Attractions
Cardiff Central Library
78 reviews
.18 km away
Royal Arcade
53 reviews
.10 km away
Wyndham Arcade
6 reviews
.10 km away
Breakout Cardiff
510 reviews
.07 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from O'Neill's staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 7 - US$ 14
Cuisine
Irish, Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Digital Payments, Reservations
Good for
Groups, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 00:00
Monday
09:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 00:00
Thursday
09:00 - 00:00
Friday
09:00 - 01:30
Saturday
09:00 - 01:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 85-87 St. Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1DW, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Southern Wales  >  Cardiff
  • Phone Number: +44 29 2066 4103
  • E-mail
Description
You'll always find a warm welcome at O'Neill's in St Mary Street in Cardiff. Ours is a place where you're free to go with the flow. Where great food and drink is always served with a smile. And where, no matter whether you're a regular or a newcomer, our friendly team will make you feel at home.Irish pubs are known for their hospitality – a point we love proving here at O'Neill's in St Mary Street in Cardiff. We are one of the best pubs in Cardiff for Irish food, drink and atmosphere. Come and see for yourself – drop by for a bite to eat, to watch some sport, to enjoy our live music or just for the craic. Sláinte!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing