We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Plas Derwen

) #25 of 77 Restaurants in Abergavenny ₹₹ - ₹₹₹ , British,
Monmouth Road | Abergavenny, Abergavenny NP7 9SP, Wales
+44 1873 853144
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent38%
  • Very good37%
  • Average15%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“whitebait” (4 reviews)
“burger” (9 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
Bar, British, Pub, Welsh, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Monmouth Road | Abergavenny, Abergavenny NP7 9SP, Wales
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

Pub was nice with beautiful beer gardens & great staff but food was not good it was cold & very small for the money will not go back for food but will go back for a drinkMore

Thank pamhallp5
Management response:Responded 4 days ago

Thank you for your lovely comments about our staff and gardens, we are sorry that the food was not to your satisfaction during your visits, if you would like to give us some more details we can look into this to make sure it is...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at the hotel for one night, lovely room, very comfortable bed, ran out of tea, sugar etc in the room I rang reception and more was brought up straight away. We booked dinner for the evening after spending the day in the town, the...More

Thank JordansWales
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Dropped in for a late lunch - did wonder if they had a table as the car park was quite busy. We were told they had tables but there was upto a 40 min wait for food, so we opted to have a drink whilst...More

Thank Commz
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely pub, good service, lovely wine ! The staff are happy so that makes for a good atmosphere! Nice few locals we recognised! The food here is second to none we seem to be here every week lately! Beautiful garden view from large conservatory dining...More

Thank Claud D
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked a table for 6 of us,we chose a sharing platter to keep us going,our mains were,pizza, curry,buttered chicken,burger,and salmon.all excellent,well cooked and presented,very friendly waitress who served with a smile,for puddings we had çhocolate torte,cheesecake,and chocolate brownies,and although very nice were a tad on...More

Thank carole j
Reviewed 6 May 2017

Went mid-week, in the evening, there were several people eating, but not overly busy. That said after giving our order for starters it took 35mins for the food to arrive, it was a shared platter, and nicely presented but not overly tasty. The main course...More

Thank Paul S
Management response:Responded 7 May 2017

Hello, I'm really sorry your weren't happy with your service on the evening, as this is definitely not our usual standards. As it was brought to the attention of the duty manager, this was altered accordingly on the bill. Unfortunately, as with all meat products,...More

Reviewed 6 May 2017 via mobile

Came here for a family meal birthday treat for my mother in law, waited 15 minutes to be seated to a dirty table and dirty cutlery that was laid out ready for next person to eat, called waitress she apologised and cleaned table and replaced...More

Thank 14,453
Management response:Responded 7 May 2017

Hello, I'm sorry to hear you were unhappy with your visit, as these are definitely not our usual standards of service. Please could you contact us directly to discuss this further on email Plasderwen@sabrain.com or phone 01873 853144. Many thanks, Kate

Reviewed 23 April 2017

Friendly staff, and very good food - excellent quality food, easy to sit in the bar or in the restaurant

Thank b h
Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

Use to be a regular visit lunchtimes until a lite lunchtime menu was introduced which turned us away. Nothing substantial suddenly unless it was the evening. Glad to say we discovered it had changed to an even better menu from my early experience. Very friendly...More

Thank Kenneth A
Reviewed 31 March 2017 via mobile

Booked in 1830 Sat down 1850 served at 1903 but refused free fizz as offer finishes at 1900 not a good start to weekend at hotel

Thank s15krc
Management response:Responded 3 April 2017

Hello, We have responded to your Facebook review - we apologise you felt let down with your evening. If you'd like to contact us further regarding this, please contact us directly.

Nearby Restaurants
Afternoon Tea at the Angel
405 reviews
1.01 km away
Cwtch Cafe
416 reviews
1.06 km away
Cinnamon Tree
193 reviews
.91 km away
Regency 59
130 reviews
1.07 km away
Nearby Attractions
Abergavenny Museum and Castle
222 reviews
.89 km away
The Tithe Barn, St Marys Church
117 reviews
1.02 km away
Skirrid Fawr
14 reviews
1.14 km away
Brecon Beacons Tourist Information
15 reviews
1.03 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Plas Derwen staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Monmouth Road | Abergavenny, Abergavenny NP7 9SP, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Southern Wales  >  Monmouthshire  >  Abergavenny
  • Phone Number: +44 1873 853144
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing