We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Blue River Cafe

₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Bar, British
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Bridge Bridge Road, Maidenhead SL6 8DW, England
+44 1628 674057
Website
Today
07:00 - 22:30
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 07:00 - 22:00
Fri - Sat 07:00 - 22:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

545 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 540: English reviews
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I always stay at the Thames Riviera when I'm in Maidenhead. This means I get to have breakfast in the Blue River Café. It's been over a year since I was here and they've changed the format of the breakfast. Instead of ordering what you want it's all self service! This means I can have all the black pudding I... More 

Review collected in partnership with ASUS 12 W8 IE Bookmark

Helpful?
Thank Christian_Briddon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice food, good service, pleasant restaurant area. We have visited the restaurant on numerous occasions over the last couple of years and always had a nice meal. The menu is normally quite varied to suit all tastes. Children's menu/food is also very nice. To my surprise, on this occasion there was also a 50% off food for Monday diners!

Helpful?
Thank Keith C
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Myself and two friends had supper at the Blue River Cafe in Maidenhead yesterday and I was very pleasantly surprised. The entrance is via the pub door at the back of the hotel and it seems to be in the process of renovation. However, the restaurant was light and modern and well laid out. The menu was pretty comprehensive and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Merryl16
Maidehead UK
Level Contributor
383 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I can't comment on the food as I just popped in for a coffee. It was a bit noisy as a new floor was being put down in the bar area. The young lady serving apologised for the noise and suggested that I might like to drink my coffee outside, which was a good suggestion. Service was friendly and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank KenMaideheadUK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely food but terrible customer service! There should be something in place so the restaurant staff know which menu to offer their guests!! The guest is not expected to know to ask for 'the other menu' when staying at the hotel.

Helpful?
1 Thank Claire D
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Ate here for a birthday meal one Saturday lunchtime in October. Had pre booked a high chair but this wasn't at the table when we arrived. The menu was varied and there were plenty of dishes to choose from. Some of the party picked dishes from the 'lighter bites' section and the portions were very generous. The service staff were... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Parton30
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Impulse drop in for Sunday lunch but wish we had not bothered. Despite the restaurant being empty the staff were no where to be seen through out the meal. The food was below average and poor value for money. Such a shame as its situated In a great location and the live music was an added bonus. Such a sham.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jo G
Burnham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

After using this place many times i can honestly say the place has gone down hill. We had a terrible meal with items of drinks and sides turning up 20 mins after our meal, after complaing to the manager he said he would return to sort the problems out but never saw him again. I have since sent 2 emails... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
Level Contributor
110 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2016

Poor service, poor quality food, the place feels very grubby and dirty. Not somewhere I would visit again!

Helpful?
1 Thank M3N_XX
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2016

Went here for dinner with the family and was really disappointed with entire evening. The menu for the Saturday night had been shortened from that on the website, the meal my son had initially was served without some of the onion rings, his cookie for dessert was cool and served with custard not the white chocolate sauce as on the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank BigYin100
Joanna B, General Manager at Blue River Cafe, responded to this review

I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with your recent visit to our restaurant. After speaking with my staff I can confirm that we did rectify our mistake and suppied onions straight away. The menu had been reduced due to Kitchen Maintenance issues the day prior and I apologise for this but it was out of our control.... More 

Travellers who viewed Blue River Cafe also viewed

Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead
Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead
Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to Blue River Cafe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments
Good for
View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
07:00 - 22:00
Monday
07:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
07:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
07:00 - 22:00
Thursday
07:00 - 22:00
Friday
07:00 - 22:30
Saturday
07:00 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Bridge Bridge Road, Maidenhead SL6 8DW, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Berkshire  >  Windsor and Maidenhead  >  Maidenhead
  • Phone Number: +44 1628 674057
Description
Located on the River Thames, it has the ideal scenery with a large beer garden and terrace perfect for summer dining. Indoors is spacious, with comfy seating areas and live sports throughout the day. Live music is also available on Friday evenings in our bar area.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Blue River Cafe staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?