We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Wheatsheaf

) #41 of 210 Restaurants in Salisbury ₹₹ - ₹₹₹ , British,
Lower Woodford, Salisbury, England
+44 1722 782203
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good26%
  • Average13%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“homity pie” (4 reviews)
“mash” (12 reviews)
“pudding” (15 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Lower Woodford, Salisbury, England
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
Reviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 410 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

We decided to go out for a meal and a colleague recommended the Wheatsheaf. We were looking forward to a country pub and the online menu was very tempting. I made an easy on-line booking which was hassle free. We arrived and was greated by...More

Thank Claire T
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Came here to celebrate a birthday this evening. Starters did not all come out together and we then had to wait ages for main meals. After more than 2 hours we didn't wait for pudding as out of the 8 in our party there were...More

Thank Shirley M
Reviewed 4 days ago

Badger House Large rural pub with a pleasant garden situated in the picturesque Woodford valley Went for a family lunch a couple of weeks ago, nice touch the amusement bag for the youngest member which kept her occupied throughout lunch but… I know it was...More

Thank Pete C
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Living locally I have been here many times over the years. Took the family for dinner but food ok, not great. Overpriced for what we had..children's meals at £6.50 which doesn't include a drink. Food took ages although I didn't consider it that busy. Probably...More

Thank JMP_74_12
Hall W, Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

We really appreciate your feedback; thank you for taking the trouble to post your review. We have taken your comments on board and do hope you will visit us again.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have been coming home his pub for 6 years and it has always been lovely and a guaranteed lovely meal. However in the last 6 months the menu has changed a number of times and now it is very limited compared to what it...More

Thank Claire H
Hall W, Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We really appreciate your feedback; thank you for taking the trouble to post your review. We have taken your comments on board and do hope you will visit us again.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We sat outside on the patio on a warm, sunny lunchtime. There were menus, cutlery and condiments all provided for people sitting outside. The service was efficient and polite and our food came in good time despite being busy. I thoroughly enjoyed my burger and...More

Thank Wicksys
Hall W, Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for your review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed visiting us. We hope you can visit again soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were visiting the area and found this delightful restaurant which we booked for dinner. The staff were happy and friendly. The food choice was good and very tasty. Can imagine it will be busy so worth booking a table if you plan on visiting.

Thank Nic C
Hall W, Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Since our sightseeing day was packed, I was looking for a nice place to land for an hour or so, to enjoy a quiet lunch. The Wheatsheaf Inn filled that bill quite nicely. Besides the good beer on tap, we enjoyed tomato & basil soup,...More

Thank twodillmans
Hall W, Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for your review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed visiting us. We hope you can visit again soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hoping to kick start our bank holiday weekend,first visit for some time but felt disappointed as standards seem to have slipped all round. Early evening booking but two first choices of main course not available as was choice of lager ( at the start of...More

Thank SJG866
Hall W, Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Please accept our apologies for giving you cause to post this review on Trip Advisor. We’d really like the chance to look into this matter further. We’d be very grateful if you could copy and paste your review, together with the Public House name and...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The service at the bar was very quick and friendly and we felt very welcome. We were told about the specials board and when I told them we were vegetarian I was given advice about the veggie options. We ordered fish and chips and great...More

Thank mikeN4827BE
Hall W, Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a wonderful review on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased we delivered great hospitality and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Pelican Inn Restaurant
97 reviews
4.08 km away
The White Horse Pub
116 reviews
4.21 km away
The Pembroke Arms Restaurant
186 reviews
4.72 km away
Monty & Mabel's
9 reviews
4.73 km away
Nearby Attractions
The White Horse
6 reviews
4.21 km away
Wilton House
253 reviews
4.75 km away
Boscombe Down Aviation Collection
371 reviews
3.09 km away
Church of St. Mary and St. Nicholas
62 reviews
4.77 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
James A
Has the restaurant a fire burning
18 November 2016|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from susimcclintock | Reviewed this property |
I don't think so, didn't see one, but it is very warm and cosy.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 9 - US$ 18
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Lower Woodford, Salisbury, England (Formerly The Wheatsheaf)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Wiltshire  >  Salisbury
  • Phone Number: +44 1722 782203
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing