We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Swan at Stoford

) #85 of 210 Restaurants in Salisbury ₹₹ - ₹₹₹ , British,
Warminster Road | Stoford, Salisbury SP2 OPR, England
+44 1722 790236
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good29%
  • Average10%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“fish pie” (7 reviews)
“pork belly” (8 reviews)
“pudding” (8 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Warminster Road | Stoford, Salisbury SP2 OPR, England
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
Reviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

We went for a meal on the way back from Salisbury. found this place after searching for a while off the beaten track. We both opted for the pie called a Proper Pie. It was in a large dish with a light pastry crust and...More

Thank 3Hazelh
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I had the pleasure of running a course with the Swan as the venue today. Staff were very polite and extremely helpful. We were given a lunch which was very nice and well presented. Coffee and tea was on all day, yes I'm aware we...More

Thank PicklesPumpkin44
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind review - we are delighted you are hosting the course with us this week and hope it goes well. Liz

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped here for lunch. Service was very prompt and the staff were friendly. The whole restaurant and bar area need a good refurbishment. The back of the bar looks like they're halfway through moving in (or out). I ordered the premium steak burger with...More

Thank Robin I
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your burger. Unfortunately for us, large tied inns owned by third party landlords have much larger overheads than a burger van, so it isn't really a like for like comparison on price...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were staying at the Swan and wanted to eat in the restaurant. We decided on the pate to start which was delicious. The main course of local venison steak arrived and here we had real issues. Having ordered a medium and a rare they...More

Thank mjfoodlover
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that your issue with your steaks was resolved satisfactorily and that the staff team looked after you. We appreciate your comments. Liz

Reviewed 22 June 2017

Probably our 3rd visit and the 2 previous occasions was actually very nice. This time though it was as if we were in a totally different pub! The table was sticky and there was debris on the floor around it presumably from the previous customer?...More

Thank Dave D
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments and feedback. Whilst we were quieter when you had arrived, we had just had 3 coaches leave, so whilst food on the floor is unacceptable and it is disappointing if items on the menu are not available, it was an...More

Reviewed 21 June 2017

When we arrived the bar was very busy with only one person serving. I ordered a white wine spritzer which came with very flat lemonade, so tried again with soda water which was better although took a long time to arrive. Told we could sit...More

Thank Joanne A
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your food and have fed back your comments to the team. I also apologise that the communication was poor in the team. The windows do open in the bar so I am sorry if you were hot....More

Reviewed 16 June 2017 via mobile

Stayed here on route home from Portsmouth to Cheshire. Bar food was processed, frozen fish which had been deep fried too many times. Appeared to be under staffed at breakfast, when breakfast finally arrived bacon was hard and cold. As other reviewers have mentioned rooms...More

Thank Angela9691
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry you did not enjoy your food (although I assure you we would not deep fry fish more than once). I am sorry that you did not like the memory foam mattress in the bedroom and I am...More

Reviewed 12 June 2017

Stopped here for lunch en route to the new forest, bar service a bit slow which may be due to in experience. Food came out quickly which is what we wanted. However, the car park is across a very, very busy road so if you...More

Thank applegate69
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for feedback. I am delighted you enjoyed your food. The riverside garden is very pleasant, however, you are correct we do not wait on the outside tables across the road, although we do at the cottage garden. Liz

Reviewed 7 June 2017

Although it is located by the A36, the pub and its gardens are peaceful and quite. The staff will go that extra mile to deliver your food and drinks across the road where you can sit by the river. We had fish and chips and...More

Thank Ewa L
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Thank you for your kind review. I am glad that my team looked after you. We don't generally deliver food across the road, but I am delighted that they had the opportunity to go that extra mile. It is a lovely setting. Liz

Reviewed 4 June 2017

we ordered a small fish and chips, gammon carbonara and a beef and ale pie. I was told by the bar staff it would be 5 minutes, to which i chuckled and commented "it must be microwaved then". The bar staff replied "we have 2...More

Thank gooner49
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your food. If you were not happy with your food, we would have gladly exchanged it for you. We generally get excellent feedback about our food, so I can only apologise that...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Pelican Inn Restaurant
97 reviews
.00 km away
Greyhound Inn
269 reviews
.77 km away
The Ship Inn
229 reviews
1.47 km away
The White Horse Pub
116 reviews
1.51 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wilton House
265 reviews
.91 km away
The White Horse
6 reviews
1.50 km away
Church of St. Mary and St. Nicholas
63 reviews
.71 km away
Wilton Shopping Village
100 reviews
.47 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Swan at Stoford staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 10 - US$ 26
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Television
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 22:30
Monday
07:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
07:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
07:00 - 23:00
Thursday
07:00 - 23:00
Friday
07:00 - 23:00
Saturday
08:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Warminster Road | Stoford, Salisbury SP2 OPR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Wiltshire  >  Salisbury
  • Phone Number: +44 1722 790236
  • E-mail
Description
The Swan at Stoford is a lovely historical coaching inn set in rural Wiltshire, yet very accessible on the A36. 6 miles from Salisbury, it is an ideal place to base yourself for tourist attractions in the area, including Stonehenge, Wilton House, Longleat, Old Sarum airfield and much more. With 9 letting rooms, a lovely restaurant, a spacious function room with a Skittles Alley, a cottage garden and a great riverside garden perfect for marquees, BBQs and outdoor parties. The Swan is a family run business with an emphasis on customer service and a guaranteed warm welcome.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing