We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Central Leeds - CLOSED

88 Wellington Street, Leeds LS1 4LT, England
+44 113 242 4434
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good30%
  • Average4%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible10%
4 Feb 2016
“Nice Relaxed Place”
14 Aug 2015
“some different shops”
Restaurant Hours Closed
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
88 Wellington Street, Leeds LS1 4LT, England
All Details
Reviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2016

Having recently started working in Leeds, I pop in here for lunch. Although a bit pricey, the beer is always in good condition, and the one time I ate, the food was more than acceptable, The atmosphere of the place is relaxing and the staff...More

Thank Vince S
Reviewed 14 August 2015

Not run off the mill shops, lots of small independent shops. A Good Buzz about the place, lots of bars and cafes. A good place to take the family.

Thank S5812CKwendyb
Reviewed 23 April 2015

Lots of shops, still lots of independent shops. All the chains and posh shops too! Had a fantastic lunch at Patasserrie Valerie TOO MANY LOVELY CAKES TOO MUCH CHOICE.

Thank bassetth0oud13
Reviewed 19 April 2015

Ordered lunch here, seafood risotto. A mushroom risotto came out, would have put up with it, but the rice and mushrooms were not cooked, told staff and asked for two starters instead, fish cakes and chicken skewers, the fish cakes came out cold in the...More

Thank TravellingSolo_11
Reviewed 16 March 2015 via mobile

The Central is oxymoronically 3 minutes from Leeds train station but in the middle of nowhere, so it's definitely a destination restaurant if you're not a local banker or business dude. What is waiting for you is worth the (small) trip. Friendly and assertive staff,...More

Thank Harry J
Reviewed 27 February 2015

We ordered food at 12.20pm on a Friday lunch time. At 1.30pm, after several requests, our food still hadn't arrived. We therefore asked for and got issued with a refund but with no real apology. It's a shambles down there at lunch times with no...More

Thank Ceri P
The_Central_Leeds, Public Relations Manager at The Central Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2015

Hello and thank you for your review. The Friday lunch when you visited The Central we were unbelievably busy. Every single chair in the building was filled with hungry people on their lunch breaks. Sadly when it gets this busy it does take time for...More

Reviewed 27 February 2015

Very disappointed with the service. We had to wait over an hour for our food order that never came. People arrived after us got their food served first. Eventually we gave up and asked for a refund. No apologies were given. Table numbers might help...More

Thank Sheila N
The_Central_Leeds, Public Relations Manager at The Central Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2015

Hello and thank you for your review. The Friday lunch when you visited The Central we were unbelievably busy. Every single chair in the building was filled with hungry people on their lunch breaks. Sadly when it gets this busy it does take time for...More

Reviewed 15 February 2015 via mobile

We tried this place thanks to a living social voucher. Have to say it has been such a lovely experience. We were warmly welcomed and no one minded we were over 30mins ahead of our booking. Instantly offered alternative drinks to the voucher offer and...More

Thank SassiePea
The_Central_Leeds, Public Relations Manager at The Central Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2015

Hello and thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your experience at The Central and we hope to see you again soon. Regards,

Reviewed 25 January 2015

Had a 2 course Sunday Lunch courtesy of a Living Social voucher. Excellent spicy whitebait for starters followed by equally excellent Sunday Lunch of Roast Beef roast potatoes and a good selection of vegetables all served lovely and hot. Sunday lunches in pubs/restaurants are quite...More

Thank david54196
The_Central_Leeds, Public Relations Manager at The Central Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2015

Hello and thank you for your lovely review. We hope to welcome you to the Central again soon.

Reviewed 20 December 2014

Me and some colleagues popped in for a few pre-Christmas dinner points, the staff whilst multiple were slow at serving with only two serving, the beers kepot running out and were off and the staff didn't take control of the situation. Clearly can't cope. No...More

Thank Faceyreviews
The_Central_Leeds, Public Relations Manager at The Central Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2015

Hello and thank you for your review. Firstly I must explain how draught beer works. We have kegs of beer delivered, we connect them up to the beer taps and serve lovely cold beer, when the keg becomes empty the beer stops coming out of...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
My Thai at the Old Steps
363 reviews
.09 km away
Caracas Grill
112 reviews
.16 km away
Mans Market
235 reviews
.18 km away
Espeto
174 reviews
.19 km away
Nearby Attractions
Leeds Town Hall
255 reviews
.51 km away
Grosvenor Casino Leeds Westgate
69 reviews
.53 km away
White Cloth Gallery
66 reviews
.44 km away
Leeds Central Library
47 reviews
.58 km away
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Good for
Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 88 Wellington Street, Leeds LS1 4LT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  West Yorkshire  >  Leeds
  • Phone Number: +44 113 242 4434
  • E-mail
Description
Leeds original and best Mussel bar, serving fresh mussels daily with a choice of sauces and freshly baked bread. Traditional Yorkshire pub food served also.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing