We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blackhouse - The Grill on the Square

31-33 East Parade, Leeds LS1 5PS, England
+44 113 246 0669
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good27%
  • Average11%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (445 reviews)
“oysters” (29 reviews)
“chateaubriand” (28 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Steakhouse, British, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
31-33 East Parade, Leeds LS1 5PS, England
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,199 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Dined here on a very VERY busy Saturday evening and the food was just superb! A lovely bustling atmosphere with a brilliant live pianist - it's a shame he isn't on every night! Despite the restaurant being incredibly busy the service was still top notch,...More

1  Thank laurenbaker2017
Reviewed 3 days ago

Ate here last night and it was excellent. Steaks were delicious as was the Cauliflower Cheese, very good service and was so good overall we tried to book to go again this evening but it was closed which was a shame but would definitely recommend...More

1  Thank SARACEN77
Reviewed 4 days ago

Amazing Steak and amazing atmosphere. We really do love it every time we come here. Service is always spot on. This time our table was booked for 8 oclock but we didn't get seated until 8:35 which was a little annoying, but we had drinks...More

1  Thank xoFairyKissox
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

The food was good but unfortunately the service was disappointing. We had booked a table for two for my husband and I. Was shown to a small table next to a very large party which included a children. In the space in between the two...More

Thank KathD07
Amanda K, Manager at Blackhouse - The Grill on the Square, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Kath, Thank you for your feedback and review. I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your table at Blackhouse. Sunday's in particular are family orientated with many of our regular guests choosing to bring the kids along with them. I'm sorry we couldn't offer you a...More

A TripAdvisor Member
73
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Ate here with friends on a friday night. Literally had to shout at each other all night due to the pianist being so loud - best bit of the meal was when he took a break. Eaten here a lot of the last few years...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Amanda K, Manager at Blackhouse - The Grill on the Square, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hello Thank you for leaving us your review and feedback. We'd like to discuss the aspect of food quality a little further with you. I'm sorry to hear your experience wasn't up to scratch this time and we hope to make things right. Kindest regards...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

fantastic service from front of house to waitress. Very attentive without being a nuisance. Atmosphere was brilliant. Live music. We ordered oysters. Calamari. Satay chicken with peanut dip for our starters. Both ordered the 50 day ages rump steak. Although mine was a little salty...More

1  Thank LynseyGart
Amanda K, Manager at Blackhouse - The Grill on the Square, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hey Lynsey, Thanks so much for leaving us such a great review and feedback. I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed yourself at Blackhouse and I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kindest regards Amanda

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited 30/10/17 with my boyfriend and was welcomed warmly by two hostesses. Lovely interior and environment especially for a date. However, I was really disappointed with the service especially after having to ask for our bottle of wine and water at least 3 times in...More

Thank toni310
Amanda K, Manager at Blackhouse - The Grill on the Square, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi there, Thank you very much for leaving us the review and feedback, which has been passed on to our General Manager who would like to discuss your experience further. Could you please drop me a line with your contact details to grillonthesquarebdm@blackhouse.uk.com if that'd...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I visited here yesterday for a birthday dinner with my boyfriend and we were really disappointed. I've never felt the need to write a bad review for a restaurant before, but I think this is justified. For the prices you pay, you get really great...More

1  Thank ShannonAmyJ
Amanda K, Manager at Blackhouse - The Grill on the Square, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Shannon, Thank you very much for leaving us the review and feedback, which has been passed on to our General Manager who would like to discuss your experience further. Could you please drop me a line with your contact details to grillonthesquarebdm@blackhouse.uk.com if that'd...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Always love coming to Blackhouse when I’m in Leeds. Always great steaks. Always great service. Always great atmosphere. Also, the American guy who had only started working there was brilliant. Also, also, your pianist is way better than London.More

Thank Kevla90
Amanda K, Manager at Blackhouse - The Grill on the Square, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi There Such a fab review, thank you for leaving us the feedback - you have put a spring in our steps. I've passed your review onto our team and Miles is over the moon at receiving the complements. We look forward to welcoming you...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited this restaurant a few weeks ago and loved it so we with friends, who are used to high standards for the second visit. We weren't disappointed, the food was excellent, amazing steaks and the waiters were spot on yet again. I don't know what...More

Thank galey2000
Amanda K, Manager at Blackhouse - The Grill on the Square, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi There What a lovely review - thanks very much for posting you feedback. So pleased your returning visit was a positive one. I've passed this onto the team also who were really pleased to hear such great comments. The guys are great at what...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Tattu
420 reviews
.03 km away
Gusto Restaurant & Bar
528 reviews
.07 km away
The Lost & Found
152 reviews
.08 km away
Nearby Attractions
Leeds Town Hall
254 reviews
.23 km away
Leeds Central Library
47 reviews
.25 km away
White Cloth Gallery
65 reviews
.23 km away
Park Square
31 reviews
.17 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
IlPariota
15 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Grill-on-the-Square | Property representative |
We serve until it has sold out, on a regular Sunday they usually last into the evening or at least until 7pm.
0
Votes
Deanobt6
20 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Jean-Paul B | Reviewed this property |
Hello there, To answer the question "how close is the restaurant to Neville Street" . If you stay at the Hilton hotel the answer is 10 minutes walk. Pass through the tunnel and go toward city Square. There, you should see... More
0
Votes
Clarec885
4 August 2015|
Answer
Response from Ami N | Reviewed this property |
I wouldn't have thought so no! Its quite classy at a reasonable price!
0
Votes

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Leeds

Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 14 - US$ 47
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Romantic, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Monday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Friday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 31-33 East Parade, Leeds LS1 5PS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  West Yorkshire  >  Leeds
  • Phone Number: +44 113 246 0669
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing