We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Swan Pub

Certificate of Excellence
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Gluten Free Options
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
27-29 High Street | The Swan Hotel, Arundel BN18 9AG, England
441903882314
Website
Today
07:00 - 21:30
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 08:00 - 21:00
Mon - Thu 07:00 - 21:30
Fri - Sat 08:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

276 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 269: English reviews
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2016

We were staying nearby. So we used the Swan. We found the Swan staff very friendly.We had a very enjoyable visit. A nice relaxing atmosphere. When next in the area we will be going back.

Helpful?
Thank terence f
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Pub, responded to this review

Dear terence f, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit to The Swan, and we look forward to seeing you again whenever you are next in the area. Beata Slapikaite General Manager More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2016

We had a lot of extra guests added at the last minute for my husband's 40th birthday party recently and our original venue was unable to accommodate the late additions. I found The Swan (through Trip Advisor!) and asked if there was any chance they could host a party of 21 people with only a few day's notice...and they could!... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Anna-Lisa D
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Pub, responded to this review

Dear Anna-Lisa D, Thank you very much for reviewing us. I'm thrilled that we were able to accommodate you and to hear that you are so happy with your experience - we find that organising bigger parties' food orders beforehand means that everyone can relax on the day! We hope to see you again in future - whether for another... More 

Littlehampton
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2016

Always keen to see their visitors and assist them to have an enjoyable experience whether it be reading the newspaper with your pint or joining friends for coffee, meeting a party for a special meal or staying the night. Nothing too much trouble.

Helpful?
1 Thank CarolHart
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Pub, responded to this review

Dear CarolHart, Thank you for your kind words. We pride ourselves on being able to cater for a variety of different individuals, groups and requirements. My staff enjoy interacting with a single person at the bar but also assisting big parties for various occasions. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Beata Slapikaite General Manager More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

An excellent location in the middle of picturesque Arundel. Lovely interior, relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff and proper Sunday Lunch. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank tombarker123
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Pub, responded to this review

Dear tombarker123, Thank you for reviewing and for highly recommending us. I'm delighted that you considered your meal to be a 'proper' Sunday Lunch! We hope to see you again in future. Beata Slapikaite General Manager More 

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2016

We stayed in Arundel for one night and the Swan was recommended for our evening meal, we were not disappointed, excellent food.

Helpful?
Thank Charliemoon
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Pub, responded to this review

Dear Charliemoon, Thank you for your review. It is good to know that you 'were not disappointed' and I hope you would consider eating with us again if you were in the area, or perhaps stay in one of our boutique rooms. Beata Slapikaite General Manager More 

Lancing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2016

When we stay in Arundel we always use the Swan pub as our watering hole. The staff are always friendly and polite. They do a lovely pint of Hsb and offer a varied menu for food

Helpful?
Thank gray_nina
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Pub, responded to this review

Dear gray_nina, Thanks for your comments. It is great to hear that you always come into our pub when you are visiting the area. We look forward to seeing you again whenever you are in Arundel next. Beata Slapikaite General Manager More 

Petersfield
Level Contributor
72 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2016

My wife and I were visiting Arundel to view the various antique shops and as I had stayed and eaten at this hostelry in the past and enjoyed my stay and the food it was an obvious selection for lunch. Unfortunately we found little on the menu except the fish and chips which, incidentally, was very good, that we wre... More 

Helpful?
Thank U8696YHpaulg
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Pub, responded to this review

Dear U8696YHpaulg, Thank you for your review - we do appreciate the feedback. I am glad you thought the fish and chips were very good but would be interested to know if you have any other comments on particular dishes - please feel free to email me at swanhotel.arundelmanager@fullers.co.uk. I am also pleased that you enjoyed staying in our rooms... More 

Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2016

Return visit, choice of our daughter for family celebration on her Graduation day. The ceremony and photographs went a little quicker than anticipated but having phoned the restaurant they obliged by changing the dining time and numbers without fuss. Cocktails on arrival were pleasant (and the complimentary cocktail for the Graduate was a nice touch). A range of the roasts... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mallowmarsh
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Pub, responded to this review

Dear Mallowmarsh, Thank you for taking the time to review us. Congratulations your daughter's graduation! It is lovely to be a part of such celebrations and I'm delighted to hear that you were so pleased with the food and the service. We hope to see you again some time in future. Beata Slapikaite General Manager More 

Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2016

Eat her on both nights of our two night stay in Arundel. Food was brilliant especially the calves liver which , unusually, was served on a bed of salad. Sounded a bit odd but was fabulous. Will eat here again if we are in Arundel again

Helpful?
Thank John B
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Pub, responded to this review

Dear John b, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our 'unusual' but 'fabulous' calves liver! We look forward to seeing you again in future. Beata Slapikaite General Manager More 

Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

The special tonight was a hanger steak for 2 with a bottle of wine for just 25 pounds. A real bargain that looked great as presented and tasted great as well. Service was decent.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kirby S
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Pub, responded to this review

Dear Kirby S, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm delighted that you enjoyed our Tuesday steak special; we do strive to use high quality fresh ingredients and provide great wines so I'm pleased that you enjoyed this deal. I hope you come back again, whether its for steak and wine or to try any of our... More 

Travellers who viewed The Swan Pub also viewed

Arundel, Arun District
 
Arundel, Arun District
Arundel, Arun District
 

Been to The Swan Pub? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 9 - US$ 31
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Validated Parking
Good for
Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 21:00
Monday
07:00 - 21:30
Tuesday
07:00 - 21:30
Wednesday
07:00 - 21:30
Thursday
07:00 - 21:30
Friday
08:00 - 22:00
Saturday
08:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 27-29 High Street | The Swan Hotel, Arundel BN18 9AG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  Arun District  >  Arundel
  • Phone Number: 441903882314
  • This restaurant is at The Swan Hotel
Description
Whether you're after a quiet drink with friends or a meal with the family, The Swan is perfect for you. Our traditionally styled bar is open all day 'til 11pm (later on Fridays and Saturdays, and for hotel guests), serving outstanding Fuller's and Gales ales, a great range of spirits and wines, as well as soft drinks for the family. Don't forget to bring the dog too, as our bar is very pet friendly!Our restaurant serves up a great selection of pub favorites with a great deal of locally sourced produce being used, and our chefs use their creative flair with delicious daily changing specials! Food is served 12-3pm 6-9pm Monday to Friday, 12-9.30pm on Saturdays and 12-7pm on Sundays. Booking recommended.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Swan Pub and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
mathraki island
4 months ago
london
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Swan Pub staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?