We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Walsgrave

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
382 Walsgrave Road, Coventry CV2 4AF, England
+44 24 7645 1174
Website
Today
08:00 - 22:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 08:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

159 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 159: English reviews
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The refurbishment was needed, however it was definitely a sticking plaster job, they omitted to upgrade or improve the poor heating / cooling system in the ceilings. Food has changed, and not to the good. It is a budget carvery that relies more on turnover of covers rather than quality and unfortunately that reflects badly on the quality of food... More 

Helpful?
Thank covlocks
Bedworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Booked at very short notice due to being let down by another eating house. Good food well cooked, attentive staff without being overbearing, would recommend without any hesitation. Fantabulosa!! Lord Leathley - Andrew

Helpful?
Thank lordbrian2016
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Last year went for a Christmas lunch with friends, great food but enamel pie dishes for soup and dessert. Not any more, this year brilliant normal crockery and as usual food was really fantastic. Perfectly cooked, fresh vegetables and yummy roast potatoes. Staff always on hand to make sure everything was perfect. Would not hesitate to go again.

Helpful?
Thank Janet W
Bernie C, Manager at The Walsgrave, responded to this review

Hi Janet, We are very happy that you enjoyed your Christmas meal with us,thank you very much for your feedback and the fantastic score of 5 !! We ope you return very soon and don't forget we start our Christmas bookings in September if you would like to book for Christmas 2017 ! Kindest regards, Bernie Curley General Manager More 

Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2016

Had a 3 course Christmas meal here with friends, 10 adults, 4 children. £9.99 for adults, £6.49 for children. Everything was fresh and well cooked. Our server was Chloe....she was brilliant and nothing was too much trouble.

Helpful?
Thank Kirstie N
Bernie C, Manager at The Walsgrave, responded to this review

Hi Kirsy, Thank you for your great feedback,We are really happy that you enjoyed your meal and hope to see you back again very soon !! and thank you for the lovely comment about your waitress Chloe,i have passed your comments on and she is really happy to get a special mention ! Many thanks Bernie Curley More 

Hinckley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2016

Ate here with the wife and mother in law. Fairly good selection of food but lacking quality and premises and furniture very tired and need of overhaul. Not one to recommend at all.

Helpful?
Thank Michael H
Bernie C, General Manager at The Walsgrave, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review,we do hope you enjoyed your meal. Regards, Bernie Curley General Manager More 

Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

Very nice place to go and eat if you do t want anything too complicated. The carvery is great, not sure about the pizza as seems a pointless add on, and the value is great.

Helpful?
Thank Richyob
Bernie C, General Manager at The Walsgrave, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and a fantastic 5 !! We hope you return again very soon, Regards, Bernie Curley General Manager More 

Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

Very clean pub, breakfast good quality, unlimited too. How does this place make money? Definitely worth a visit

Helpful?
Thank Enginemaker
Bernie C, General Manager at The Walsgrave, responded to this review

Hi Enginemaker, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review, we hope to see you back again very soon. Kind regards, Bernie curley General Manager More 

St Ives, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2016

Carvery (beef, turkey and pork) is the main food on offer, it is cheap and mostly tasteless. The turkey crown looked suspiciously like a reformed piece of meat and did not taste great. Service was OK. Restaurant was busy at midday on this weekday, price wins the day. It was our first and last visit.

Helpful?
Thank Castledrinkers
Bernie C, General Manager at The Walsgrave, responded to this review

Hi Castledrinkers, We are very sorry you were not happy with your visit however I must point out that we take great pride in our business and our meat is certainly NOT processed. Our veg is steamed fresh and is straight out of the steamer and onto the carvery deck within seconds. If you would like to discuss your visit... More 

Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2016

During a recent visit to Coventry we went for lunch at the Walsgrave as we had heard good reports about the carvery. We were not disappointed the carvery was very good, with a good selection of vegetables to go with it, my only criticism would be that it all could have been a little bit hotter. The price was very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rppz
Bernie C, General Manager at The Walsgrave, responded to this review

Hi Rppz, Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review.We are really pleased you you enjoyed your visit,but are sorry that the temperature was not up to standard.Please do not hesitate to let a member of our team know of any problems on your next visit so we can put it right immediately. Many thanks Bernie... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2016

Went to The Walsgrave yesterday. I used to go regularly to The Walsgrave years ago when it was under different management. Thought i would visit and see what it was like seeing as it is now a Sizzling Pub which i have been to a few but not a Carvery one. I had the Traditional Carvery which was £4.99! Awesome... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca T
Bernie C, General Manager at The Walsgrave, responded to this review

Hi Rebecca, Thank you very much for taking the time to give us a review. We are really glad you have returned to the Walsgrave after a few years although we are very sorry that you were not satisfied with your brownie. Please do not hesitate to let us know on your next visit if something is not to your... More 

Travellers who viewed The Walsgrave also viewed

Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to The Walsgrave? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 5 - US$ 11
Cuisine
British, Pub
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Parking Available, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 22:00
Monday
08:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 22:00
Thursday
08:00 - 22:00
Friday
08:00 - 22:00
Saturday
08:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 382 Walsgrave Road, Coventry CV2 4AF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Midlands  >  Coventry
  • Phone Number: +44 24 7645 1174
Description
We are a new brand of the Mitchells and Butlers group. Formerly a Crown Carvery we have been transformed into a Sizzling - Pizza, Pub & Carvery, which now provides great guest service and freshly cooked meals for all food lovers. The pub reopened in december and has continued to thrive with its new trade, with happy guests leaving every day. situated on walsgrave road it is a perfect place for all the family to come and eat and at any time of the day, we serve breakfast from 8:00 until 11:30 and Main meals continue throughout the day until 22:00.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Walsgrave staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?