We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ming Moon Restaurant

16 Hurst Street, Birmingham B5 4BN, England
+44 121 622 5588
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent30%
  • Very good37%
  • Average15%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“sushi” (43 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM Hours
CUISINES
Chinese, Sushi, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
16 Hurst Street, Birmingham B5 4BN, England
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,059)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 1,044 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

What a place to go, excellent staff, not to long a wait to be seated. Choice of food exceptional and really tasty. Just keep going back here.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank cazt14
Reviewed 3 days ago

We decided to pop into Birmingham for some drinks but then also decided to go and get some food. Being a Saturday night, everywhere was pretty much fully booked, so instead of wasting too much time waiting for a table in other restaurants we visited...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Pandamedic
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

I tried two other Chinese restaurants unsuccessfully, before finding this one. It's a fast and furious buffet, with loud music. Steep stairs up to the establishment. Typical buffet dishes aimed at Western expectations.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank laitang
Reviewed 4 days ago

When we arrived, food was average. Wasn't quite sure how to take servers as we were unfortunately late for our reservation due to busy traffic and when we told our server our reservation time, he very noticeable checked his watch. Found it a little rude....More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank generalleia
Reviewed 1 week ago

This reastaurant is certainly popular and busy. I was disappointed with the buffet, there is a large choice of cooked dishes but not a good selection of freash vegetables or meats to have cooked freash. I however am perhaps spoilt with the WOK buffets in...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank l0lnken
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I don't go here for the Chinese food - I eat pretty much everything else and it's amazing. Love all the fried food options, especially the big fried fish

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Bekir C
PR_Mgt_Team, Public Relations Manager at Ming Moon Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant and we are glad that you had an enjoyable experience. We, at Ming Moon try to please all our customers by producing delicious food coupled with good service!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited here, as recommended by other Trip Advisor reviews, when looking for somewhere to eat whilst visiting Birmingham. Didn't have to wait long to be seated, in all fairness. Plenty of food available and all dishes we tried were all tasty including the wide selection...More

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank carlw218
PR_Mgt_Team, Public Relations Manager at Ming Moon Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant and we are glad that you had an enjoyable experience. We, at Ming Moon try to please all our customers by producing delicious food coupled with good service!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited Ming Moon to celebrate a 21st birthday We had a great experience here, the drinks before our table was ready were great and well priced After a short wait we were able to go to our table and the buffet was explained to...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Z1764XCmarkw
PR_Mgt_Team, Public Relations Manager at Ming Moon Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant and we are glad that you had an enjoyable experience. We, at Ming Moon try to please all our customers by producing delicious food coupled with good service!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I came here with some friends, after my previous visit about 4 years ago. This place has not changed at all, still friendly staff and good food (though the fish, sushi and fresh food is hid towards the back of the restaurant). Worth visiting.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank lewish725
Reviewed 7 November 2018

Since big wok has closed where they seemed to both push each other to be reasonably high quality it has become the epitomy of average. Its still ok if you go especially at lunch for the price. However quite often hot plates are left empty...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 419PeterB
PR_Mgt_Team, Public Relations Manager at Ming Moon Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We endeavour to ensure all our customers have an enjoyable experience in a comfortable environment and we apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. I have forwarded your concerns to the Management Team whom will strive to improve all aspects of the...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 116 hotels in Birmingham
Hotel ibis Birmingham Centre New Street
1,963 reviews
.09 km away
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
1,825 reviews
.13 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
441 reviews
.16 km away
Comfort Inn Birmingham
575 reviews
.18 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Meat Shack
153 reviews
.08 km away
Santorini
536 reviews
.01 km away
Chung Ying Garden
487 reviews
.03 km away
Circle Restaurant
264 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
Birmingham Back to Backs
3,083 reviews
.12 km away
Birmingham Hippodrome
3,132 reviews
.09 km away
Birmingham Rag Market
154 reviews
.27 km away
The Alexandra
748 reviews
.23 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Sophia K
8 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Rebecca W | Reviewed this property |
Yes
1
Vote
David C
30 December 2017|
Answer
Response from Mark T | Reviewed this property |
I am not sure about Gluten free best call the restaurant and ask.
0
Votes
Ricdav
26 September 2017|
Answer
Response from Mark T | Reviewed this property |
Correct that is the case at no extra cost. Make sure you book the room. As we only realised halfway through the evening we could have done the same. We had a party of ten at the time and spent a couple £100's!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 11:30 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 11:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 16 Hurst Street, Birmingham B5 4BN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Midlands  >  Birmingham
  • Phone Number: +44 121 622 5588
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing