We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Chip Shed

24 West Street, Warwick CV34 6AN, England
+44 1926 498014
Website
Certificate of Excellence
All photos (62)
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent74%
  • Very good12%
  • Average6%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“scampi” (30 reviews)
“mushy peas” (20 reviews)
“fish n chips” (6 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Fast food, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
LOCATION
24 West Street, Warwick CV34 6AN, England
All Details
Top 3 Reasons to Eat Here
Sponsored by: The Chip Shed
1. The Best Fish and Chips
"definitely say that was the best fish and chips we have ever eaten"
Roxana H
See reviews that mention The Best Fish and Chips
2. World Class
"could travel all around the world and never find better fish and chips"
Mark L
See reviews that mention World Class
3. Yum yum yum
"The best fish and chips in warwickshire... Pah! Best in the Midlands"
Sparrowgrasshoney
See reviews that mention Yum yum yum
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

First time of trying the chips and battered halloumi here, and it’s easily the best in Warwick! I won’t be buying from any other chip shop from now on!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank CrawleyM
Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed 16 May 2018 via mobile

You could travel all around the world and never find better fish and chips. They do something amazing with their batter and use the sweetest fish. This is literally like fish and chips for the gods!

Date of visit: May 2018
2  Thank Mark L
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having now eaten here twice I would say it's the best I've ever eaten. Everything is cooked to order so there may be a short wait. There is an outside eating area, perfect if your dog is with you or an inside area if the...More

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank Munnypenny
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Was staying at a hotel down the road and ordered a fish chips and curry sauce take away from this place. Everything cooked to order so expect a short wait. The food was perfect and portion size great. Will definitely return.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank furrycoat
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I have never bought a kebab that looked so terrible. The meat really was the scraps at the bottom. Had to wait over 40mins just to get it. Chicken was also rock hard. Will never visit here again, had too many disappointments but though we...More

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank Xxshellyjonesxx
Dan C, Owner at The Chip Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Shelly. We are so very sad to hear about your experience - we strive for excellence in all that we do so are very sorry we have let you down. We will raise your points with the team as a matter of urgency as...More

Reviewed 22 October 2018

We were staying in Warwick for the weekend and saw The Chip Shed as we were walking back to the hotel. Sat down and ordered cod and chips for me and my husband. The food came really quick and was delicious, I only ordered a...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank sarah196999
Reviewed 20 October 2018

Popped in for a family meal. The cod and chips was superb, lovely flaky fish and crispy chips. Prices are high but quality is very good, and difficult to fault. Prices of drinks cans are however higher than they really should be (£2.50 each). The...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank JimCov
Reviewed 18 October 2018 via mobile

Saw the sign out on the pavement as I drove through Warwick. So struggled to park to get some takeaway food on way home - very surprised that was cash only and unable to order. No cash point in near walking distance so sadly had...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Matthew B
Dan C, Owner at The Chip Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2018

Hi Matthew. Really sorry about the cash only situation. We are reviewing this aspect and anticipate an upgrade at some point in the future. Thank you though for bringing this to our attention and I hope we see you in the future. All the best...More

Reviewed 14 October 2018

I actually wanted to give this place a 4 rating because I dont usually give 5, but am struggling to find any fault. Staff were very kind and friendly The decor and general customer area (inc toilets) was fresh, contempory and clean Fish was crispy...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank SukhpalR1
Reviewed 10 October 2018

We eat take away food from here being local. The fish and chips are outstanding, if pricey, but you get what you pay for.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Julian W
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 11 hotels in Warwick
The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel
446 reviews
.12 km away
The Tudor House
304 reviews
.22 km away
Warwick Arms Hotel
542 reviews
.32 km away
Castle Limes Hotel
714 reviews
.97 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Tasca Dali
977 reviews
.32 km away
Brethrens kitchen
175 reviews
.16 km away
Micatto
988 reviews
.32 km away
The Art Kitchen
622 reviews
.32 km away
Nearby Attractions
Warwick Castle
13,452 reviews
.46 km away
Lord Leycester Hospital
463 reviews
.18 km away
The Mill Garden
393 reviews
.57 km away
Collegiate Church of St Mary's
452 reviews
.45 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Blue0712
23 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Nick-Gemma | Reviewed this property |
No Cash ONLY! Dont know why as to me its a must now a days when most dont use cash.
0
Votes
441ginny
13 February 2018|
Answer
Response from chiribaua | Reviewed this property |
Yes, you can do it online also.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$ 3 - US$ 13
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
1:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Monday
11:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
11:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
11:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
11:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday
11:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
11:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 24 West Street, Warwick CV34 6AN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Warwickshire  >  Warwick
  • Phone Number: +44 1926 498014
  • E-mail
Description
We're passionate about fish and chips and we really love what we do. Our aim is simple - to provide the best tasting, authentic British Fish and Chips. Eat in or Takeaway - we aim to please.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing